We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Property with nice view of fort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur
Ranked #11 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Prior to booking this guest house be clear for what you are booking this and what you should expect from it after reaching there.

You should book this if you want:-
1) Decent view of Mehrangarh fort.
2) Like to visit and shop from local markets.
3) Enjoys home like environment and hustle bustle of city markets.

Don't opt for this if:-
1) You want a quite place.
2) Want to have modern amenities.
3) If you are travelling with elderly people who could not climb steap stairs.
4) You uses room service a lot during your stays.

Overall a nice and clean place however I found it a bit overpriced as the room and amenities are basic only. Didn't liked the food of the restaurant except the Paranthas.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SackyCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 293 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Best place ,best room,best atmosphere with good food. The Blue House is run by an Jain family in the heart of the old blue city. People who own the place, so kind and amazing.
We just feel like part of the house
No need any thing more.
Highly Recommended

Room Tip: Movie room is the best experience
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LightAndWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The best thing about this Guest House is the rooms. The upstairs rooms are definitely superior, and although they are getting up there in price, they are good value if you can afford it. It's location is very good, but not as well situated as those between the Clock Tower and the Fort. However from what I saw in a few of prime placed Guest Houses, mostly their rooms are not as splendid as the Blue House. The Blue House is still situated very close to the Clock Tower so that is not such a problem, but the view of the roof tops of surrounding buildings is not as 'family' as closer to the Fort.

Many of the rooms have excellent views of the Fort from windows and balconies. We had no trouble with the hot water shower, or bathroom in general. The beds in two rooms we stayed in were quite comfortable, and despite a lane being outside, the nights were quiet. The rooms are clean (for India).

The family that run the Blue House are very friendly, but if you really need something attended to, get them to call Manish, who can fix anything (or almost anything, but he'll certainly try). He isn't always there as he runs two other business including the excellent Jankar restaurant, but phone call will have him on the job. He is mostly around in the mornings.

The restaurant on the roof serves quite reasonable food for a Guest House, and the boys who run it are great value - friendly and willing to help at any moment. The view of the Fort is superb. The WiFi Internet worked well whenever the power was on.

I can definitely recommend the Blue House Guest House.

Room Tip: Higher upstairs are best.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Advertised as having hot water, wifi, electricity... We stayed two nights and when we arrived there was no electricity (not their fault though, you always get brown outs here). We were told how to turn the hot water. When we went to have a shower we had to flick the switch and wait 15 minutes. Did that. But no hot water.

Waited 15 minutes more. Still no hot water. Next downstairs and asked them about the hot water. They came up and flicked another switch - there is a boiler switch that they hadn't turnd on. Got hot water that time.

Next night. Not even a hot water problem, we had a water problem. No water in the taps - whether for the shower or the sink. Asked them and they said that we would have some at 5 in the morning and that there was no water at all....

Room and bathroom have parts of the wall that are open which means that Mosquitos can and do fly into the room and the bathroom.

Room was large and looked nice but didn't feel very clean.

No wifi. They say that they have it but im pretty sure it never works or is non existent. Apparently hadn't be working the two days prior to us getting here, didn't work the two days while we were here... Were told that it is often like this but I think it's probably permanently like this. They gave us a rehearsed answer about it coming back on at midday but it never did,

The Nepalese guys who work here are nice and try real hard.... But i dont think the owner gives them much to work with. There always seems to be an excuse... When we mentioned the lack of water it was "the water came back on later in the night," to which we replied "we slept past 1.30am" to which the owner replied "yes and the water came on at 2am"... Convenient. Im sure that the wifi will turn on the moment we leave as well...

given how much we paid for the room ir4000, it definitely wasn't worth it.

Food was decent.

Definitely not worth the money.... Especially given how far ir4000 can get you in India.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank rick79m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The location is good, just close to the city center, the old havely is good maintained and everything is clean.The family is really friendly. But, as many places when become famous coming up in the travel guides, is expensive for the quality. The reastaurant is also expensive if you compare with the average, and the internet conection is just a kind of free ciber next to the havely.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Usuario076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.6 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,005 reviews
6.7 km away
Mandore Guest House.
Mandore Guest House.
#8 of 95 in Jodhpur
431 reviews
0.7 km away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
0.6 km away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 193 in Jodhpur
618 reviews
2.4 km away
The Kothi Heritage
The Kothi Heritage
#3 of 193 in Jodhpur
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur

Address: Moti chowk Dabgaron Street | Nai Sarak, Jodhpur 342002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range: ₹ 1,236 - ₹ 2,394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 500 year old beautiful old blue haveli. The Blue House is a Jain-family owned guest house with a rooftop restaurant where you find magnificent views of fort and blue city with delicious food. All efforts have been made to preserve the historical identity and integrity of the Guest House despite its modern environs. A pleasant terrace offers a splendid view of the magnificent Mehrangarh Fort, the royal family's Cenotaphs, Gulab Sagar, the clock tower and the Old City. The Blue House combines old charm with the best of modern amenities. The guest rooms are regal & celebrate the richness of India's culture in a tapestry of classic decor & unmatched comfort. Rooms provide a splendid view of magnificent Mehrangarh Fort and blue city. Remember their is another simillar named property start few months back. Due to no pay any commission to Rickshaw driver some time it will be hard to find us.So make sure you arrive to THE BLUE HOUSE-(R) Jodhpur. BEWARE OF INFERIOR IMITATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Ostrovok, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing