We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst value for money - I think they wrote a lot of their own reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur
Ranked #12 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Advertised as having hot water, wifi, electricity... We stayed two nights and when we arrived there was no electricity (not their fault though, you always get brown outs here). We were told how to turn the hot water. When we went to have a shower we had to flick the switch and wait 15 minutes. Did that. But no hot water.

Waited 15 minutes more. Still no hot water. Next downstairs and asked them about the hot water. They came up and flicked another switch - there is a boiler switch that they hadn't turnd on. Got hot water that time.

Next night. Not even a hot water problem, we had a water problem. No water in the taps - whether for the shower or the sink. Asked them and they said that we would have some at 5 in the morning and that there was no water at all....

Room and bathroom have parts of the wall that are open which means that Mosquitos can and do fly into the room and the bathroom.

Room was large and looked nice but didn't feel very clean.

No wifi. They say that they have it but im pretty sure it never works or is non existent. Apparently hadn't be working the two days prior to us getting here, didn't work the two days while we were here... Were told that it is often like this but I think it's probably permanently like this. They gave us a rehearsed answer about it coming back on at midday but it never did,

The Nepalese guys who work here are nice and try real hard.... But i dont think the owner gives them much to work with. There always seems to be an excuse... When we mentioned the lack of water it was "the water came back on later in the night," to which we replied "we slept past 1.30am" to which the owner replied "yes and the water came on at 2am"... Convenient. Im sure that the wifi will turn on the moment we leave as well...

given how much we paid for the room ir4000, it definitely wasn't worth it.

Food was decent.

Definitely not worth the money.... Especially given how far ir4000 can get you in India.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank rick79m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 298 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

The location is good, just close to the city center, the old havely is good maintained and everything is clean.The family is really friendly. But, as many places when become famous coming up in the travel guides, is expensive for the quality. The reastaurant is also expensive if you compare with the average, and the internet conection is just a kind of free ciber next to the havely.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Usuario076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We booked the two best rooms in this guesthouse for two nights. The both rooms are huge. The "korean actor" (honey moon suite) room is really beautiful and have a good light and a nice small balcony facing the fort view; the "royal king" room is huge and well decorated with old furniture, but dark. Anyway, the rooms are really fine.
The terrace is really fine with a fantastic view over the old town and the fort. The boys there make a good restaurant service with some nice meals.
We had some clogging in the free wifi that can only be used in the ground floor IT room. The hot shower never worked.
On the last night, when preparing the checkout for the next early morning, due to a misunderstood between the guest house owners, I was told that I had to pay the whole stay - when this has been payed when making the reservation. This caused some stress, but has been successfully solved in the next morning.

Room Tip: If you can pay for it, choose the "honey moon suite". It's really beautiful and huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alberto_eme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Thanks Manish, Arjun and gang. You guys are awesome. For 850rs this is way above value for money. The view from the roof top restaurant is priceless.

If you have been paying for 5-star hotel rooms and expect the same room/service from Blue House. Don't turn up.

But if you can be rationale and understand that you are actually staying in a homestay environment. This place rules.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank korndamned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

all the staff is great very helpfull and disponible everytime. We choose the biggest and the more expensive room but we were a little bit disapointed by the condition of cleaness and the finition of the room. The batroom was bad mainted and seems not to be clean, we also had a small family of cockroaches in our room not really pleasant for a 2000INR room. The restaurant in the top floor in unmissable incredible veg food the best we had in jodhpur from far
15 minutes walk from the fort, 10 min walk from the clock tower, a good spot anyway but maybe in a more cheap room

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilynefromparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India-advise, Owner at The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Greetings.
Thanks for your review and great to hear that you had great time. We are sorry to hear about your problem. We promise you that this will going to make 100 percent better and will not going to happen with any body. I wish you all the best and thanks for recommended us.
wish you all the best.
manish jain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.6 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 96 in Jodhpur
1,024 reviews
3.3 km away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#4 of 96 in Jodhpur
996 reviews
6.7 km away
Mandore Guest House.
Mandore Guest House.
#8 of 96 in Jodhpur
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Marwar Hotel & Gardens
0.6 km away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 192 in Jodhpur
625 reviews
2.4 km away
The Kothi Heritage
The Kothi Heritage
#2 of 192 in Jodhpur
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur

Address: Moti chowk Dabgaron Street | Nai Sarak, Jodhpur 342002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 159 Speciality Lodging in Jodhpur
Price Range: ₹ 1,300 - ₹ 2,753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 500 year old beautiful old blue haveli. The Blue House is a Jain-family owned guest house with a rooftop restaurant where you find magnificent views of fort and blue city with delicious food. All efforts have been made to preserve the historical identity and integrity of the Guest House despite its modern environs. A pleasant terrace offers a splendid view of the magnificent Mehrangarh Fort, the royal family's Cenotaphs, Gulab Sagar, the clock tower and the Old City. The Blue House combines old charm with the best of modern amenities. The guest rooms are regal & celebrate the richness of India's culture in a tapestry of classic decor & unmatched comfort. Rooms provide a splendid view of magnificent Mehrangarh Fort and blue city. Remember their is another simillar named property start few months back. Due to no pay any commission to Rickshaw driver some time it will be hard to find us.So make sure you arrive to THE BLUE HOUSE-(R) Jodhpur. BEWARE OF INFERIOR IMITATION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Ostrovok and TravelGuru so you can book your The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur Hotel Jodhpur
The Blue House Guest House Jodhpur Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing