We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great food and very unique rooms!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durag Niwas Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 187 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and very unique rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

The owner of this guest house is also the founder of Sambhali Trust, a centre for women empowerment in Rajasthan. His wife, Mukta, is the best cook ever! I could not recommend this place more, it is located in a quiet but convenient location, rickshaws are just a stone throw away, so are horse carts! Do enquire more about Sambhali Trust when you are staying there and you will find out the great projects that these people are involved with! You might also meet some overseas volunteer staying in this guest house.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and each room is unique and beautifully decorated. Each room has its own character and you will love this place. It can get rather hot during summer time, so it will be a good idea to not travel in India during June and July. I love every moment spent in this guest house and I would recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexacsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    38
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
37
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I had one of the more pricier rooms for 800 rupees,which was totally worth every penny.Was huge,hot water,I love the classic Indian Decor.Was my favorite room in India that I stayed in.They do have some much lower budget options as well,My friend slept on the rooftop for 100 rupees...and it was really nice up there.The food was excellent and cheap.The owner govind arranged a car and driver to pick my friend and I up in Udaipur and drive us to Jodpr for 1500 rupees less than all other quotes.
They are reasonable and truly want you to enjoy your stay in India.
I appreciate the warm comfortable hospitality I recieved.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campbellriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were only supposed to stay for 2 nights but extended to three. We arrived late at night but were greeted by the friendly owner and cooked a lovely meal. There were lots of other travellers staying there and we all sat on a big table for dinner and it was nice and sociable but there were also areas to sit if you wanted to be alone. There were lots of magazines, books and games to use to relax. It was around 50.60 rupees to get into the town centre and so it was nice staying away from the hustle and bustle. We had a large orange room with a balcony which also included a sofa bed. It was a very traditional, colorful room and the balcony was lovely. We had a great stay here and the guest house arranged a guide of a local village, Bishnoi, who took us to his home and to see pottery and carpets being made- we even had a go at the pottery! This trip we thoroughly recommend.

A great stay!

Room Tip: The orange room with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishtraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This place caters for any budget, ranging from very basic to suite-style accommodation. Please do not expect 'silver service' here... this is a guest house with a difference and one travelers fall in love with to return for multiple reasons!

For some it may be the spacious and gloriously decorated Maharaja, Maharani or Rajput Suites they never want to leave... some cannot get enough of Mukta's delicious, home-cooked meals.... for some it simply is the friendliness of staff and family, the homely feeling this place offers, helped by the twittering of birds and not to forget 'Chilly' the friendly little dog everybody simply falls in love with!
Others may appreciate the beautiful Rajasthani wall paintings that can be found throughout this Rajput home, the multitude of atmospheric and imaginative decorations, the colourful roof-top 'tent' that invites to spend a lazy afternoon with saris blowing in the breeze, accompanied by a chai and a good book you discovered in the traveler's library... or just simply watch the sun go down while marvelling over the view to the massive Jodhpur fort!

You will meet fellow travellers enjoying each other's company for meals around the table in the courtyard as well as volunteers of all ages who come from all around the globe to stay at the guesthouse or nearby villages to help with 'Sambhali Trust', founded by Govind Rathore, the owner of the guesthouse and head of this warm and welcoming family.

If you want to know more about this worthwhile organisation, do ask Govind to explain how 'Sambhali Trust' helps women and children of the Dalit (untouchable) community through the means of education and micro-finance. Visit the 'school' rooms in the guesthouse upstairs, meet the girls or browse 'Sambhali Boutique' in town for the beautiful, selected articles made by these woman. This will take care of your souvenirs at the same time as helping the underprivileged to make a better life for themselves.

Yes... it becomes apparent from the very first moment you walk into this building, that indeed you have found a very different place indeed... :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Friendly and helpful staff. Nothing ordinary. Very good value for money!

Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.2 km away
Shanti Bhawan Heritage Hotel
1.6 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
2.1 km away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 187 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Apple Home Stay
Apple Home Stay
#4 of 187 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.6 km away
Yogi's Paying Guest House
Yogi's Paying Guest House
#10 of 187 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.4 km away
Haveli Inn Pal
Haveli Inn Pal
#11 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durag Niwas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durag Niwas Guesthouse

Property: Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Address: Ist Old Park Lane/K. N. College Road, 1 Setrawa House | Main Gate Gaushala Sports Complex, Raikabagh, Jodhpur 342001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,208 - ₹ 1,476
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This household has always been welcoming guests and enjoying giving others hospitality for many years. We remember when we were very young boys our Grandpa hosted many parties of all the important local family including the Army, Police, Politicians and Royalty. We remember walking down the road being welcomed by the sound of laughter and music and we knew Grandpa was having another one of his parties! We have carried on this tradition ever since by welcoming guests and hoping that they experience some of the culture and traditions that happen throughout the year in an old traditional house including Diwali - festival of lights -, Holi - festival of colours - and many other celebrations. A Rajput family run home stay, simple, clean room with many windows for fresh air and natural light. Private bathroom with 24 hour hot shower. Home cooked delicious meals available. Cooking demonstration available on request, complimentary pick up service, drinking water (R.O.) and WiFi complimentary. Very green neighbourhood and centrally located. 24 hours our family is available to assist you; you can use our common refrigerator, washing machine, kitchen, a doctor is available on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Durag Niwas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durag Niwas Guesthouse Jodhpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing