We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Durag Niwas Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 195 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This place caters for any budget, ranging from very basic to suite-style accommodation. Please do not expect 'silver service' here... this is a guest house with a difference and one travelers fall in love with to return for multiple reasons!

For some it may be the spacious and gloriously decorated Maharaja, Maharani or Rajput Suites they never want to leave... some cannot get enough of Mukta's delicious, home-cooked meals.... for some it simply is the friendliness of staff and family, the homely feeling this place offers, helped by the twittering of birds and not to forget 'Chilly' the friendly little dog everybody simply falls in love with!
Others may appreciate the beautiful Rajasthani wall paintings that can be found throughout this Rajput home, the multitude of atmospheric and imaginative decorations, the colourful roof-top 'tent' that invites to spend a lazy afternoon with saris blowing in the breeze, accompanied by a chai and a good book you discovered in the traveler's library... or just simply watch the sun go down while marvelling over the view to the massive Jodhpur fort!

You will meet fellow travellers enjoying each other's company for meals around the table in the courtyard as well as volunteers of all ages who come from all around the globe to stay at the guesthouse or nearby villages to help with 'Sambhali Trust', founded by Govind Rathore, the owner of the guesthouse and head of this warm and welcoming family.

If you want to know more about this worthwhile organisation, do ask Govind to explain how 'Sambhali Trust' helps women and children of the Dalit (untouchable) community through the means of education and micro-finance. Visit the 'school' rooms in the guesthouse upstairs, meet the girls or browse 'Sambhali Boutique' in town for the beautiful, selected articles made by these woman. This will take care of your souvenirs at the same time as helping the underprivileged to make a better life for themselves.

Yes... it becomes apparent from the very first moment you walk into this building, that indeed you have found a very different place indeed... :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

Friendly and helpful staff. Nothing ordinary. Very good value for money!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Patrik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

What makes this place great is the hospitality of the hosts and an atmosphere of homeliness.We arrived pretty late in the night to find the room we had originally booked unavailable due to a roof leakage that had happened the same evening.We were initially disappointed with the alternate room but were soon made comfortable by the gracious host who personally told us about the things to do see and do in Jodhpur, made dinner arrangements for us and pleasantly surprised us by making the room complimentary for us that night.(The leak was repaired the next morning and we were able to spend the remaining 2 nights in the room of our choice.)Dining was a pleasure - tasty, home cooked dishes.Everybody in the household including little Ayush, the youngest member of the household (was he five or youger ?) and Chillie the dog was welcoming and pleasant - all added to making this a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BasudevBasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at Durag Niwas. It's a very relaxing atmosphere, very colorful with lots of comfortable sitting space. The staff is very helpful and friendly, they were the only place that gave me a map with recommendations on where to visit for the best deals and value. The food is great too, and in general it was a great and relaxing place to stay. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

As a solo traveller I selected where I was staying based on the reviews of others- I wanted places with a good vibe and the opportunity to meet people. I did not find either of these at Dura Niwags. It was clean, and nicely presented, very colourful and the staff were helpful- but nothing more. There was none of the no holds bars hospitality others seem to have encountered.. I might have caught them on a off day but I was unimpressed by my hosts, especially in comparison to the high levels of hospitality I encountered throughout the rest of India. It was okay but if I go back I would try somewhere else rather than return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank killtacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.1 km away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#16 of 98 in Jodhpur
527 reviews
2.2 km away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 98 in Jodhpur
1,024 reviews
2.1 km away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 195 in Jodhpur
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Kothi Heritage
The Kothi Heritage
#2 of 195 in Jodhpur
837 reviews
1.6 km away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#5 of 195 in Jodhpur
270 reviews
1.7 km away
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
#7 of 195 in Jodhpur
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durag Niwas Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durag Niwas Guesthouse

Address: Ist Old Park Lane/K. N. College Road, 1 Setrawa House | Near Gaushala Sports Complex, Raikabagh, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: ₹ 1,224 - ₹ 1,933 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This household has always been welcoming guests and enjoying giving others hospitality for many years. We remember when we were very young boys our Grandpa hosted many parties of all the important local family including the Army, Police, Politicians and Royalty. We remember walking down the road being welcomed by the sound of laughter and music and we knew Grandpa was having another one of his parties! We have carried on this tradition ever since by welcoming guests and hoping that they experience some of the culture and traditions that happen throughout the year in an old traditional house including Diwali - festival of lights -, Holi - festival of colours - and many other celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and TravelGuru so you can book your Durag Niwas Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durag Niwas Guesthouse Jodhpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing