We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOIDE”
Review of Mandore Gardens

Mandore Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 44.00*
and up
Private Jodhpur Day Tour
Ranked #10 of 99 things to do in Jodhpur
Attraction details
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“AVOIDE”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This attraction shall be avoided at any cost.. its not worth the time, money and effort. The place is in shabby state.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarveshji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    231
    171
    77
    57
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good for a morning visit”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Close to Jodhpur and site of the ancient capital of Marwar state. The gardens are well maintained and the cenotaphs were really nice. Mandore fort is very old and like any other fort but definitely worth a visit if you are in Jodhpur.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harsha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mandore Gardens a nice place for morning and evening walks”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

If you have spare time, then can visit this garden. You can have morning and evening walks here. Small museum is there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ashok kumar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great temples, friendly school children!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We visited the gardens on our way out to the That desert. I do not think the gardens are a must see and certainly not something to drive out of your way for but.... they were really interesting temples. Yes, the place is not kept up as a tourist destination but does everything need to be? The day was sunny, I did not see much garbage at all, just decay. There were a bunch of monkeys that were fun to watch. The best part was the groups of school children who were visiting the park. When walking by they all waved and stopped to shake hands with our daughters. The little children were so excited to see us. For us it was a nice stop on our journey. We were not hassled by touts or beggars and found the walking pleasant.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank stamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windlesham, Surrey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An oasis of quiet amidst the tombs.”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We took a local bus outside the tourist office which dropped us at Mandore for 8 Rs each. The park is free to enter and is fairly well maintained. It contains the tombs of former Maharajahs of Jodhpur. Apparently, Mandore had been the capital of the area, before it was transferred to Jodhpur, and the rulers continued being buried there. There were several large scale tombs, rock carvings and a small temple, which was hosting a number of weddings when we were there.
It is well worth a visit, both for its beauty and historical interest and also beacause it provides a relatively quiet place to wander after the hectic bustle of the city.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank peterjg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandore Gardens also viewed

Jodhpur, Jodhpur District
 
Jodhpur, Jodhpur District
 

Been to Mandore Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing