We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Would love to come back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would love to come back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I liked Jodhpur - Udaipur has a lot of great sights but is very touristy, Jaipur is growing into mini-Delhi (with great shopping). But Jodhpur still has an old-world charm and best of all not too much traffic!! We only stayed in Ratan Vilas for one night but we really liked it. It is a small/medium well-maintained haveli/boutique hotel off the main road. There is a driveway/approach from the main gate, so once you enter the property, it's quiet and you can't hear any traffic. There is a lovely garden, a swimming pool and a tented eating area outside. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a cold drink in the drawing room (which had lots of old family pictures) and then taken to our room on the first floor. The rooms are located around a central courtyard (the basic design of Indian havelis) and are shaded. There are chairs/sofas outside each room, so you can sit outside. The furniture is/looks antique in keeping with the haveli. Rooms were clean and well-decorated - the bathroom was very clean but it would be good to get it updated. The curtains were effective in keeping the room dark so that they never got too hot. Front of house staff are really pleasant and helpful - there is a tip-box system that we saw throughout Rajasthan. It's a convenient and discreet way of leaving a tip for the whole staff to share. At dinnertime, the tented area is candlelit and looks very romantic! The Rajasthani food was excellent and the kitchen staff were also lovely! We hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NainaJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Greetings!
We too would love to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas whenever you’re in Jodhpur next.
Your feedback regarding updating the bathroom has been noted. We have already started the maintenance as the tourist season has slowed down now.
With best wishes.
Yours sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    270
    31
    4
    0
See reviews for
237
541
55
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We really liked this small and personal hotel. The room was big enough for 2 double beds so that we could all be together - just as the manager had promised. There were nice little touches - a fruit basket in the room, fresh flowers on the table, enough towels and glasses for us all without us having to ask for them...in short, a small and professional hotel.
The pool was great, the food was great, the restaurant manager was great...what more could one ask for?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flueyox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for such a positive feedback.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With best regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here for three nights - March 28-31. Was recommended to us by a friend who lives in Mumbai. It is a family owned residence - the owners live in part of the hotel. It looks like a large manor house. Has a wonderful pool (which we lazed next to for a couple of afternoons), the staff are SO PLEASANT. You can pay so much more and get so much less - this hotel has such a nice feel. The breakfast is modest and the dinner is great (the restaurant gets a recommendation in Lonely Planet).
If we ever went back to Jodphur - I'd stay again. Highly, highly recommended. Friendly, clean, comfortable, quiet - lovely rooms, air con and fan, huge bathroom. It isn't the 5 star Westin or equivalent - but it's in an old renovated manor house and has so much character.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieExpatInSeoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us and for so enthusiastically recommending Ratan Vilas.
We look forward to your next visit.
With best wishes and regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel is not very big. Its an old haveli converted to a hotel. The good part is that the front is very deep which keeps the hotel away from sound of traffic from the road.
The rooms on the 1st floor are better. The ground floor has some movement of staff, which is not good. Although you will have a lot of sunlight if you are on the first floor.
The bathroom/toilet are spacious and are clean.
The staff is good. But the hotel lack variety in breakfast. Our stay was for 3 days and the menu never changed. :(
All in all, its an ok hotel for a city like Jodhpur.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_anubhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us and for the feedback.
I have taken a note of the fact that you found the breakfast to be lacking in variety.
However I would like to convey that besides the standard breakfast dishes served in the buffet we have a variety of preparations especially for our Indian guests, which can be ordered from the menu for no extra charge. I owe an apology if you were not made aware of all these extra options.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With best regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at Ratan Vilas just 1 night during our 2 week holiday in India.

We really enjoyed the stay in this hotel, which offers an amazing value for money. We stayed at various hotels that cost more than double during our holiday and Ratan ranks in the top in every aspect.

The hotel offers an oasis of calm in the busy city of Jodhpur, with a well maintained garden and swimming pool.

The only negative point, is that the hotel is a bit far from the city centre, but nothing that cannot be managed with a short tuk-tuk ride.

We had dinner at Ratan and the food was absolutely delicious, among the best indian food we had during our trip. The service was also good and the recommendations from the waiter were spot on.

Ratan Vilas is definetely the place to be in Jodhpur!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XMLAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for such an encouraging review.
I am really pleased that we managed to offer you a good VFM and make some money on the side as well. A win win situation!
Please stay with us whenever you’re in Jodhpur again.
With warm regards
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
2.7 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
1.9 km away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.1 km away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
1.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
1.3 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 95 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Property: Ratan Vilas
Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,670 - ₹ 17,394
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur, Rajasthan
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing