We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - Customer Service Needs to Improve”
Review of Ratan Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ratan Vilas
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing – Customer Service Needs to Improve”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This was the seventh place we stayed in our month long trip, December 2011 – everywhere booked based on Trip Advisor reviews and all arranged by ourselves directly by email.

Unfortunately this was the most disappointing and is the only place that we are not giving a top review, and would not recommend. I don’t enjoy giving this type of review – my first poor review but do it in the hope that lessons will be learnt and other future traveller’s experience improved.

And am puzzled why this place is number 1 in Jodhpur. Perhaps there has been a complete change of staff, or other people stayed in pretty awful places before coming here, and had low expectations.

Jodhpur itself was also a disappointment – one night’s stay would have been enough to see the magnificent Mehrangarh Fort and Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur.

The hotel itself is fine – clean tidy with good food but there are issues with staff training that need to be attended to. (Someone told me that all the staff were student’s perhaps that was the problem – training still to be done)

On checkin, I was surrounded by seven staff all watching closely what I was doing, which was very disconcerting.

We should have been informed, without us asking, that the Palace was closing soon that day and would not be open the next day – otherwise we would have missed one of the two sights that the city had to offer

Breakfast was a farce. Yes, buffet lids were held for me but no one offered us the cooked breakfast till we had actually finished our breakfast!

At dinner in the evening, staff seemed to linger keen to indulge in conversation with us when we clearly wanted to enjoy our private evening.

There was also a strange atmosphere in the hotel – can’t quite put my finger on why. A staff member passed us in the corridor and I gave him a smile and a hello which was returned by a glare.

The pool was closed and drained. Admittedly it was not a hot weather period, but the choice should still be available and it is not great relaxing beside a hole in the ground. This is why I have rated the pool terrible - it did not exist and was empty. This was in contrast to our earlier stay in Kerala which had a fantastic full operational pool.

Although hot water was available the taps were unpredictable and it was extremely difficult getting a setting that was not too hot or too cold.

We were glad to leave and get on our way, on our otherwise wonderful trip in India.

Our full itinerary was Kerala: Kochi-Sajhome (3 nights), Munnar-Royal Mist (4 nights), Alleppey-Raheem Residency (2 nights), Kerala Backwaters-Lakes and Lagoons (2 nights)

Mumbai-Westin Garden City (5 nights)

Rajhastan: Jaisalmer-Hotel Pleasant Haveli (5 nights), Jodhpur-Ratan Vilas (2 nights), Jaipur-Anuraag Villa (3 nights)

Agra for Taj Mahal-Palmstay (1 night), New Delhi-Hotel Palace Heights (2 nights)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaguar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Guests
Greetings
Thank you for the feedback.
I am disappointed with the fact that you did not enjoy your stay at with us.
I have looked into all the problems pointed out by you and doing my best to improve things.
Yours Sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    295
    35
    5
    0
See reviews for
259
604
57
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is a beautiful heritage property which amazing friendly staff. Special thanks to Ashok for making sure that we can comfortable during our 2 days stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akii22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the feedback.
It is heartening for us to know that you enjoyed your stay and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.
I will pass on your words of appreciation to Ashok.
Your feedback will motivate us to continuously strive for excellence.
We would be privileged to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
Yours Sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel with 2 of my friends in December 2011 for one night. This was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our trip. As soon we entered the hotel, we were greeted with well maintained garden and lawns. The swimming pool is also a great location to spend some quality time. The main building has a colonial character. The colonial style furniture and decor adds to the effect. The staff is very friendly and always ready to help. I loved the service and the food esp Laal Maas and Tossed Salad. Almost everything was freshly prepared - except for fresh juices. The breakfast menu could be better and also the service during breakfast. We also had some problems getting a hot shower. However the great service and people made up for these shortcomings.
Next afternoon we checked out of the hotel and were on our way to Osian when after about 20 minutes someone stopped our vehicle. It was a hotel staff who was there to return my credit card which I forgot at the desk after making the payment. They noticed the card immediately after we had left and send this person behind us to return the card. Awesome!!!

During our return trip, we had to board a connecting train from Jodhpur and had a layover of few hours in Jodhpur. We could not resist visiting Ratan Vilas again for a dinner and these people did not disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P_K_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Guests
Greetings
Thank you very much for a top review despite having a problem with the shower.
From today Feb. 4th onwards we have completely changed the breakfast menu and shifted the venue to the front as well so that service can be improved.
Hopefully when you visit us again you will find the breakfast and the way it is served more satisfactory.
Returning your card was our duty.
I have passed on your words of appreciation to our staff.
We would be privileged to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
Yours Sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed at Ratan Villas for 3 nights. What a delightful and quiet place to stay. Some of the rooms are in the old house, while others are in a new addition. The older rooms are very large, and have been modernized to meet current comfort levels. Our bathroom , while not Lux ,was very modern, comfortable, clean and functional. The bed is "firm", but I would not call it hard like may Indian beds. We had a nice sitting area in our room or you could sit on the balcony

The staff was friendly and very helpful. The family are usually around the property, and love sharing stories of the house's past life. Much of the old furniture, decorations, and landscaping have been preserved. There is a new swimming pool that was so enjoyable after a hot day of sightseeing in Jodhpur.

The dinning options are in the center courtyard. In the evening , candles are lit, and the courtyard takes on a very romantic feeling. The food was some of the best we had on our four week trip. The cook uses authentic recipies from the days of the marajahas. Some nights there is a buffet, but there is always a la carte choices. Breakfast has limited choices, but we always found pleanty to eat, and again very well prepared.

Room Tip: Room 107...2nd floor in the old part of the house. Very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmkrnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the feedback.
It is heartening for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services and facilities were to your satisfaction.
I have passed on your words of appreciation to our staff.
Your feedback will motivate us to continuously strive for excellence.
We would be privileged to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
Yours Sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We were delighted with our one night stay in a superior room at Ratan Villas, which has the charm of a heritage/boutique property as well as comfort, amenity and service. We stayed in a huge, tastefully decorated bedroom, with a great bathroom.

Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Jodhpur is a fairly small town, so transport was not an issue from the hotel to major sights of interest.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Ratan Vilas, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you.
It is heartening to know that you had a satisfactory stay with us.
I will pass on your encouraging feedback to the staff.
We would be privileged to welcome you again at Ratan Vilas.
With best wishes.
Yours Sincerely
Brijraj Singh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
2.8 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
2.0 km away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.3 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#6 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
4.0 km away
Indana Palace
Indana Palace
#10 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ratan Vilas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratan Vilas

Property: Ratan Vilas
Address: Loco Shed Road | Near Bhaskar Circle, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
#4 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,361 - ₹ 5,042
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratan Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ratan Vilas was built in 1920 as a private residence by Maharaj Ratan Singhji of Raoti, Jodhpur. The villa is being managed as a hotel since 2000 by Ratan Singhji’s great grandson, Brijraj Singh. The guest rooms and the common areas are well appointed and arranged with care. Ratan Vilas as a place to stay offers its guests an eternal old world charm seamlessly blending with the modern comforts and an authentic experience of the legendary Rajput hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Ratan Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratan Vilas Jodhpur, Rajasthan
Ratan Vilas Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing