We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was good, but the restaurant gave us food poisoning”
Review of Pal Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pal Haveli
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The hotel was good, but the restaurant gave us food poisoning”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

First off the bat, I definitely recommend the hotel for their accommodation. We stayed here for one night in room 102. The room was clean and spacious and was decorated beautifully. The staff were friendly. The hotel itself is ideally place near the main market - sardar.

Unfortunately, I cannot say the same for their restaurant - Indique. This has been highly recommended in most guide books and TA reviews so we were really excited to sample the food. We had two 'non-veg' thalis, which had two types of chicken dishes and mutton, which we got severe food poisoning from. This meal almost ruined our India tour. Both my wife and I got extremely sick. She had to be admitted to the hospital and given the drip for 10+ hours. I had reoccurring health problems throughout the holiday. To avoid the same fate, stay away from this restaurant - at least away from the meat dishes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwilankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    246
    80
    22
    24
See reviews for
101
291
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We took Lonely Planet’s advice and had breakfast at Indique on the roof of the Pal Haveli Hotel in Jodphur.

Pros:
- Outdoor rooftop area has amazing views of the fort and the Blue City.
- We had two dishes:
- Cheese omelet – this dish lacked cheese, but otherwise the eggs were fine.
- Paratha – Tastiest paratha we had on our trip to India because the dough was somewhat soft and well-spiced.
- Service was attentive and friendly.
- Bathrooms are reasonably clean but as usual, without soap.

Cons:
- It can get hot sitting on the outdoor roof and there are no umbrellas or awnings to block the sun.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vwchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel, lovely decorated, very clean room on the ground floor with a large comfortable bed. Good breakfast, the hotel is situated in the center of Jodhpur so great for getting about. You can walk straight out of the hotel and you are in the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Lovely view from roof top bar of the fortress, great for sun downers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonlinda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

If you want to be smack bang in the middle of hectic Jodhpur then this will suit you fine.
Unfortunately while we were they were laying a concrete road just outside the building and we were there during Shiv Natree (don't know if thats the exact name) but the temple just opposite blasted loud music all night - celebration that lasted til 5 in the morning. This probably jaded our view of the hotel but it was totally out of their control.
The rooftop restaurant must have the best view in Jodhpur, the fort all lit up at night makes for a lovely setting. Servers in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful. Not suitable for people with walking difficulties as the steps up are really steep.
The building is very historic and the royal rooms are amazing - these rooms are in the inner courtyard and therefore a little more peaceful.
Good position for taking a walk out to the Markets.

Room Tip: Must choose a heritage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marazion, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I was slightly wary of this place from the outset, as their correspondence to my booking was very poor, and we had to use an intermediary to secure the booking in the end. My caution was well-placed as it turned out, and from the outset! Unlike our previous hotels in Jodpur and Jaisalmer, here there was no welcome and a reluctance to even take our luggage for us. We were obliged to drag half of it ourselves up the ramp and into the lobby - not impressive for a relatively 'smart' hotel. At reception, the Manager appeared disinterested and his staff were of a similar disposition. Only after we showed our disapproval of their attitude did things improve slightly.

Our room (121) was delightful - spacious, recently renovated and painted by the Artist who has a 'Minitures' shop in the courtyard, (who incidentally is delightful, and warrants a visit, regardless of whether you are staying in the hotel - he has some wonderful minitures painted by his grandfather that are reasonably priced). The room was clean and the bed large and comfortable. The decorations were beautiful, and the room had many period features.

Our experience of the rooftop restaurant was also less than favourable. We lunched there on arrival and also ate there that evening. We were told, (quite curtly by the waiters) that we could not add the tip to the bill payment, as they would not get it - put more respectfully we would have been sympathetic, but again there was a surlyness that rankled. In the evening one got the sense that they thought they were doing you a favour by having you there, which given the rather indifferent cooking and patchy service was a bit rich! We took breakfast on the terrace also, and I waited far too long for my simple order and finally replied to the young and cheeky waiter's enquiry thet "No, eveything was not all right, as my friends were almost finished and my fruit and yoghurt had yet to appear after 20 minutes!". This was obviously the wrong response to his retorical question, as he was very cheeky in response, more or less telling me to "calm down Dear", which pretty much went with the attitude of the staff in general. (Incidentally, the Panorama Restaurant on the roofftop of the neighbouring PalHaveli INN is infinitely better - wider and more authentic menu, pleasant service, less obstructed view of the floodlit Fortress, and much cheaper!

We wouldn't stay at Pal Haveli again despite the lovely room, as the attitude of the staff makes or breaks a place, and we didn't feel welcome.

Room Tip: 121 was flawless
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.2 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
980 reviews
2.6 km away
Ratan Vilas
Ratan Vilas
#2 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,221 reviews
2.1 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#11 of 95 in Jodhpur
824 reviews
4.2 km away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
3.4 km away
Devi Bhawan
Devi Bhawan
#5 of 95 in Jodhpur
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pal Haveli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pal Haveli

Property: Pal Haveli
Address: Near Clock Tower, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,444 - ₹ 6,441
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pal Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pal Haveli Jodhpur, Rajasthan
Pal Haveli Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing