We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
190
86
30
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
86
30
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old city blue city king suite the owner clock tower rooftop terrace tuk tuk home stay top floor auto rickshaw hot water narrow streets mehrangarh fort a wonderful stay main market india bazaar
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2019

The havelli really has been carefully adapted to preserve its original charm, and the family still clearly cherish it as their home. We enjoyed the roof-top restaurant for our breakfasts and evening meals, and wonderful views of the old city and its blue-washed walls.
The old city becomes very lively between 10am and 9pm, and the noise from the streets takes some getting used to. The calls from the temples begin even earlier, and if there happens to be a wedding procession (there were 3 during our stay) then the music and fireworks will add to the soundscape. We enjoyed being immersed in the noise of the city (mostly) but some people might find it more of a challenge.
Personally, the wonderful views of this colourfull town, surrounded by the fort, the palace and the mountains, watching young monkeys play in the sunshine, and the friendliness of the staff more than compensate.
Recommended

Room tip: Rooms at the front face a loudspeaker from the Krishna temple! (but the view is worth it).
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeltaXray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2018 via mobile

The rooms are really beautiful, the view from the rooftop is also amazing. The stuff is sooo friendly and caring. I would highly recommend this Guesthouse also because of the food, the food was very delicious!!!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Holexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

The room advertised is exactly as per photo, full of charisma and unique since this is a century-aged building. The 2 Nepalese staff was very attentive and concern about our stay and feelings as opposed to the host family which has no interaction at all. The homestay was located on a side road of the bazaar, which is very near to bazaar yet it is located in the tranquil neighborhood. It is not accessible by car due to the narrow lanes of the old town and only by tuk-tuk or walking. Do enjoy the sunrise at their rooftop early morning while enjoying the view overlooking at Mehrangarh Fort. The stay at the homestay and meal served at rooftop restaurant was value for money. If you do not mind to pay extra, do choose the king suite.

It would be better if the host family has a smiley face since it doesn't cost any single cents. The room floor could be better cleaned as it's a bit sandy in the room. Not recommended if stairs is a concern.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank LynetteToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

This little hotel/homestay has 5 rooms for guests. Ours was quite spacious and very well decorated in traditional Indian style: I particularly loved the wood doors closing with a bolt and padlock and the wood window shuts! Sooooo cute!!
The owners are very friendly and so is the personnel. Cleaning standards were good, too.

Food is served on the roof top terrace with a great view over the blue city. The food was nice, too.

The location is very central, just 10 minutes' walk from the city centre (example the clock tower). The hotel is located in a side road of a bazaar, which makes it really quiet while still being very near bazaar. At first, when we arrived, we were totally unsure about staying so close to a bazaar: we feared it would be noisy and just not right for us . But because I had liked its character so much from the pictures I'd seen, we decided to give it a chance. Luckily! Because we actually loved staying there for all the reasons mentioned above: the hotel is in a central position but quiet, it is near a busy bazaar but in a more enclosed and not trafficked cul-de-sac and you stay with locals and the neighbours are locals, too who have their homes there. I enjoyed this!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OilLantern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Loved staying here, the room was comfortable and the food was fantastic. The food was freshly cooked and very tasty which was served on the rooftop terrace. The only downside to this place is that there is no housekeeping

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sightseer58175050982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews