We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite stay at Bristow's Jodhpur Havelli” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bristows Haveli

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jodhpur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bristows Haveli
Ranked #16 of 188 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite stay at Bristow's Jodhpur Havelli”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Have just spent two weeks at Bristow's Havelli in Jodhpur Rajasthan.Jodhpur also known as 'the Blue City' on account of the whole city stonework being washed in a lovely blue. It is, of course' dominated by the impressive and famous Red Fort which contributes to a stunning skyline. However, what impressed me most about my stay in India was the accommodation at Bristow's Havelli. This mini palace in the heart of this dynamic and bustling city has to be seen and experienced to believe. The whole place has been fully and sympathetically restored using traditional and established Indian stone masons and carpenters. all the furniture an d fittings are authentic colonial Indian. It has a paradise of a garden full of unique birds and butterflies. Bananas and mangos were plucked from the trees in the shaded courtyard to complete my breakfast. There is a shaded roof terrace too where I enjoyed reading during some of the day and where I watched the sights of the city in the evening times. The location is perfect as it is in the city but because of it's secluded design appears as a tranquil haven and yet to step out of it's impressive entrance is to step into the hum and life that is India. I defy anyone to find a better location with equivalent accommodation and such helpful staff at such an affordable price! I can unreservedly recommend this establishment to anybody who wants authentic India with superb accommodation in the heart of this magic city. Pete MacDonald, Devon, England.

Room Tip: I saw every room and can honestly say that each room has it's own individual charm and is furnis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
39
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Have just returned from a 2 week trip to Rajasthan. The five nights that I spent in Bristows Haveli in Jodphur were fantastic. Its a beautiful, peaceful haven tucked away in a central location in the old city, a welcoming oasis with a pretty garden hidden from the manic hustle of the city. The ambience of the old Haveli is amazing, the interior decor perfect. The standard of cooking is great ,it's like being in your own home but with five star service. Also very good for advice on local sights and tours and for planing the rest of your trip, would highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This must be the most exquisitely restored old haveli in the old blue city of Jodhpur. Each suite of rooms has its own special personality and all apartments overlook the beautiful, green, green garden. The only one in the old city.
Bristows Haveli was a life enhancing experience for me. Stepping out onto my own personal balcony and watching eagles soaring above the old fortified palace was magical.
Waking up to the slight hum of the city coming to life at the beginning of a new day and taking a beautifully prepared breakfast of fresh fruit, toast and coffee, all prepared by the amazing Ramu.
The staff were all helpful and wonderful to come home to after a busy day especially being handed a glass of ice-cold filtered water as soon as I walked through the door. (Actually it felt better than coming home!)
All this tranquil efficiency is made possible by the manager Phil Porter who makes your stay run like clockwork. His local knowledge and his knowledge about India in general, is amazing. Ask him about anything you want to know about antiques or textiles and Phil will point you in the right direction. He will share his encyclopaedic knowledge about where to go and where to buy things.
I'm already saving for my next trip and can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

This is a wonderful restored haveli right in the heart of the blue city in the shadow of the great fort. While there may not be all of the amenities of a modern hotel, Bristow's haveli compensates with a simple, clean and well managed environment, beautifully decorated and full of character. There cannot be many more authentic ways to experience Jodhpur's charming old city.

Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank mughali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

We had been wanting to visit India for many years, but not on the hackneyed tourist beat. Bristow's haveli was a perfect starting point - a haven of peace assembled with genuine antiques from the wrecks of three old havelis right in the centre of the medieval city of Jodhpur, under the shadow of the mountain-top ancient fort, and with its own secluded garden - the only one in the old city. The manager was discreet but full of local knowledge and advice, arranging anything we needed; the service was excellent and the food beautifully prepared to our wishes.
We could imagine ourselves spending the whole winter there given half a chance.

Room Tip: They are all delightful and uniquely different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank simon186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.0 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 98 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.0 km away
Pushp Guest House
Pushp Guest House
#15 of 188 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 km away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 188 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Geeta Mahal
Geeta Mahal
#3 of 188 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 km away
Kesar Heritage Guest House
0.0 km away
Yogi Guest House
Yogi Guest House
#13 of 188 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristows Haveli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristows Haveli

Property: Bristows Haveli
Address: 132 Sutharkhana Ki Gali | Manak Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,273 - ₹ 4,909
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristow's is a sensitively restored Haveli of modest size,in the heart of the old Blue City of Jodhpur. It provides a calm and peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city. The house offers four suites, each with their own wet room, sitting room and a double and a single bedroom. There are many quiet corners to sit or read, and of course there is the beautiful secluded garden. All rates include breakfast, drinking water and tea and coffee throughout the day. Lunch and dinner are available at a modest extra cost,and we only offer the finest cuisine. Other services such as safaris, both village and desert, as well as camel /horse riding are available by arrangement. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bristows Haveli Jodhpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing