We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The View, the View, and the View!”
Review of Hem Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hem Guest House
Ranked #38 of 194 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed at Hem in early March as a solo traveler on two separate occasions of a total of 2 nights. I greatly appreciated the very personal experience offered by the family and the location of the guesthouse. Needless to say, the view from the roof terrace of the Fort is magnificent. In a nice day, you could just seat up there marveling the view and watching the day go by through the change of shades over the Fort. But there is more, you can do so while sipping chai and ordering drinks and snack food from the kitchen. Yes, this is where you can enjoy three meals a day, cooked by Rishi's mom. The room may be basic but tastefully decorated and bed is very comfortable. The location is excellent, surrounded by shops and markets, and 10 minutes walk to the main market. I walked from the house to the Fort twice, going through narrow lanes and receiving VIP attention from local kids, all so beautiful inside out. The host family is a true embodiment of the lovely city of Jodhpur, simple, warm, unpretentious, proud, and full of energy. The stays at Hem Guest House made Jodhpur my favorite city in Rajasthan!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank desertsprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 140 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

Just a quick night here between Delhi and Jaisalmer, but we enjoyed every bit...Vipin and Rishi were such friendly hosts, whom we loved talking with. They helped us to make the most of our day in Jodhpur and then welcomed us back with a delicious dinner on the rooftop terrace, with beautiful views of the fort. We had a 5 am train the next morning, but they were up and had chai and a small breakfast ready for us. True hospitality!

Just an FYI if it's important: Wi-fi access was spotty but they did make an effort to get me connected.

Room Tip: Our room was very nice...they didn't have any rooms with two beds but it was fine for a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My friend and I stayed at Hem Guesthouse for 3 nights in feb 2012. Rishi and Vishnu and their family made our stay wonderful.. Especially cute baby, Ladoo! We really liked the family run aspect of the guesthouse. The food made by Rishi's mother and wife was delicious and so was the chai which they gave you in nice big mugs! Rishi took us to his factory outlet stores and showed us where to buy good souvenirs. He even helped me with organizing shipping things home. I can't praise this family enough for running such a great guest house. I would go back to jodhpur just to stay there!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahbehrens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

i highly recommend this as a place to stay in Jodhpur. The family are so kind and helpful and will look after you really well! The roof terrace has probably best view of the fort and we ate at the guest house both nights of our stay and had delicious home cooked meals on both occasions.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is one of those instances, where the business is dependent more on foreigners than locals as , although the hosts were very nice, but they did not deliver as promised.
First the good - room is excellent, bathroom very clean, you have some view of the fort from the tiny balcony.
The stay included breakfast, we explained to the family that we would be leaving at 8 AM to see the fort and needed the breakfast before 8 AM, the family went out for a wedding party the night before and did not come back until late,hence when we left the house in the morning, everyone was asleep and we had to buy our breakfast from elsewhere. They did not even apologize or make up for it in any way.
Second instance which bothers me still is, My trousers got wet, as their bathroom did not have a stopper for water and it can leak out of the door, I left the trousers on the suitcase to dry, in the afternoon when we came to pick the suitcase, the trousers were not there, probably moved by someone who came to clean the room etc. the owner promised to mail me the trousers to an address in Mumbai. but never actually sent them. I was really unhappy about it, but overall great place.

One more thing. Its very painful to get here, the house is in the middle of the old city, cars cannot come via the narrow lanes, so something to keep in mind when travelling with luggage.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank s_torro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.8 km away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#16 of 102 in Jodhpur
532 reviews
0.5 km away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#7 of 194 in Jodhpur
280 reviews
3.2 km away
Apple Home Stay
Apple Home Stay
#6 of 194 in Jodhpur
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Geeta Mahal
Geeta Mahal
#3 of 194 in Jodhpur
164 reviews
0.5 km away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 194 in Jodhpur
653 reviews
0.5 km away
Yogi Guest House
Yogi Guest House
#26 of 194 in Jodhpur
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hem Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hem Guest House

Address: Near Keshariya Nath Jain Temple Daftariyon Ka Mohalla | Moti Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: ₹ 955 - ₹ 2,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hem Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hem Guest House, a family owned-and-run guesthouse & roof-top restaurant, full of the love and welcome that makes India so wonderful and a trip here so unique. As an honored guest in their home you will be afforded every luxury, comfort and convenience needed or desired to make your stay in Jodhpur, Rajasthan and India an experience you will cherish for the rest of your long life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Hem Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hem Guest House Jodhpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing