We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEM with a Family of 4”
Review of Hem Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hem Guest House
Ranked #36 of 196 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My two teen aged boys, my wife and I stayed at the HEM Guesthouse in Mid March. This guest house was recently renovated (exterior and Interior) and has ok size very clean rooms. We were very happy that our hosts picked us up from the train station as we had a very late arrival. This family run Guest house is very well located just minutes away from the clock tower and the way to the fort. Mama's cooking was excellent. Great hospitality.

Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 157 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

This is a difficult review to write in some ways - because it is overpriced for what you get. Yes, the family is very nice, the view of the fort from the rooftop is excellent although our "fort view" room looked directly into the neighbours toilet only a few feet away-not pretty (i.e. keep the shutters closed even when the power goes off!!),the room was clean and the food is good.
But! The room was tiny, the bathroom ship-sized but workable,the door couldn't keep the noise down from the stairs to-and-from the roof and the street noise is also loud. There was no top sheet on the bed (a cultural difference in cold weather??) We got a second blanket when we asked for a sheet.
So, Good enough but definitely overpriced

Room Tip: ask for the rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tuppence49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is a very nice little home stay and this family is very kind. If you're lucky to stay at the cool bamboo hut at the roof you will wake up and see a spectacular view of the fort. Also try the "mama's" porridge. You'll like it!

Room Tip: Bambo hut at top is nice (but can be cool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benedichtus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Hem Guest House really is a fantastic place to stay. All of the other reviewers have already pointed out much of what makes this guesthouse special. I'd like to offer one additional perspective: that of the single traveler. I originally planned to stay in Jodhpur for only 2 days but after meeting the family and receiving such a warm reception I extended my stay 2 additional days. The experience at Hem Guest House is whatever you want it to be. If you simply want a room to lay your head while you transit through to Jaisalmer this is a perfect place for it, and there is plenty of privacy and exceptional service. If, like me, you are looking for a more immersive time in India this is where Hem truly shines. From spending time in the kitchen with Mom & Resham learning to cook Indian food, playing cricket in the street with neighborhood kids or being shown all of the best places to shop, eat, mail things home and even have clothes made this guesthouse was a highlight of my trip not just to Jodhpur but also India. The two brothers are friendly, kind and go out of their way to make sure that each guest feels as if this is truly "a home in Jodhpur"

Room Tip: All of the rooms have their own unique charms. The rooms on the 3rd floor offer the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neush79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A recent trip through India had me staying in good places, bad places, and everything in between. Hem stands out in my mind as one of the highlights of the entire trip - great people, lovely accommodations, amenities and proximity to everything I wanted to see in the area. I agree with an earlier description - it really is a home away from home. And it's less expensive than many other places. Can't recommend them highly enough!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean_ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.8 km away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#16 of 104 in Jodhpur
536 reviews
0.5 km away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#7 of 196 in Jodhpur
286 reviews
3.2 km away
Apple Home Stay
Apple Home Stay
#6 of 196 in Jodhpur
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Discovery Guest House
Discovery Guest House
#5 of 196 in Jodhpur
67 reviews
0.5 km away
Geeta Mahal
Geeta Mahal
#3 of 196 in Jodhpur
167 reviews
0.5 km away
Kesar Heritage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hem Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hem Guest House

Address: Near Keshariya Nath Jain Temple Daftariyon Ka Mohalla | Moti Chowk, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: ₹ 907 - ₹ 2,526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hem Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hem Guest House, a family owned-and-run guesthouse & roof-top restaurant, full of the love and welcome that makes India so wonderful and a trip here so unique. As an honored guest in their home you will be afforded every luxury, comfort and convenience needed or desired to make your stay in Jodhpur, Rajasthan and India an experience you will cherish for the rest of your long life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Yatra, Booking.com, Agoda, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Hem Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hem Guest House Jodhpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing