We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Incredible Indian Cooking With Mamata Prajapat
7

Book in advance
from
₹4,246.97
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Pukhraj Durry Udhyog
from ₹4,246.97
More Info
from ₹1,698.79
More Info
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
95
9
2
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
95
9
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful rugs dying art hand made weavers loom cotton pattern dhurrie homestay craftsmanship dyed purchase camel fiber india demonstration tradition
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2022

We were graciously greeted and welcomed into the beautiful compound where our friend’s parents were working on the loom, apparently they were giving their son and his wife a break. The 3x5 rugs you see on the loom take 2-3 weeks to make one with 2 people working. Folks work 12 hour shifts each day making looms and weaving. It’s hard to fathom the time it takes to make these gorgeous pieces. All of the fibers are 100% cotton or camel wool and naturally dyed with local plants. The colors were so rich and brilliant in the late day sun. The courtyard transformed with each new rug presentation. As we enjoyed the beautiful display of rugs we chatted, drank tea and got to hear a bit of the wonderful history behind these special rugs and the families that make them. I highly suggest a visit. I look forward to coming back next year.

Date of experience: March 2022
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2022

I attended this tour virtually with a group of friends. It was amazing. The level of detail required for this craft displays the expertise it takes to create the rugs. The rugs were beautiful and of high quality. I was impressed with the natural colors and patterns. I can not wait to receive this rare art in my home. I highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: March 2022
1  Thank Kimo181310
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2022

I attended a lovely zoom presentation by Chotuji showcasing his parents weaving rugs. All hand made, beautiful colors and patterns, natural cotton, great cause too as each rug sale supports 45 families in their cooperative. This is sustainable handicraft and supporting the artisans. Love!

Date of experience: March 2022
1  Thank GreenApples22NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2022

The visit to the Weaving community was absolutely amazing.
I am a long time traveler and enthusiastic about original crafts .

The amazing Weaving art that is still managing to exist in the commercial machine age is to be admired .

Anyone who is interested in Weaving and traditional art should pay a visit .

A small rugg takes 1 month to make . 2 people working 10 hours a day .

The quality of the Weaving is uncomperable to anything I have seen in Asia .

No wonder this is a dying art . The quality of the work and the natural dies are outstanding.

I wish this art would be truely appreciated as it is superb .

The fact that the remaining families are all working together in a community is admirable.

Keeping the real tradition is much more important then the commercial side of thing ... I have only admiration and I am happy to support communities like these .

I recommend to anyone who wished to see real traditional art made for the real reasons (quality & artistic expression) to visit the community.

Once you are there you will realize the beauty and quality . Such a rare mix these days .

Thank you for an inspiring visit

Date of experience: February 2022
1  Thank ilanweinblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

In 2018 we got to know Chhotaram Prajapat during a Homestay near Jodhpur, India. He showed us the cooperation that makes and trades rugs. A few months ago we ordered two rugs at Pukhraj Durry Udhyog. Today we received the rugs, within the expected time frame. The whole process of ordering and delivery is very professional and reliable. The rugs themselves are beautiful: handmade, real craftsmanship. And for us it is a pleasure to support the cooperation and local community near Jodhpur. I can recommend Pukhraj Durry Udhyog for ordering rugs and I can recommend the Homestay for having an unforgettable experience.

Date of experience: October 2021
1  Thank ronaldn334
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chhotaramPrajapat, Owner at Pukhraj Durry Udhyog, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2021

Dear Ronald
Greetings from Pukhraj Durry Udhyog

Thanks for excellent reviews for our pukhraj durry udhyog. we are glad to hear that you and all your family loves our handmade rug in your home.
Your reviews will help to other people to choose our handmade rug for their home as well.
Thanks and Warm Regards
Chhotaram Prajpaat

PUKHRAJ DURRY UDHYOG
+91-9414720724

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews