We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect destination to unwind at affordable rates”
Review of The Ummed Jodhpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ummed Jodhpur
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Jodhpur
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A perfect destination to unwind at affordable rates”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is situated approx 28 kms away from the Jodhpur Railway Station and 12 kms from the airport. This property is in the outskirt of the main city of Jodhpur.

Food: The food here is absolutely superb. They have ala-a-cart in the lunch and buffet in the dinner. All meals are very good. You can have continental, Indian and regional meals of your choice. For regional food, you don't need to go anywhere, here the marvadi thali is terrific. They serve food in maharaja thali with all marvadi cuisine. The card rate is very affordable and trust it’s value for money.

Recreation: This hotel has swimming pool, tennis court, badminton, and all outdoor sports equipments are available on demand. They have big ground so you can freely play outdoor sports. Also for indoor sports, they have chess and carom. Spa & massage facility is not active during off season, but you can avail this if you intimate them in advance.

Transport: you can book car from the hotel itself. If you compare them with the local travels they are very competitive. The cars are new and good condition. The chauffer are also well groomed and trained.

If you are travelling in the off season, you will get very good deal in this hotel. Check out the latest deal on their website. It was my first experience with this hotel and I was very satisfied with their service, food and overall experience. The staffs here are very attentive and always ready to help you. If you compare them with other hotels, they at par with all leading 5 star hotel in service and room quality.

Do check out pictures for more details. I rate them 5/5 on overall experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are very large and spacious. I recommend choosing superior rooms, garden facing on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sopan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Thanks and regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    204
    82
    38
    14
See reviews for
204
145
14
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We had taken a short 3 days trip and booked in gateway hotel, assuming that it will be nice as it is a Taj Property. The rooms are nice and spacious.

The Pool is a delight and the first look gives a palace like feel. however, the property is not well maintained. The washrooms near swimming pool had no electricity (may be a failure for some time) but the common washrooms were not at all clean upto standards.

The food was pathetic. We had a breakfast/dinner inclusive package but we avoided dinner the next day and went to Hari Mahal Palace for it. However the General Manager was very generous. He arranged a taxi for us on behalf of the hotel. The staff is very very helpful but slow.

Frequent electricity failure was a bit irritating

It is too far from the city around 15 km. If you don't have your own transport, it is a bit inconvenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnimeshSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear All,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur.

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you and have taken the matter very seriously with the concerned Dept. Heads and have initiated corrective action. I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and that this does not happen again.

Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I look forward to meeting up with you during your next stay with us and assure you of our finest services at all times.

Thanks and regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager

The Gateway Hotel
Banar Road, Jaipur Highway,
Jodhpur-342007
Rajasthan India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamnagar
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed (as a couple with 1 kid) at The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur for 3 nights from 9th August 2012.
First I would like to give my appreciation to Ms. Meena Bishnoi (Reservations Executive) at Jodhpur as she took the initiative to help me to extend my stay from originally planned 2 nights to 3 nights (even-though the hotel room was not available on 9th August). She pulled some strings and we got to stay on 9th August. Hats off to her.
Secondly since it was a very long drive from Ahmedabad (11 Hours) on very bad roads and we were all very tired, the reception staff swiftly transferred us to our rooms on very quick check-in.
The administrative staff transferred us to another room as we had requested them to change our room due to very noisy neighbors and the staff did their very best to accommodate us in another room on a quite side.
The entire staff (the GM personally met us to inquire about the comfort of our stay and other details) including the front desk, house keeping, managerial staff were on their toes to take very good care of the guests at the hotel.
The F&B staff (Mr. Vivek Kapoor-Exec.Chef, The captains, The waiting staff) at the restaurant were very courteous and helpful.
The overall cleanliness of the Hotel (premises, rooms & baths) was very good and of high standards.
The lawns (very very big) and swimming pool were very well maintained and clean.
The only negative point I could think of is that the hotel is around 12 kms away from the city and that there are no sign boards showing the way to the hotel.
Overall a very satisfactory experience and stay

Room Tip: Ask for rooms having a garden or a pool view as they tend to give you very good views of greenery an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajaSethJamnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Jodhpur!

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Gateway Hotel Jodhpur for your recent stay.

We hope we met your expectations in accommodation and services and were able to serve you with the highest degree of professionalism.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide consistent service in order to exceed your expectations.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the near future and assure you of our best attention and services.

Please share your feedback with us.

Thanks and regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager

The Gateway Hotel
Banar Road, Jaipur Highway,
Jodhpur-342007
Rajasthan India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

1. No signboards to lead you to the hotel once you enter Jodhpur. We passed by the hotel 2 times but both times we missed it!!! Have already told about this to The GM and he has promised that they will solve this.
2. Frequent electricity failure was very irritating. I noticed at least 8-10 times electricity failure in a day, though each time not more than 10 seconds. But still it was irritating.
3. We had booked under Monsoon package, wherein breakfast and one meal of the day was included. We reached around 1.30 pm at the hotel. But when we entered the dining area we were told that Buffet was not placed for lunch for that particular day so we had to give order from menu. But whatever we asked for, was either unavailable or would "take time to prepare" as per the person attending us.
4. Cleanliness is good. Even in monsoon season the hotel seems quite clean
5. Except our first meal, on all other days we got very good service and attention from the staff in the dining area. Food quality was also good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur.

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you and have taken the matter very seriously with the concerned Dept. Heads and have initiated corrective action. I have also commenced a revisit of our brand standards and checklists to ensure these lapses on our part do not occur again.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and that this does not happen again.

Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I look forward to meeting up with you during your next stay with us and assure you of our finest services at all time

Thanks and regards,

Indranil Ray
General Manager

The Gateway Hotel
Banar Road, Jaipur Highway,
Jodhpur-342007
Rajasthan India
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurukshetra
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This is a property owned by someone else and taj is managing this property, Hotel has a huge area covered, but construction is poor, bathroom look with old fittings, In my room AC didn't worked at all the whole night, I felt strange smell in room, complaints were not attained on time. Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adudr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayJodhpur, General Manager at The Ummed Jodhpur, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Jodhpur.

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you and have taken the matter very seriously with the concerned Dept. Heads and have initiated corrective action.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. It is only in this way that we are able to step back from our day to day operations and look at any comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and that this does not happen again.

Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Jodhpur is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I look forward to meeting up with you during your next stay with us and assure you of our finest services at all times.

Regards,
Indranil Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
11.5 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
8.4 km away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
9.7 km away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
980 reviews
7.5 km away
Indana Palace Jodhpur
Indana Palace Jodhpur
#9 of 95 in Jodhpur
593 reviews
9.1 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 95 in Jodhpur
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ummed Jodhpur? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ummed Jodhpur

Property: The Ummed Jodhpur
Address: Banar Road, Jodhpur 342027, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jodhpur
#7 Business Hotel in Jodhpur
#7 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,090 - ₹ 29,743
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ummed Jodhpur 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your The Ummed Jodhpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ummed Jodhpur Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing