We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to feel at home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant
Ranked #86 of 196 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2017

The location of the hotel is nice, in the blue old city and close enough to the Fort. The view from the rooftop is great as well. However when we were there (october 2017), the guesthouse was with work in progress and therefore there was dust everywhere, and the owner was just continuing his work over our heads when we were sitting on the terrace, not the best way to chill. Also we found that the owner was quite a cheapskate : the check-out was at 9 (and it was impossible to check out later while the guesthouse was empty except for us and there were no other guests coming afterwards) and we asked if we could leave the bags for the day before our evening train : it was only possible until noon (what's the use of that ? First time we see that, be that in India or in other countries in which we've travelled), and also we would have had to pay something for using electricity, toilets, etc. for the time that we would have spent in the guesthouse premises after checking out. He warned us that the wifi password would be changed at the time of the check-out, and indeed when we took our breakfast after 9 (for which we paid for by the way...) there was no wi-fi indeed (which was poor indeed). Also we were not given soap, toilet paper, and we had only one towel for two.

Room Tip: Just go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sylvain0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil V, Owner at Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

hi Sylvain
thanks for writing a review for us
as your review itself reflects that you were trying to deal with us in different manner .
as per your booking with us you book " 2nd Oct '17 Small Budget Room INR 262.50 " and want to spend extra 15 hours after check- out with all free facilities.
on booking we provide free WiFi ,free towel .free welcome drinks ,free toiletry etc. how can we give you all this for free after check-out.I think utility charge is applicable all over world .so its not a new term for guest like you who are traveling a lot
as you mention in month of October we were doing renovation work and to host you we stop our work for one day .second day after your check-out our workers starts their work in another room interior so it was continuous in your presence we believe for that you must not comp-lend ,but after every thing if your stay was not comfortable we are sorry for that .
but if you realize the situations TripAdvisor gives us a second chance to edit your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017

I showed up super early in the morning from an overnight stay, and despite the "it's ok to show up early" on hostelworld.com it was a bit of a problem with them. You should also know that they charge for the internet, which isn't listed online.

The rooms were comfy, staff helps you with any info you want (even if a bit of a hard sell on taking a guided tour), and the food is super delicious from their kitchen.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

I have been there with my one travel friend and with her friend for 1 day/night stay at 31st dec 2016. We have booked this guest house using goibibo app standing right in the place.

It was good experience being there, guest house is running by one jodhpur family and uncle/aunt are so kind and friendly.

As it is budget hotel do not expect too much out of it, we have booked because my main purpose was staying at night so we had took 2 bed room with shared bathroom.

Main and most important thing staying there is you will be in old Jodhpur and you will get chance to have a walk around that blue street in morning if you are photographer and traveler. Not goof place for tourist I will say as they will not like those old area which is little dirty.

Overall its good, you can go ahead staying there.

Room Tip: in old jodhpur, near clock tower, near mehrangarth fort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

I came to this house with my boyfriend who had been here before. The owners became my friends. Lovely area, amazing food, got friendly with the other guests. 100% would come here again and again to stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

If you looking roof top restaurant, you must come to this place.
This place is perfect to enjoy the sunset with view of the Mehrangar fort.
the owner really nice.This restaurant provides a variety of delicious Indian food.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ira s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
3.7 km away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
1.3 km away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#16 of 104 in Jodhpur
536 reviews
0.9 km away
Anil Sunrise Guest House
Anil Sunrise Guest House
#19 of 196 in Jodhpur
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
2.7 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#7 of 104 in Jodhpur
1,046 reviews
4.4 km away
WelcomHeritage Bal Samand Lake Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant

Address: 507 Singh Pole Marg Navchowkiya, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: ₹ 645 - ₹ 967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amar Niwas Guest House is a 528 year old Haveli run by a Brahman family so you can stay in a family atmosphere. Regular care and maintenance on the house keeps it feeling very comfortable for the customers. The original charm and character of the house is preserved with each improvement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant Jodhpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing