We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 193 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Location: Perfect
Host: Good
Food: Very Homely

Perfect location to stay just behind Mehrangad fort accessible within walkable distance. Road to reach this place takes you through a typical old streets of India with shops on either side of a narrow road.

Host Sunil and his mistress were very good. Food was prepared by in their own home kitchen which made it very home like. The taste was good.

Overall very good homely stay. You will enjoy it if you are interested in age old India.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Damodar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2016

During diwali , our family ( 4adults +1kid) stayed for 2nights in a single family room .

Positive:
1. Located at the heart of town, near fort, shopping area.
2.Very nice, helpful Sunny & Nina. Sunil suggested a very good shop to purchase Bandhej sarees & suit material. Thanks!
3. my son loved playing with cats
4. Its an 500+ yr heritage house

Family with old people may find it difficult to climb the stairs & as it is located in the narrow lanes of old town area , the car parking need to be done about 50mts from the guest house.

Overall I would highly recommend for budget conscious travelers & solo backpackers.

Suggestions:
1. Can improve the heritage feel of the rooms with Rajasthani style wall hangings + bed spreads etc

Room Tip: the top floors offer best view of the old town
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahesh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My girlfriend and I loved our stay with Sunny and his family at Amar Niwas. It is in a nice location in the old town in a great historical building. We enjoyed our basic room and our conversations and our advice from Sunny. Would highly recommend for anyone staying in Jodhpur. Great family, amazing cooking (thank you nina). We'll hopefully be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikevh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

After a disaster checking into a different hostel, I stumbled across this charming guesthouse, and they took me in when I had nowhere else to go.

Amar and Sunil were so kind to me, they offered me a lovely room with a big comfy bed, and a nice clean shared bathroom with hot water (not that I needed it!)

The food provided here is delicious and nice big portions of food too, at a very reasonable price. The rooftop has a beautiful view of the fortress, and the blue city as a whole, and there are many shops nearby to buy everything you could possibly want.

Amar booked my onward bus tickets for me, and gave me lots of good advice on what to see and do in Jodhpur, and not pay too much for it as well.

Overall I'm glad I ended up here, it's one of the best guesthouses I've ever stayed in!

Room Tip: All rooms have good features, with different individual character.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil V, Owner at Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

thank you very much for write a good & Detailed review for my guest house ,
next visit if you are visiting India then i want to see you again here in my guest house at Jodhpur, looking foreword

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We came to Jodhpur with the intention of living only for 12 hours but we ended up staying for around 48 hours, thanks to the great hospitality shown by Amar Niwas. A special shout out to the husband and wife team which runs the place. The owner of the home stay is also a government certified guide so he showed us around the city on a tuc tuc for a nominal charge of Rs. 1800 and his wife makes one of the best Indian curries I have ever tasted in India. I will definitely stay here again if I ever visit Jodhpur again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank dutt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil V, Owner at Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you very much for your good review about me & my guest house.
looking foreword

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.9 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 95 in Jodhpur
1,008 reviews
0.3 km away
Cosy Guest House
Cosy Guest House
#9 of 158 in Jodhpur
263 reviews
0.7 km away
Pushp Guest House
Pushp Guest House
#13 of 193 in Jodhpur
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Shahi Guest House
Shahi Guest House
#12 of 158 in Jodhpur
280 reviews
0.1 km away
Jewel Palace Haweli
Jewel Palace Haweli
#33 of 193 in Jodhpur
119 reviews
0.2 km away
Castle View Home Stay
Castle View Home Stay
#7 of 193 in Jodhpur
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant

Address: 507 Singh Pole Marg Navchowkiya, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: ₹ 649 - ₹ 909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amar Niwas Guest House is a 527 year old Haveli run by a Brahman family so you can stay in a family atmosphere. Regular care and maintenance on the house keeps it feeling very comfortable for the customers. The original charm and character of the house is preserved with each improvement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant Jodhpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing