We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovered by chance a friendly, welcoming, and loving family run guesthouse.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 192 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2016

After a disaster checking into a different hostel, I stumbled across this charming guesthouse, and they took me in when I had nowhere else to go.

Amar and Sunil were so kind to me, they offered me a lovely room with a big comfy bed, and a nice clean shared bathroom with hot water (not that I needed it!)

The food provided here is delicious and nice big portions of food too, at a very reasonable price. The rooftop has a beautiful view of the fortress, and the blue city as a whole, and there are many shops nearby to buy everything you could possibly want.

Amar booked my onward bus tickets for me, and gave me lots of good advice on what to see and do in Jodhpur, and not pay too much for it as well.

Overall I'm glad I ended up here, it's one of the best guesthouses I've ever stayed in!

Room Tip: All rooms have good features, with different individual character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil V, Owner at Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

thank you very much for write a good & Detailed review for my guest house ,
next visit if you are visiting India then i want to see you again here in my guest house at Jodhpur, looking foreword

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We came to Jodhpur with the intention of living only for 12 hours but we ended up staying for around 48 hours, thanks to the great hospitality shown by Amar Niwas. A special shout out to the husband and wife team which runs the place. The owner of the home stay is also a government certified guide so he showed us around the city on a tuc tuc for a nominal charge of Rs. 1800 and his wife makes one of the best Indian curries I have ever tasted in India. I will definitely stay here again if I ever visit Jodhpur again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank dutt2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil V, Owner at Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you very much for your good review about me & my guest house.
looking foreword

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Its a family run guesthouse located in Navchokia place in heart of Jodhpur offering direct view of Mehrangarh Fort from rooftop. The fort is also walking distance from here but its more of a upsteep climb but you wont mind walking cause it gives very good views exclusive for people who go from there. More suitables for solo travellers and group of friends. Families can also accommodate. Home cooked food provided is really delicious and must try. Do not expect luxuries of 5star resort but yes if you want to get a feel of local life who can certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paramjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunil V, Owner at Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you very much for this good reviews .visit again if possible ,
looking foreword

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Rooftop has nice view of old city and location is close to the fort. That is about the only positive thing I could say.

Room was overpriced for what it was and bed linen was filthy. Sunil the owner was pushy and extremely dishonest. More worried about making money. He was complaining how another guest didn't want to pay for his extremely over priced scooter tour of the city and couldn't wait for them to leave his guest house. He was happy to organise transportation and other tours but only for the fact that you pay him and he would pay the driver ( and take his cut) .

Really disappointed as this place has such a high rating but There are plenty of other places in the area for half the price so I would advice highly to look elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank riki e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

I didn't stay here but came to ask for their help. I had a bus tkt i wanted to change for the next day, and was supposed to travel that same afternoon, so asked them if they could help me change it.
They called the company, got my tiket, WENT TO THE BUS STATION by their own means, not asking anything on return and brought me the ticket back for the next day. And i am nit even their guest!! NICE PEOPLE HERE! Next time i'm staying here!

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Ronpatricke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.1 km away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 192 in Jodhpur
625 reviews
0.7 km away
Sun Shine Guest House
Sun Shine Guest House
#38 of 192 in Jodhpur
39 reviews
0.6 km away
Bob Hostel
Bob Hostel
#26 of 192 in Jodhpur
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Pushp Guest House
Pushp Guest House
#13 of 192 in Jodhpur
183 reviews
0.3 km away
Cosy Guest House
Cosy Guest House
#9 of 161 in Jodhpur
264 reviews
0.5 km away
Hem Guest House
Hem Guest House
#28 of 192 in Jodhpur
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant

Address: 507 Singh Pole Marg Navchowkiya, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: ₹ 651 - ₹ 2,215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amar Niwas Guest House is a 527 year old Haveli run by a Brahman family so you can stay in a family atmosphere. Regular care and maintenance on the house keeps it feeling very comfortable for the customers. The original charm and character of the house is preserved with each improvement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amar Niwas Guest House & Restaurant Jodhpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing