We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and attitude!!”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #6 of 108 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We had been contemplating Jaisalmer during the new year time for several years now. Each time we could not get the booking. For 2012 new year eve, I began early and booked Hotel Victoria in end August 2011. Pankaj (the owner) was in touch throughout, calling every month and in December every week or so, confirming the plan.
Finally we were there on the 30th after an 12 hours long drive. On arrival, after the mandatory “Keseriya – Padharo Mare Desh” ( Welcome song) we were shown the rooms. The room on the ground floor was a disappointment due to the size but the other room (no 7 I think) made up for the other room. After settling in we went to the rooftop for a sumptuous dinner. The décor was great and after a grueling drive it was relaxing to just sit on the roof looking at the magnificent fort.

Next day was Sam sand dunes and desert national park , where we saw Desert buzzards, black buck and a variety of other birds. Pankaj had arranged a complementary dinner at another restaurant which was a very pleasant surprise. Even though he does not pay for Non veg and alcoholic drinks (and I respect him for that), it was the gesture that mattered. Later we just sat on the rooftop and welcomed 2012. It was a very unique experience just sitting on the rooftop and looking at the fort and ushering in 2012 listening to music from an assortment of cellphones and ipads.
Day 3, was supposed to be desert safari towards khuri. The sand dunes was a great disappointment as there were camel dung everywhere and the dunes were full of green plants. We stayed in swiss tent and were the only inhabitant at the Mama’s resort. The Rajathani folk dance and song team had more than 10 members playing for five of us. We enjoyed the stay but it was certainly not the worth what we had paid.
On return to Hotel Victoria, I shared my disappointment with Pankaj, (he had arranged Mama;s resort also as part of the package) who immediately gave us a fitting discount. I was glad & impressed by the distance he is willing to travel, to ensure that the guests depart with a great feeling.
Since we still wanted to see some REAL sand dunes, we drove towards the border and after about a 100 km past Ramgarh towards Tanot saw some mind blowing sand dunes for miles around. The best part is it takes a little over an hour to drive 100 kms on those roads.

Good work Pankaj Purohit. Keep this attitude. We will definitely return. and yes, your mother cooks delicious food!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Grande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 500 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Victoria for a few nights in April. It's tucked away inside the fort walls. Whilst it can be a little tricky to find, once you are there you are made to feel like you've lived there for years. The staff are incredibly friendly, generous and nothing is too much trouble. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
Thank PoppyLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Great place to stay! When looking for a place to stay, I hesitated between the town with a view of the fort, and staying in the fort itself. Some people say one should avoid the fort because it is crumbling and tourism will speed up its demise, but we were OK with it. We took very short showers and besides, tourists are greatly outnumbered by the locals!

We had the round room (if I remember correctly it was room 2, but I'm not 100% sure) - the only one with a tiny balcony you could sit in, filled with lovely colourful pillows. Whilst we were in Jaisalmer, the temps were in the mid-forties (centigrade) so we only sat there in the early morning, enjoying the view over the town and surrounding desert. Right above the room is the terrace, actually, and you get the same view. We had breakfast there in the mornings - fruit, toast and jam, lovely banana pancakes, coffee and tea - with the friends we travelled with. During the 3 nights we were there, the owner was absent, but the Nepalese boys he has working for him took care of us perfectly. They did some of our laundry and we had Thalis on the rooftop terrace as well one evening, plus sundowners (the boys ran down to the shops to get us local gin, tonic, cold Kingfishers and lime) - and we weren't charged for any of it!! Moreover, the owner called us twice from Delhi to inquire if our stay was going well, which we really appreciated.

The Victoria is decorated really tastefully in Rajasthani style, each of the 7 rooms differently. The only problem I can mention is that the bathroom of the room we had - the most expensive of his rooms - was very small, with a sink so tiny you couldn't even wash a pair of socks in it - and a shower that wasn't in its own stall, but in the same space as the toilet and 'baby' sink. The room below ours which our friends had, had a bigger bathroom. It didn't really bother us, though, since we took very short showers anyway. The air conditioning was excellent - although there was a general power outage a few times throughout the fort, which of course no one had any control over. Amazingly, in the midst of this heat, we had a rain /hail storm one late afternoon, which flooded the room somewhat. The boys had to lug the rug out later, but they did a great job cleaning things up.

The only recommendation I have for Pancaj, the owner, is that he replace all the cushion covers on the rooftop terrace - they are rather worn and faded. perhaps he should protect his outside furniture a little better at night too, or it will soon all need to be replaced.

From the fort parking lot, a tuk-tuk will take you to a tiny square inside the fort that's a stone's thrown from the Victoria.

Jaiselmer itself is well worth two full days, we felt. With a late afternoon camel safari, visits to all the beautiful havelis, the city Palace, the busy town and markets and the cenotaph, there's plenty to do. It's just a pity that the town doesn't clean up the increduble rubbish on all the ramparts and throughout the fort and town - but that's India's biggest problem, isn't it? The filth and rubbish and neglect everywhere is such a great shame, and overwhelmed us at times.

I wholeheartedly recommend the Victoria, although April, May, June and July are VERY hot!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ateach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We had a great time at Hotel Victoria : the crew was kind, helpful and respectful. The room was nice, clean and quiet ; and we spent good time on the roof top. The location is really nice inside the fort, and they can cook you really good snack food ( we recommend the banana pancake !!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blandine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Set right into a tower in the castle walls this boutique hotel aims to please (they even ask you for a suggestion to improve when you leave) you get the strong feeling that both the owner and his onsite manager love this place. We made sure to book one of the rooms with the best view-although we think it wasn't the precise one we had booked!!
Tiny rooftop restaurant served excellent food to accompany the superb view - you feel like the king of the castle. Neighbours fly kites with their children from neighbouring rooftops.
We loved our turret room with it's funny little bathroom which was a bit clumsy in design but always had hot water.
We planned our trip to take in the Desert festival in early February which was enormous fun from turban-tying competitions (categories for foreigners too!) to the magnificent camel tattoo (some folks missed this because they did'nt understand the word "tattoo" - it is a military tattoo - traditionally-dressed soldiers on fabulously decorated camels parading to music) we left before the camel race on the 3rd day.
Jaisalmer and the desert festival will remain in our fondest memories - as will this little hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuppence49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria_69Jaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

We really like to thank you for your honest feedback and would continue to deliver at our best level. You are most welcome to stay at our property again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#5 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,094 reviews
0.6 km away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 108 in Jaisalmer
921 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#10 of 108 in Jaisalmer
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 108 in Jaisalmer
1,117 reviews
1.0 km away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 108 in Jaisalmer
568 reviews
1.1 km away
Jasmin Home
Jasmin Home
#3 of 108 in Jaisalmer
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: Kund Para, on fort, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#4 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price Range: ₹ 1,832 - ₹ 11,316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Victoria 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Victoria is located inside the fort and this old haveli. It used to be my house before and I started the hotel 18years ago. We provide Rajasthani hospitality and rooftop has sunset and city view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, MakeMyTrip, HostelWorld and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Jaisalmer
Hotel Victoria Jaisalmer, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing