We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place inside fort but too attentive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Monsoon Palace
Ranked #68 of 153 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place inside fort but too attentive”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Beautiful & clean room. Views over the golden city were amazing. Free pick-up from train station was appreciated. We stayed in 1 of 2 room, and was the only guests there, so had the stunning roof-top balcony all to ourselves. I know many people thought Babu was great, and he was v easy going & welcoming, but at times I felt he was being over attentive, when we wanted to just relax on our own. The place is not big, so I felt I had to make polite conversation whenever he is around. When we want to use internet/ buy souvenirs, Babu would always "know friends", so we felt pressurised.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
36
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We stood at this hotel for two nights in summer 2010. And we just love to remember these days. Not only for the lovely tiny building, the well prepared rooms or the magnificient view from the rooftop terrace high above the city. But especially for the warm and hospitable welcome Babu and Kaku made for us. The best hotel at our whole tour!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sander_dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

This 2 room guest house is a little gem. Located just inside the walls of the ancient fort, it has all mod cons including air conditioning and a roof terrace with stunning views over the city. The rooms, with ensuite shower rooms, are tastefully furnished and very clean. Babu, a delightful young man, is on hand 24 hours a day and acts like a personal butler, organising breakfast, laundry, transport and takeaway meals to enjoy on the roof terrace. The location is brilliant as you can walk out from your room once the bulk of the tourists have left and wander the streets of the old city, soaking up the atmosphere of ancient times and chatting to the locals who are very friendly. We are two women and felt very safe even late into the evening.

A highlight here was to have a meal cooked by an old lady living nearby either in her home or brought to the roof terrace. This was one of the tastiest meals we enjoyed all holiday.

Monsoon Palace is owned by the family who run Hotel Fifu, outside the walls of the city. This hotel is also worth considering if Monsoon Palace is full. It has wonderful views over the fort and an attractive roof terrace where meals can be taken, even if you are staying at Monsoon Palace inside the fort. A hotel tuc-tuc will shuttle you back and forth.

Nothing is too much trouble. When we took an overnight camel safari at the end of our stay they kindly stored our luggage and offered us a room to freshen up and change on our return.

Monsoon Palace would be perfect for two couples or a family travelling together as you would have the whole place to yourselves.

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penny18London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This little hotel is only 2 rooms big so the attention to detail is excellent as is the service. We found the location was very convenient and quiet. The rooms had air conditioning and were beautiful and clean. The hotel also has a fantastic rooftop terrace where you can have meals, drinks or just relax.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thattravelgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnt Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Fantastic to be in the walls of the fort. Nice staff, allowed us to keep luggage at the hotel, whilst we went on camel safari. Wold reccommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOwens6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
12.9 km away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
1.3 km away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Tokyo Palace Jaisalmer
0.4 km away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
1.0 km away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monsoon Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monsoon Palace

Property: Hotel Monsoon Palace
Address: On Fort, Vyasa Para, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,424
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monsoon Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have rennovated our 650 years old ancestral house in the JaisalmerFort. Our two houses in the Fort, each has two rooms only, tastefully decorated with Jaisalmer textiles. Our house has been recommended by Alstair Swaday Special Places to Stay in India. We put all the best quality of comfort in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Monsoon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monsoon Palace Jaisalmer, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing