We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
190
115
52
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
115
52
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden suite intricate carvings huge room candle lit dinner rooftop restaurant royal touch hotel guests golden sandstone royal experience two night stay place to stay breakfast spread hot water buffet dinner sonar kella three nights comfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed at Mandir Palace in Jaisalmer for 2 nights. It has a really unique location, and beautiful palace. Lots to offer. However, the service was the worst of all the places we stayed in our Rajasthan Trip. I was not aware that we had to call ahead to get a room in the old part of the palace, so the room in the new part was a complete let down. It was definitely spacious and clean with air-conditioning and everything else functional. But the quality of the fixtures was more of a 3-star kind. It looked empty so we requested to get a shift to the old part but the receptionist/supervisor said they were all booked when in fact there was hardly some 6-7 rooms occupied. Perhaps they wanted to leave them open for the foreigner walk-ins. The food was expensive and not good. Service was poor/slow. There was no breakfast spread in the morning and we were told to order anything and they would serve. We opted to go out for lunch and dinner after one lunch & breakfast experience on the first day. The roof top restaurant was closed and we got a nice view from the roof top restaurant of the Nachana Havelli next door along with good dinner and service. On the morning we were to leave early, we asked for packed breakfast. We wanted the paratha's only as its easier to eat in the car but they refused to give us 7, and confirmed for only 4 & some other stuff like fruits etc in the night. In the early morning, they further reduced it to 3 with some answer like it will cost them more. They also didn't give enough fruits until we put our foot down that we had already paid for a full breakfast. The attitude of the staff is very bad. We felt the management of the hotel is not committed to creating a welcoming atmosphere for customers even though it is off season. We would not recommend this hotel unless you are desperate. If you do, then just sign up for the room, don't pay for any other meals in advance. Pay as you go after you feel comfortable.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indiejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We started our Rajasthan trip in Jaisalmer and luckily we had booked 3 nights at the Mandir Palace Hotel (Golden Suite).
Our room was really spacious & beautiful, although the bathroom seemed a little outdated (but very clean).
Food was excellent, especially when served on the romantic & magnificent rooftop-terrace, which is really huge and with a beautiful mosaic floor ....
One negative point was that it was very hot in Jaisalmer and we could not use the pool. The water looked quite dirty (a kind of slurry film on the water). To our opinion there were not enough guests, so they didn't clean it every day... What a pity (but we asked the management to do something about it).
Hotel staff was very friendly and really helpful.
Location was excellent !

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laureyssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Mandir Palace hotel is set in its own courtyard and is part hotel and part palace, which is still occupied by the "king" It is set just outside the fort and within easy walking distance of the main attractions in Jasailmer.
The room was clean with good ensuite facilities but it is the building and setting which are exceptional.
Being out of season we were the only guest and the staff were friendly at all times. Small swimming pool was great in the evenings and early morning, too hot in the day!
Dinner on the terrace with the fort at sunset is a treasured memory.

Date of stay: June 2010
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I have visited some of the upper class hotels in Jaisalmer, but Mandir Palace Hotel has in my opinion the best value. Why?

# The hotel is a former palace, built in original Rajasthan style. Therefore you will find a very pleasant and special atmosphere.
# The rooms are big and nice designed with a lot of love for details.
# The price? You get more than you pay.
# Extremely polite, fair and helpful was the manager, Mr. Shivendra Singh.
# Perfect central location. Close to the shops and the restaurants with a perfect view to the fort complex.

Under the line: 100% to recommend.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

We stayed in Mandir palce in dec,09 with a large group of friends.
All the rooms had a quite distinctive royal interiors, which moved us
to a bygone glorious era.The staff was very pleasant and outgoing.
Mr.Rathore insured high level of service & comfort for our friends.
Food was delicious. I highly recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exqusitetrveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews