We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A hotel to recommend!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shahi Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Shahi Palace
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
kathmandu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hotel to recommend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We spent a couple of relaxing days at the Shahi Palace. The roof top restaurant is cosy with super views. The staff very friendly and helpful. I can recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samthemaninkathmandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your review. Glad you were able to enjoy some relaxing days with us at Shahi Palace.

Cheers,
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    219
    69
    29
    15
See reviews for
109
342
130
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We travelled through India for four months and rather than review the 70 or so places we stayed, we decided to only review the top five.The Shahi Palace was reccommended to us by a family member and it didn't disappoint. We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, with lovely comfy beds.

The selling point here is the rooftop restaurant, complete with cushions, candles and amazing views of the fort. Coffee comes in big mugs, unlike everywhere else in India that serves up a thimble sized cup. The rest of the menu is delicious too!

The owner is friendly and funny, the rest of the staff were good too. We stayed here before and after a camel safari and it was bliss to arrive back here after a night in the desert!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RochdaleLass19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review of our hotel. Glad you enjoyed the rooms, atmosphere and big mugs of coffee!!

Regards,
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santander, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

I am travelling around India and around many countries so I can recognise quickly when something is good. People, the building, the rooms, where it is, the food, clean, they take care of you, the beautiful views, the amazing roof top restaurant.?. Everything !!!! I wish much more places could get by their places like they do in this hotel. A brilliant 10 for all the staff in haveli palace hotel, and his friendly boss. I was really happy here and you make me feel like home. Thanks!!!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Laboule01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the 10!! Our staff are here to serve you so glad you had such a good experience with them.

Sincerely,
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

It started as it meant to go on, from a smooth, very early morning pick up at the train station to being shown to a room to 'rest' and given a bottle of water, till check in time. I experienced 3 rooms during my 3 nights at Sahi Palace and all were very good.

The owner manager, Dev, is a guy you can trust completely. As he wasn't so busy one day he took me to visit the Haveli's on his motorcycle. Later he took me to have a lassi and an evening stroll at the lake. He's a great guy to talk with and I learned a lot about local culture from him.

Dev organized my onward train journey and I felt completely supported by him and all the other great staff.

Many thanks to Dev and all the staff in a great place with great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Try not to have a room by the stairwell if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thanks for your review. When we are not busy we like to take our guests around to the local sites and give them information that they may not get otherwise. Glad you enjoyed this experience.

Greetings,
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Room was very spacious and clean, although hot water was only available in the mornings. Staff were very helpful, they arranged to have a tour guide meet us at our next destination. The food was excellent, as was the rooftop restaurant overlooking the fort. We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Look out for the free Hotel transfer car waiting for you at the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobnSueF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
digitaljaisalmer, Manager at Hotel Shahi Palace, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to write us a review.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
DEV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#9 of 104 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.7 km away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#10 of 104 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
Hotel Pleasant Haveli
#4 of 104 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#7 of 104 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
11.4 km away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 104 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Fifu
Hotel Fifu
#8 of 104 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shahi Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shahi Palace

Property: Hotel Shahi Palace
Address: Shiv Road | Near State Bank of Bikaner & Jaipur Bank, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Jaisalmer
#10 Family Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price range (per night): ₹ 681 - ₹ 3,880
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated outside the fort near fort gate, Shahi Palace is a welcoming, family-run hotel, built entirely of local sandstone of jaisalmer with classic Rajasthani decor throughout. It offers a range of comfortable, cool rooms and a relaxed rooftop terrace with magnificent views of the fort. The chilled rooftop restaurant offers a range of vegetarian and non-vegetarian options and is a great place to watch the sun set and meet fellow travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, ClearTrip, Booking.com, TravelGuru, Stayzilla, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shahi Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahi Palace Hotel
Shahi Palace Jaisalmer
Hotel Shahi Palace Jaisalmer, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing