We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com$89
Priceline$89
eDreams$89
Tripadvisor$89
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
358
81
12
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
358
81
12
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage walk jaisalmer fort living fort kachori place to stay small hotel entire city magical experience stay inside the fort chai once in a lifetime hot water his brother heritage property wonderful stay golden city home away from home
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2018

If you think of a desert city as bleak, think again. You feel the magic of Jaisalmer, the Golden City, land of the Bhatti princes, born of the moon, as soon as it comes into view. The fort, rising from the mighty rock like a giant sand castle, parapets, balconies, and terraces included, crowns the city. The beauty of the living fort, the havelis, and the Jain temples, all carved from the same honey gold stone, will leave you breathless. And what better place to stay than a hotel in the fort built in 1056 AD. The Killa Bhawan hotel has all the soul of the fort and all the comforts of a luxury hotel. We knew we’d made the right hotel choice from the moment our host, Bahnu, welcomed us with a warm, “Relax, you’re home.” We were even more sure as we watched him wave goodbye to us from the city gates. Our flight was canceled because the mists rolled in from the “snows in Kashmir.” The tiny airport had canceled fights the day before and most likely would again the next day, so we weren’t sure how we would rework out plans. However, Bahnu and his staff at the hotel found us a driver and hotel in Jodhpur and handed us hot grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches wrapped in foil, along with spicy chips, chocolate cookies and cold bottled water for the trip…a canceled fight has never been so easy. It was this hospitality that we experienced daily in the city and especially at Hotel Killa Bhawan. The hotel and its café, just a short tuk-tuk ride away, will exceed all your expectations. If this isn’t the best hotel in Jaisalmer, I’ll kiss your thali.

Room tip: The honeymoon suite with balcony was astonishing.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanA2776
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucaBorella, Owner at Hotel Killa Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear Jean

I'm speechless ......you really did understand everything about Jaisalmer magic......Thanks so much for your lovely word. Indeed, people of Jaisalmer are everything we long for.
I fell for Jaisalmer long back and never get tired of it.
thanks again, cheers
Luca Borella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

This beautiful and characterful hotel was our first stop in India after Delhi and by far my favourite of all our destinations. The setting is sublime and Bhanu and Manish run it to perfection. Nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel really special. They are super-informative on everything and provided amazing breakfasts on the hotel roof. Our bedroom was the one I reserved and after the desert evening we were upgraded to an even better room. I love that each room is different and there are numerous sunny terraces for sitting and relaxing, including Indian day beds. All the staff are very helpful, hard-working and discreet. They always do their utmost to please. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will return without a doubt. I have recommended it to several friends already. Thanks again Bhanu and to all your staff!

Room tip: We had a room at the top with a balcony overlooking Jaisalmer.Don't know number. Room n°8 is also lovely.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucaji, Owner at Hotel Killa Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

dear Julia

thanks so much for your lovely comments!! It is a pleasure to read about people who really appreciate what we are trying to create here.
Hope you will visit again, cheers
Luca Borella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

This boutique family run hotel, managed by Manish, one of the brothers, is set within the fort walls overlooking the fort and the Old City. From the moment we arrived we were met with a welcome to remember. We were led up to the terrace for a chai as Manish offered advice on our plans for our time in Jaisalmer. The people make the place and this was our experience at Hotel Killa Bhawan. The hotel and the rooms have an Arabian Nights feel. The view of the fort from our terrace was spectacular. We loved stepping out from our room onto the terrace looking out over the characteristic city and fort. A great place to break the exploration of the city with a relaxing chai sitting on the terrace and soaking up the atmosphere of this exotic city. Manish and the team made us feel at home and our stay here exceeded all expectations.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Damascasrose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 December 2017

This hotel probably takes the top spot from among those where I stayed during my trip to India, but it may very well be down to one room - I think the staff called it the royal suite (we hadn't asked for suites per se when booking our tour). The name is well given - the room is in one of the fort's towers, has its own private sitting balcony overlooking the city, a sort of antechamber with seating for friends or guests or co-travellers, an access onto the tower roof, and is decorated with tremendous character and taste. Breakfast is served on the battlements (for all rooms), and though choice isn't tremendous the quality is good. The hotel is hidden down an alleyway in the old city so also provides priviledged access to explore the fort in your own time. Staff were friendly and accomodating. I really recommend checking if they have rooms available if staying in Jaisalmer, and in particular asking if the suite in the tower is available!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sebgolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucaBorella, Owner at Hotel Killa Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017
Google Translation

bonjour
Merci beaucoup pour votre très sympathique et long commentaire! je vous rassure, il n'y a pas que la chambre 10, la "Honey Moon " suite qui vaut le détour. Toutes les chambres sont différentes et ont leur caractère propre et fenêtre ou balcon sur la ville!
je suis très heureux que vous y ayez pris du plaisirs, autant que moi chaque fois que j'y suis!
Bonnes fêtes de fin d'année
Luca Borella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

After 4 flights and 2 missed connections, we finally arrived in Jaisalmer. Bhanu couldn't have been more helpful, giving us a room to freshen up and store our luggage before heading to our desert safari. We were attending a wedding and he even called his cousin to give my husband some traditional attire to wear which worked perfectly! He upgraded us to the honeymoon suite which was stunning, overlooking the whole of Jaisalmer from a centuries old balcony with decor that made you feel like you were truly Rajasthani maharaja.

Room tip: Ask for the honeyroom suite or a room with a balcony.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TyWit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucaBorella, Propriétaire at Hotel Killa Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

dear Ty Wit
So glad you apprecdiated my place! Truly an incredible set up thanks to this age old fort.
And not to mention the staff, Bhanu & Manish who are fantastic and so kind.
Well, as you know there are flights coming directly, maybe we will have the chance to see you back...?
Cheers
Luca Borella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews