We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com$89
Priceline$89
eDreams$89
Tripadvisor$89
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
358
81
12
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
358
81
12
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage walk jaisalmer fort living fort kachori place to stay small hotel entire city magical experience stay inside the fort chai once in a lifetime hot water his brother heritage property wonderful stay golden city home away from home
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We arrived in Jaisalmer taking the overnight train from Jaipur. Since arrival Bhanu and his team has taken extreme good care of us. The hotel is inside the Golden Fort and is exquisite. Ideal for international travelers and others. The hotel offers pick up service from the railway station, and is worthwhile to do so. We hadn't arranged this nevertheless, one phone call and Mr Bhanu's team picked up our luggages from the entrance to the Fort. It's a 4 minute walk to the hotel from the entrance.

We were welcomed with nimboo paani (lime water) and it was refreshing. Mr Bhanu and team can speak fluent English and we had no issues communicating.

The view from the hotel is breathtaking and is very special. The rooms have antique furniture and they have created the look and feel of living in a palace. It was beautiful.

Mr Bhanu was full of good suggestions and we arranged to go to the desert safari at his recommendations. Again, was perfectly arranged. Rajasthan and Jaisalmer is quite safe for travellers.

Next morning the hotel team arranged a big breakfast spread. It was toast, omelette, fruits, juice, butter, jam and we opted for tea. If you're keen for Indian food it would be good to speak to the staff the night before about it otherwise it just takes a bit longer. We were in a hurry and hence opted for the continental breakfast. The hotel even organised our travel to Jodhpur.

We have only to admire the care we were given and got to know a few things about the culture from the team and Mr Bhanu.

Highly recommend staying there for the local experience.

P.s. water was provided free for us (per our booking) not sure if this is the same for all guests.

Thank you Mr Bhanu and team.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank beingsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucalucaji, Owner at Hotel Killa Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hello

Thanks so much for your lovely comment! very glad you ejoyed your stay with us at Killa Bhawan.
Hope to see you again, cheers
Luca Borella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We really loved our stay in Killa Bahwan and definitely made our stay in Jaisalmer a great experience!
It is located inside the fort and I guess saying that we stayed in a fort that is over 800 years old and people still live in there is amazing. The hotel has all modern comforts (hot water, air conditioning, very comfortable beds…) plus some rooms have a private balcony with stunning views.
Having breakfast in one of the hotel’s terraces was amazing and I would come back if I ever visit Jaisalmer again.
The only thing we really missed is the fact that they don’t have a restaurant as we found that the fort’s restaurants were not that good…they offered a Thali service but we did not try it.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFeVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2017

It is incredible to stay in historic place turned into a hotel.
It is beautiful with great terraces and a fantastic view.
BUT with few touches it could turn into a GREAT place, the bathrooms for example. the plastic curtain was pretty old and the shower head was spraying water everywhere so I had to clean it myself and it was great afterwords... and since there is not really much to do on evenings, I would ad TVs on the rooms...

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galipan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucalucaji, Owner at Hotel Killa Bhawan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Dear Sir

I'm the owner of Killa Bhawan and was quite displeased reading your comment. i deeply apologize for the inconvenience caused and assure you that we will take care of the shower situation you have described.
But I cannot follow you on the TV issue as we feel that a TV wouldn't be appropriate in such a place....The windows with the view they offer replace even the best of TV program...!
I hope you understand.
Thansk again for staying with us, cheers
Luca Borella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Beautiful and exotic property located in the actual fort of Jaisalmer.

I almost skipped over Jaisalmer in planning my itinerary, but staying at this hotel made me so happy I did not.

It must be said that this hotel is actually IN THE FORT, so it would be absurd to think you can find all 5 star amenities and such that you might at other high-end hotels. That being said, you have all you need here, a warm, comfortable and inviting atmosphere combined with one of the most exotic locations we stayed in all our trip.

The property is a well maintained, very clean, multi-layered, multi-terraced, haveli with quaint courtyards, balconies and sitting rooms all within the fort. The terraces offer fantastic views of the rest of the fort as well as the city beyond. The included breakfast is modest but nice with choice of a few well prepared dishes. You may chose to eat in a number of places, several which offer wonderful views of the sprawl of the fort.

The location is great. Easy to access all of the fort (you are after all in it) as well as the city which lies right at the foot of the fort.

The rooms are clean, well appointed with antique furnishings and quite comfortable. The linens were clean and white and bed mattress was comfortable. There is no TV (which is very nice), but there is WiFi, A/C, and heat for if the nights get cold. Our room had a detached bathroom which was very clean, our own balcony facing the courtyard and an attached sitting area with wonderful views of the city.

The staff is fantastic. They work hard. The younger Nepalese boys are very accommodating and the manager Manu is fantastic. From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed and made to feel so at home in every way.

If ever I return to Jaisalmer, I would never consider staying anywhere else.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank giolibertino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

You choose this hotel in the fort because precisely of that. It is located inside Jaisalmer fort, the only working fort in India where there are over 300 families living inside the fort. It is not everyday that you can say you have stayed in a fort that is over 800 years old.

Killa Bhawan has the modern comforts that you would expect from a modern hotel - plumbing, hot and cold water, air conditioning yet it has not lost its old world charm. I got one of the deluxe rooms where I had my own private Juliet balcony overlooking the 'downtown' of Jaisalmer.

Every morning I had breakfast on the terrace with a breathtaking view of the fort and surrounding area.

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank Viwan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews