We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Place to stay in Jaiselmer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Rajwada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Rajwada
Ranked #24 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Place to stay in Jaiselmer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Hotel fort Rajwada is a good place to stay in jaiselmer. Service is excellent. Food quality is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    270
    124
    55
    57
See reviews for
183
269
25
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Overall we loved this hotel, in spite of the incredibly rude and unhelpful front desk personnel. Everything else was great, including the staff everywhere else in the hotel...except the money changer. We'll get to that in a moment. Keep in mind too that this hotel sits on a hill a few kilometers outside of town.

Rooms; Deluxe rooms- huge rooms with sitting area and large bathrooms with bath tub and shower. Rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and very comfortable, though they are showing a little age. Comfortable beds. Flat screen TV. Wi-fi was $2.25US per hour and you could log in and out without accumulating time charged. However, it did take three different front desk people to explain this clearly and even after that they were rude about helping us get logged on.

The housekeeping staff was ever present and did a great job besides being friendly and professional. Couldn't have been better.

Breakfast; Excellent, huge buffet. Eggs cooked to order, pancakes with maple syrup, potatoes, fruit plates, yogurt, cereal, buns and bread, and six delicious Indian dishes.

Restaurant; Great wait staff. Very helpful, friendly, and professional. Excellent. The food was also excellent with main courses running between $4.00US and $12.00US. As in many places in India, two dishes easily feed three and sometimes four people.

Money Changer; As is the case in many Indian hotels, there is a money changing facility. Rates for cash exchanges are as much as five percent below what you will get using your ATM card at a bank (for major currencies), though the money changers will deny this. One of our group also had some Thai Baht that they tried to change but the rate was almost 25% less than the true value. Once again, the money changer denied this but after making a phone call to someone(?) the rate suddenly changed but was still robbery. And, when you use a credit card most hotels tack on (or discount you) an additional 3% to 3.5% (check your receipt sometime; its clearly printed on there). This discount is from the interbank rate which you get when you use an ATM. Be forewarned; this is common in most tourist class hotels in India.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Our first thought on arriving at the hotel was that it was pure Disney: a pastiche of an old palace built on a fresh site out of town. That was before we went visiting and realised that all the new hotels were the same. It's a pity that no architect has managed to blend the old with the new.

The hotel is large and spacious with good sized rooms. There is no lift but plenty of ground floor rooms. The rooms are very clean and well maintained, with tea and coffee making facilities. The selection of teas was good but the instant coffee pretty dire. We always take a pot of instant in our suitcase.

In the bathroom, there was no plug in either the wash basin or bath and there were no signs of there ever having been installed. Hoe a gentleman is supposed to shave or a lady wash her smalls without a plug is a mystery to me.

It took quite some effort to get them. It was partly language; in anglo-indian a bath plug is a 'stopper' and partly proceedure: someone has to come and see if there is a bath stopper and then someone else brings one. It was the same proceedure with bath robes.

We dined in the hotel one evening. The (Indian) food was good and service cheerful and smiling.
There was a buffet breakfast with a good selection of both Indian and European choices. The service was Indian but overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldfeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

This place is like a real "rajwada"! We were impressed by its imposing exteriors even before we entered the hotel. The room we got was spacious and very well decorated. There was covered parking for our car too. The interiors of the hotel- its lobbies, reception, lawns etc., offer 'sight seeing' of their own. The reception staff was very efficient and helpful in helping us with the desert safari and local attractions. The Rajasthani cuisine that the restaurant offered was memorable and I would strongly recommend their 'Lal Maas' to all you meat lovers.

And to top it all, you don't pay a ransom for all this.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prakash51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We were upgraded to a very nice suite, quite large. The hotel is a new place and has an appealing design but I was quite disappointed in my meal last night. We got some stuff off the buffet but I didn’t like the food. My terrific wife and companion managed it but the waiter took mine away and brought me a paneer dish that was much better.

We tested out the pool and found it to be very cool and refreshing. We dried off in the hot dry air in minutes.

Our last morning required a very early start and so we arranged, or attempted to arrange, a box breakfast to take with us. The day before, we had to ask the desk about three or four times and each time they said to come back later to request the box. Finally we got the order placed and all seemed well. Of course the next morning there was no breakfast, very annoying. So all considered the service was no so good, the waiter in the dinning room was accommodating but this early breakfast was a failure.

The internet is charged by the time you actually use the service, so that is good, however, the internet was dead slow or non existent most of our time here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burnabytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
5.8 km away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#26 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
16.5 km away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
3.4 km away
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
WelcomHeritage Mandir Palace
#23 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Gorbandh Palace
Gorbandh Palace
#25 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
8.1 km away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 km away
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
Desert Tulip Hotel & Resort
#44 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Rajwada? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Rajwada

Property: Fort Rajwada
Address: Hotel Complex No 1 | Jodhpur-Barmer Link Road, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jaisalmer
#5 Spa Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,711 - ₹ 10,309
Hotel Class:5 star — Fort Rajwada 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Agoda, Stayzilla, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Fort Rajwada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Rajwada Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Fort Rajwada Hotel Jaisalmer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing