We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Kuldhara, the mystery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuldhara Abandoned Village

Kuldhara Abandoned Village
Book In Advance
US$ 160.00*
and up
3-Day Private Tour of Jaisalmer including Desert Camp Experience
Ranked #12 of 70 things to do in Jaisalmer
Attraction details
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kuldhara, the mystery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Obviously, the highlight of my Jaisalmer tour is visit to this abandoned village Kuldhara. Why such a developed village was abandoned is a mystery. So many stories are there, but nothing authentic. The model houses built by the Govt throw a light on the design of houses during that time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank peddirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    273
    202
    50
    29
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“An eeirie place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

It was a place worth visiting. We have seen many ghost villages but this one was different. The temple in the middle of the village is a must see

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“so dull”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

...we were taken here on the way to the desert for camel riding but it is DULL. Nothing to see - nothing to do - just foundations of buildings which are not that old and have no story other than 'everyone left' but nobody knows why - visually unimpressive and I'd give it a miss

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank MrJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur
Level Contributor
212 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Kuldhara, a 13th century deserted village on the outskirts of Jaisalmer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Post visiting the Bada Bagh we decided to go see this off the beaten track, village called KULDHARA. After a long drive through the desert, we reached the village which is in complete ruins. A rusty board welcomed us with the saying that the village has been converted into a tourist spot.

There are many stories and theories as to why the village came to its current state, however our guide chose to share the following story:

The village used to be inhabited by the rich and learned paliwal Brahmins. The daughter of the village chief was a beauty who'd just stepped into her sixteenth year. The notorious patwaa (Rich Businessman/ minister) of Jaisalmer happened to see this beautiful girl and wanted to take her as his wife. The patwaa was famous for his debauchery and some loyal friend tipped the kuldhara chief about his intentions.

The girl was killed by her family and villagers and every house door was marked by her blood. After this, the entire village was evacuated in one night and all that remained was an empty village without a single soul. No one knows where these people went and what happened to them. As the paliwal Brahmins left, they cursed death upon anyone who ever came to live in that village.


As we entered inside we saw the entire village in shambles with broken walls and bricks strewn all around. A lifeless deep well, a few temple like structures and houses in ruins. Home to people several centuries ago, all in shambles.

The dusty little village had long narrow lanes crisscrossing everywhere and it was a weird experience. I did not enjoy it much, however some may find the ruins very fascinating! If you like off the beaten path stuff, then this is a tour for you!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank anuroopabanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Its a deserted village in the desert with lots of ruined buildings and a great stepwell.Very atmospheric and not touristy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travellergirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuldhara Abandoned Village also viewed

Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
Jaisalmer, Rajasthan
 

Been to Kuldhara Abandoned Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing