We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sanjay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sanjay Villas
Ranked #45 of 103 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Sanjay Villas is a wonderful hotel, and the staff go out of their way to help you, especially the owner K.K. The hotel is a little far away from the fort, but you can easily walk there within 10 minutes. The rooms were clean and the hot water was wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elle2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    30
    11
    1
    7
See reviews for
26
42
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

jaisalmer is a very simple and small city and hotel sanjay villas is at one corner of this city. the approach to the hotel is not quite clean. rooms size as for the budget hotel is fine. but the bedsheet and the towel provided to us were very dirty.
the major attraction of jaisalmer 'the camel safari' was a major disappointment. we had opted for the one night stay safari through sanjay villas. our trip was spoilt because of the half told itineries of this trip. our car stopped next to the prince camp and from there we started our camel safari. after some 15 minutes of barren land moving on the camel it touched the sand and after few steps on sand the person who was leading the camel informed us that if we wanted to go further we had to give him extra money. we called up Mr.Jamsher to sort out the matter with him but in vain. top of all this irritation we saw that the place we were being asked for more money from that place other camps camel safari were starting. the camel took them further inside for the real thar desert safari feel.
we had already informed Mr Jamsher that we also wanted to take safari ride in the morning to see the sunrise on the desert. we were ready in morning all set to go but our camel turned up only after sunrise. the person from sanjay villas who had to set all this kept evading us.
sanjay villas unprofessional handling of the whole situation literally spoilt our trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swapchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

It's an excellent hotel with all amenities like 24/7 Hot and Cold Water. Neat, Clean and Tidy rooms with wonderful room service. To add more, Jamsherji, the owner of Sanjay Villas is a gentleman who offers best of services with wonderful tariffs.
Food is good, During my stay, i had a few Americans, Singaporians and some group of Honkong staying in...Also there were Indian families along. Its a very secured place if you travel along with your family. Myself, My Wife and my 2 year old daughter stayed here from December 24th 2011 to December 26th 2011. I had made my bookings with Sanjay Villas telephonic before 2 months without paying a since penny to Jamsherji (the owner) due to some cash crunch, it was very kind and humble of him to hold room for my family just on the word of mouth. I managed to pay him the amount only 10 days before my departure to Jaisalmer. I had also made my bookings for Sam-Desert via Sanjay Villas which proved out to be an excellent experience of my life.
Sanjay Villas is worth in all means, as Interiors of the hotel represent tradition of Rajasthan Carved with Golden Jaisalmeri stones. The place is calm and about 5 to 8 minutes walk from Market. It's 10 minutes drive to Jaisalmer station.

Room Tip: Worth your Money !!! I can surely suggest anyone to get in Sanjay Villas without a second thought!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KartikMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bostonian turned Floridian
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here one night, thankfully. This was a very budget room. We had a room right next to reception which itself was not an issue. The bedding (sheets and blankets) were dirty. The bathroom was usuable, but I wouldn't shower in it. We had to turn the water off on the toilet overnight because it was running and leaking water onto the floor. We were there when the weather was quite cold at night. This hotel has no heaters so the room was very chilly. The power went out and so in the morning, we opened the door in our room that led to the alley to get some light in (despite the cold).

On a good note, the rooftop was nice and the food was ok. The staff were good too. We had an issue in the morning with our car and driver (see my poor reviews of Raj Singh in the Udaipur and Rajasthan Forums). The staff was very helpful in sorting out the mess so we could continue on with our journey.

While sorting through our car and driver issues we chatted with someone we think was the owner or manager. We (our friends and my boyfriend and I) learned that we got such crap rooms because our reservation was not a confirmed reservation. We had put down a 10% deposit upon booking! So, if you book here and don't want a crap room, find out what it means to confirm the reservation and go for it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BornForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at Sanjay Villas for 10 days around Christmas time. The hotel is located outside of the Jaisalmer city walls, in a quiet neighborhood about a 20 minute walk from the fort. We loved the location because it was far enough from the chaos of the center of town, yet accessible to all the major sights. In fact, it is two streets down from a beautiful Brahmin temple and sunset point.

The hotel was spotless. In fact, the young boy that worked at the hotel as a cleaner was constantly either mopping the floors or sweeping it. The hotel has a lovely rooftop restaurant tended to by a pair of brothers, Balee Khan, who works as a server amongst other roles, and his brother Anwar Khan who, despite being young, is a fantastic cook. Stick to Indian classics when ordering.

Both Balee and Anwar, the managers Jamser and KK and the cleaning boy, whose name I can't remember, made our stay incredibly memorable. All around Jaisalmer, hotels have the slogan "Come as a tourist, leave as a friend" written on all their cards. At Sanjay Villas, the warm staff really makes this happen.

Sanjay Villas also organizes a memorable camel safari. They have high-end and non-touristic camel safaris available. We opted for the non-touristic safari and were treated to solitude in the desert!!!!! Our friendly guides, Jackie and Gaji took good care of us, cooked really good food and took us to areas in the desert where there wasn't a single person besides us.

In the end, when we left Jaisalmer, we were sad to say goodbye to the good friends we had made.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank jmoksim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.4 km away
Heera Court Hotel
Heera Court Hotel
#39 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Star Haveli
Hotel Star Haveli
#53 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
#32 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#9 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Bharat Villas
Hotel Bharat Villas
#21 of 103 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sanjay Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sanjay Villas

Property: Hotel Sanjay Villas
Address: Achalvanshi Colony, | Nr. Sunset point, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price range (per night): ₹ 720 - ₹ 1,833
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sanjay Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jaisalmer and Hotel Sanjay Villas!Our hotel is constructed throughout with the golden stone, laced with unique Jaisalmeri carved features. Located near the beautiful sunset point which is one of the quiet area but still within a walking distance to the main market and Jaisalmer Fort. We have a range of rooms that will suit your budget, non air-conditioned or air-conditioned rooms with Rajasthani style appointed bay windows. Total 11 spacious rooms with attached bathroom and clean toilets. Each room is simply decorated, neat and clean, fitted with large comfortable beds and colour TVsFeel a cool breeze in our relaxing roof top restaurant where you can enjoy delicious Indian, Rajasthani, Western, Asian and real Thai foods which only available here. Service to your room is also available with no extra charge.Horn-free area, friendly neighborhood, hassle-free environment Hotel Sanjay Villas is where you will find real 'peace' in Jaisalmer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sanjay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sanjay Villas Jaisalmer, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing