We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Golden City”
Review of Hotel Roop Mahal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Roop Mahal
Ranked #8 of 157 Jaisalmer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

When we arrived in Jaisalmer, tired from the sleeping bus travel, we were recieved by Roop Mahal's driver and really enjoyed the place. Theres a wonderful balcony from where we can see the sky and the Fort also. Everybody was friendly to us, specially Chandra - the owner, who wellcomes everyone with great joy! He was also responsible for one of our best experiences in Índia - one Eco-safari to Thar desert, we loved the guides and were completely alone in small desert areas... We had a beautiful time. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

The lovely Chandra picked us up at our bus stop early in the morning. He was a refreshingly kind and understanding gentleman in the swarm of commision rickshaw drivers who awaited us. He catered to our (low) budget and we were soon set up in a lovely room with a TV and a WARM shower!

Chandra is an expert Camel Safari planner- extremely knowledgeable and experienced. Our camel safari (although above our budget) was worth every penny. Our guides spoke excellent English and were hilarious. They filled us with the most scrumptious meals and Chai until we thought we would explode.

We would recommend this hotel and camel safari experience to anyone who likes fun, kindness, yummy food and comfort.

Happy travels!

Room Tip: All good. Rooms for every budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shibbert11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The owner, a very nice man, offered us free pickup from the station.
The Hotel is not too far of the Fort entrance. Since it is outside the Fort itself, the water system is not endangering the Fort site.

They have nice affordable clean rooms and a convenient rooftop. Food is ok but nothing special. In front of the hotel was a garbage site with pigs and a cow rummaging the garbage all day long , which I found was quite funny but might be off-putting to some (but hey, this is India).

We took their safari (1 night) and ended up in a remote place with no tourists, which was pretty good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We are long term travelers with basic needs - general level of cleanliness and enough space for our (minimal) stuff. This hotel is simple but completely clean and even the 400R room had plenty of space (even a small table and chair!) for us.

The 400R rooms on the first floor don't have a window (500R room does) but that price we weren't expecting one. However, the room does have windows (at the top of the wall where it meets the ceiling) to the hallway. This is kind of nice because you can tell when daylight is outside, but it does allow a lot of noise flow. Wear ear plugs, problem solved. The bed was clean and comfortable.

The restaurant upstairs is good. It can be slow at dinner, but plan plenty of time...they actually bought groceries one time when we ordered. This is actually good because you know they are not reusing old food. There is plenty of room at the restaurant, and they'll let you hang out all day without harassing you to eat. Chandra (the owner) in general is very good. He helped us fix a broken camera tripod by running out into the city to buy us a part, no hassle. He seems like a bit like a salesman but he is not scamming you in anyway. I kept saying "finally, someone has figured out that we'll pay a bit more for straightforward info."

I'm not sure if I should review his camel trek here, but it is exactly what he says it is. You drive far out of the city. We didn't see a single SINGLE other group of tourists on camels in the desert - no trash either. They guys taking care of our group did everything with a smile. The food was great. They set up our beds and packed everything up each day. They were fun and funny. We spent days riding through desert plants and spotting animals and nights sleeping on the dunes under the stars. The price is middle of the road but guaranteed a good experience here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeDocumented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We had an awesome stay! Originally unaware of this hotel we stayed in a couple of others that left a lot to be desired to say the least. The staff was wonderful, the beds comfortable and clean and most of all the kitchen was exceptionally clean (not common in most hotels, as there are no standard requirements). The rates for this top notch service were very reasonable. They provide a wonderful desert camel safari away from other tourists, which when coming to jaisalmer is a must!! All together the entire experience was memorable. We will definetely come back here again to stay. We highly reccomend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascott50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chandrajaisalmer, Owner at Hotel Roop Mahal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review! Feedback is so important to our business and we really appreciate the time that you have taken to let us know how you found your stay with us.

We would love to host you again if you ever return to Jaisalmer or Rajasthan!

Thanks again, Chandra at the Roop Mahal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 106 in Jaisalmer
1,097 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Akashdeep
Hotel Akashdeep
#11 of 106 in Jaisalmer
680 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Royal Haveli
Hotel Royal Haveli
#10 of 106 in Jaisalmer
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#12 of 106 in Jaisalmer
905 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
#23 of 106 in Jaisalmer
245 reviews
0.1 km away
Desert Boys Guest House
Desert Boys Guest House
#10 of 157 in Jaisalmer
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roop Mahal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roop Mahal

Address: Near Fort 1st Gate and Behind Shiv Road | Near Fort 1st Gate, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Jaisalmer
Price Range: ₹ 647 - ₹ 970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Roop Mahal 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Roop Mahal has 11 rooms with attached bathroom, high pressure hot and cold shower, satellite TV in every room & 6 air conditioned rooms have balconies with magnificent fort and sunset views .The hotel has a rooftop restaurant with sweeping views of the fort especially at night with the illuminated bastions bringing to mind the Arabian Nights. the hotel has Internet, Skype free Wi Fi and free pickup and drop of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Roop Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roop Mahal Jaisalmer, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing