We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing local history and great attention to detail with personal touch.”

The Thar Heritage Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 17.00*
and up
Private Tour: Full-Day Jaisalmer Sightseeing Tour
More Info
US$ 43.00*
and up
Private Jaisalmer City Tour and Camel Safari
Ranked #28 of 73 things to do in Jaisalmer
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aim of this museum is to collect and preserve historical and ancient folk art of Thar Desert for tourist scholar and young generation. Museum is founded by L.N. Khatri M.com, M.A. Author of Jaisalmer Folklore History and Architecture. This Museum Awarded by District Magistrate 2006, and Governor of Rajasthan on 15 August 2008 for preservation of folk Heritage. Museum displayed sea-fossil, documents of Jaisalmer state, coins, post cards, ancient manuscripts, weapons, musical instruments, leather containers of ghee.
Cupertino, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing local history and great attention to detail with personal touch.”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I was very impressed with this little gem of a find hidden away in Jaisalmer. It ALWAYS open, you just have to ask the Mr. Khatri, owner of shop around corner. Do yourself and the museum a favor and stop by, it's cheap, you will learn a lot an be impressed with the local collection.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank lancek-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    32
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warszawa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Heritage Museum”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Small museum, full of nice old photographies, old music instruments, posters and other things which help you to look on Jaisalmer from other perespective. There are multimedial devices where you can see how people play on the several music instruments. In the evenings thaere are 30 min puppet performances. (I can not rate it because we did not attend due to lack of time)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahemdabad
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a must see”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

city is a bit dirty but palaces and sand dunes are great.the musuem is a must see

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank karan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth visiting for the puppet shows”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This is a one man effort. Everyday evening, they have puppet shows, which are quite enjoyable. The local musical instruments on display are quite knowledgable. Visitors can also buy hand made puppets directly from the artists, after the puppet show. They also have a small souvineer shop.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank anandnatekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent - Don't Miss It!”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

The Thar Heritage Museum is located down a backstreet of Jaisalmer’s main bazaar, which is a fair trek from the city fort, at least in the blistering heat that is customary for the region. The cows do a good job of blocking the main drag as they gurn on plastic bags and other rubbish they find piled up on the corner of every side street, while auto-rickshaws and motorbikes blast their horns at every available opportunity as the shop keepers call and beckon every white person that walks past. It is a busy place to say the least; full of bright colours and peculiar odours, busy people and unexpected wildlife. That only makes finding the Thar Heritage Museum more interesting, in that the location of the bulding adds yet another quirky dimension to this already out-of-the-way and less frequented attraction.

I first read about the museum in the Roughguide to Rajasthan, Delhi and Agra. The book, which I happened to be borrowing from my Sister, had so far been a trustworthy and reliable source of information on the trip so far and it had promised a rather interesting experience at this museum in particular. The Roughguide mentions that despite the exhibition being interesting enough on as it stands, it is brought to life by the sole collector of items, Mr Laxmi Khatri, who is able to accompany on your tour of the museum ‘if he is on hand’. Upon arriving at the museum, it appeared as though he was not. A young boy sat twiddling his thumbs at a table by the entrance and bolted up the stairs to unlock the museum for us as soon as we popped our heads curiously around the door. ‘Please. Go.’, he said before pelting out off the entrance through which we had came as we made our way slowly up the steps towards what we understood to be an exhibition. The room was dark and random assortments of items belonging to different areas of interest lay cluttered around the floor below shelves of nik naks associated with camels, pottery and religion. Before no time at all, Mr Kharti appeared. “Welcome to the museum!” he said as he made mad dashes about the place, turning on light switches and fans. “You are the first visitors here in over a week!”… this was almost akin to what I had been hearing from rick-shaw drivers across Rajasthan for the past two weeks – “you are my first customer of the day” they would say, as if that would make a difference to the amount of money they would receive in addition to their fee. Mr Khatri however, had an element of honesty in his voice that clung to chipped and flaking walls around the museum. He then introduced himself formally, “My name is Laxmi N. Khatri”, he said, “and you are?”. We briefly introduced ourselves and he launched straight into an academic flow about the items that surrounded us. It was a fascinating journey; not only was Mr Kharti responsible for collecting each of these items and displaying them, he also paid for the rent of the building and the maintenance of the place out of his own pocket. “It is not cheap to keep this place going” he said in a sad tone, “but I feel like I have to. People come here and they want to learn about the Thar heritage and culture, and this is the only place where they can really do that”. I pressed him on this issue as there were several museums in town that offered information and exhibitions on desert culture. “Yes, that is very true” he said, “but they are all funded by the government and therefore only exhibit things about the social elite. They do not show anything about the real lives of the working people of Jaisalmer and the Thar desert people”. He proceed to explain in great detail a whole host of items used for cooking and calculating measurements. As if this were not interesting enough, he then led the way back down the stairs we had come up and into a smaller room where he had two small exhibits; the first was called ‘Opium Party’, which comprised of a series of items arranged in such a way that shed light on how the desert men spent their evenings chasing the dragon, and, ‘The Office’, which was one of the most intriguing displays I have ever seen at any museum, ever. It consisted of a seating area and a desk, surrounded by hand written volumes documenting transactions between local business people and passing travellers from all over Asia. The exhibition also hosted scales, weights and gadgets all from the same period, which would most certainly be a fascinating for any economic historian interested in the region.

The sad thing about ‘The Office’ and every other part of the museum, was the state in which these items were in. Nothing seemed to be well kept or preserved, despite their cultural value and significance, instead they lay in piles around the floor. This was the best that Mr Kharti could do when taking his finances into account, even though he had received honours from Indian state officials and academics in the past, his museum severely lacks the funding and attention it needs. The majority of the tourists that come through Jaisalmer are part of large organised groups, that do not go to the Thar Heritage museum because of its run down state and lac of prestige. The objects and items there are only really brought to life my Mr Khatri himself and he can not cater for more than small groups of about ten tourists at a time – though he is rarely graced with such numbers. We shot a few clips of Mr Kharti in action and I am trying to work with Mr Khatri in putting together a new website for the museum, though at the present time he is seemingly difficult to contact. If you find yourself anywhere near the Thar Desert in the future, I more than recommend paying the museum a visit – it is definitely a must.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thar Heritage Museum also viewed

Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer District
Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer District
 
Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer District
Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer District
 

Been to The Thar Heritage Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing