We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
145
47
10
3
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
47
10
3
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jaisalmer fort masala omelette rooftop restaurant great hosts golden sandstone second home overnight safari place to stay we've stayed two brothers checking out nice experience sand dunes desert haisam jain backpackers
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2009

I stayed for around a week in the Desert Haveli. We had planned to only spend a couple of nights but like it so much that we stayed longer. The Haveli has a friendly atmosphere. I has half a dozen rooms of varying standard and price, with one special room the Maharaja room. Our room was a cheaper one. It had lots of character, with the sand coloured stone - we called it our tandoori oven for how it looked (though it was perfectly cool at night and had a fan).The haveli has a lovely roof top terrace with a view looking down from the fort. Aladin has a little kitchen and serves food on the roof. The food is, without a doubt, the best I had in India. His Rajasthani Thali is wonderful and includes his special Ker Sangri which is peculiar to this region and is delicious. Moon, Aladin and Abdul are friendly and helpful and a lot of fun. They will make sure you are well looked after and are very kind. Moon can organise a camel safari for you and will hold your luggage while you are away. As with anything it is worth comparing prices before you go and worth making sure you know who else will be going with you. I had the best time staying at the Desert Haveli and have recommended it to many friends and fellow travels. I recommend it to anyone going to Jaisalmer.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChocolateCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I stayed in this famous guest house which is 450 years old haveli, constructed with pre-casted ,pre-fabricated and rich-carved golden yellow stone, experience the musty historic appeal that oozes out of the ethnic haveli walls during your stay at this jaisalmer traditional guest house, simple and classic guest house offers you a taste of real golden jaisalmer , each lovely beautiful room built with thought full of appointments and comfort.
Originality of haveli has been kept intact with original walls pillars arches design and carving ,every point of the building and the rooms of this haveli reflects the quite ethnic class that is so integral to rustic jaisalmer, fitted with all the contemporary amenities such as modern baths,running hot and cold water. Ideally located in the famous Jaisalmer fort of India on the fortress(boundary walls) it self,so its roof top ,room windows and balconies provide spectacular views of acclaimed Gadisar Lake,sun rise, sun set, jain temples, palace,town side, cross-country , , . Well disciplined friendly staff is serving tourists with good hospitality so almost all guests have appreciated through many guide books like lonely planet... they have long experience of managing safe,comfortable and memorable jeeptours/ camel safri/camp with rajasthani celebrated folk music and dances around a camp fire on starlit evenings at the sand dunes deep in to the desert through their expert camels and own camel men, they charge very reasonable price and provide food,water, breakfast etc very much delicious hygienic and ample in quantity as well as good beds/blankets to keep you warm in the nights.. They have a good/beautiful roof top restaurant which provides good indian all types of good food hygienic and tasty . ifelt as some tourists wrote... ,(,,every one who comes to this guest house says he is visiting his own home it self not the hotel) owner mr sumit who is very much religious man let me know that,in many hand books guide books these types of comments have been given by tourists without any hesitation ,as well as by author him self as lonely planet guide book has narrated* this is laid back place in a lovely reputedly haunted old haveli**.. it is their motto to give pleasure/satisfaction to guests .as they treat guests,( as indian culture says) /// guest is god.///.. i will be here again in short time to experience the internal emotional peace etc....

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank veersane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbohra1954, Owner at Desert Haveli Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

we feel good that you liked our guest house,some points raised by you have been now rectified,,,we thank you for y our kind feed back thus we improved accordingly
with regards and love
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ggp321, Owner at Desert Haveli Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews