We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$ 31
eDreamsUS$ 31
TripadvisorUS$ 31
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
193
48
10
3
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
193
48
10
3
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews haveli experience the owner rooftop restaurant excellent place place to stay located inside the fort visit jaisalmer a wonderful stay jeep safari desert mr temple jain comfort khan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2009

I stayed for around a week in the Desert Haveli. We had planned to only spend a couple of nights but like it so much that we stayed longer. The Haveli has a friendly atmosphere. I has half a dozen rooms of varying standard and price, with one special room the Maharaja room. Our room was a cheaper one. It had lots of character, with the sand coloured stone - we called it our tandoori oven for how it looked (though it was perfectly cool at night and had a fan).The haveli has a lovely roof top terrace with a view looking down from the fort. Aladin has a little kitchen and serves food on the roof. The food is, without a doubt, the best I had in India. His Rajasthani Thali is wonderful and includes his special Ker Sangri which is peculiar to this region and is delicious. Moon, Aladin and Abdul are friendly and helpful and a lot of fun. They will make sure you are well looked after and are very kind. Moon can organise a camel safari for you and will hold your luggage while you are away. As with anything it is worth comparing prices before you go and worth making sure you know who else will be going with you. I had the best time staying at the Desert Haveli and have recommended it to many friends and fellow travels. I recommend it to anyone going to Jaisalmer.

Date of stay: November 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChocolateCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

I stayed in this famous guest house which is 450 years old haveli, constructed with pre-casted ,pre-fabricated and rich-carved golden yellow stone, experience the musty historic appeal that oozes out of the ethnic haveli walls during your stay at this jaisalmer traditional guest house, simple and classic guest house offers you a taste of real golden jaisalmer , each lovely beautiful room built with thought full of appointments and comfort.
Originality of haveli has been kept intact with original walls pillars arches design and carving ,every point of the building and the rooms of this haveli reflects the quite ethnic class that is so integral to rustic jaisalmer, fitted with all the contemporary amenities such as modern baths,running hot and cold water. Ideally located in the famous Jaisalmer fort of India on the fortress(boundary walls) it self,so its roof top ,room windows and balconies provide spectacular views of acclaimed Gadisar Lake,sun rise, sun set, jain temples, palace,town side, cross-country , , . Well disciplined friendly staff is serving tourists with good hospitality so almost all guests have appreciated through many guide books like lonely planet... they have long experience of managing safe,comfortable and memorable jeeptours/ camel safri/camp with rajasthani celebrated folk music and dances around a camp fire on starlit evenings at the sand dunes deep in to the desert through their expert camels and own camel men, they charge very reasonable price and provide food,water, breakfast etc very much delicious hygienic and ample in quantity as well as good beds/blankets to keep you warm in the nights.. They have a good/beautiful roof top restaurant which provides good indian all types of good food hygienic and tasty . ifelt as some tourists wrote... ,(,,every one who comes to this guest house says he is visiting his own home it self not the hotel) owner mr sumit who is very much religious man let me know that,in many hand books guide books these types of comments have been given by tourists without any hesitation ,as well as by author him self as lonely planet guide book has narrated* this is laid back place in a lovely reputedly haunted old haveli**.. it is their motto to give pleasure/satisfaction to guests .as they treat guests,( as indian culture says) /// guest is god.///.. i will be here again in short time to experience the internal emotional peace etc....

Date of stay: January 2008
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank veersane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbohra1954, Owner at Desert Haveli Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

we feel good that you liked our guest house,some points raised by you have been now rectified,,,we thank you for y our kind feed back thus we improved accordingly
with regards and love
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews