We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Haveli Guest House
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rip off!”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

No. 1 low value rip off on our India vacation 2011

Ever since my first visit to Jaisalmer have I wanted to stay at one of the old haveli houses in the fort - even when Lonely Planet advises not to stay at a hotel in the fort...

When my wife and I planned our trip to India last year did we choose to book the Desert Haveli in the fort in advance. This was the first mistake as the online price for the rooms are twice of the ordinary price (you can see when you arrive to the Desert Haveli). Even though the price isn't high do you feel slightly stupid when you find out that you have been ripped-off.

Our second mistake was to choose the most expensive room at the Desert Haveli. At arrival was the room not cleaned at all. Towels and linen were dirty, and smelled of "old sultan". The electrical installations in the room were horrific, dangerous and made with no respect to a 400 year old building. Electrical outlets right next to the shover, a/c in the room instead of renovating window shutters for natural ventilation.

Third mistake was to eat at the Desert Haveli. If you want a "Deli-belly" then eat at the Desert Haveli. It definitely is not the hotbed of hygiene...

I love Jaisalmer - but will never return to, and cannot recommend the Desert Haveli at all. In other words - don't go there!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    46
    9
    3
    17
See reviews for
32
60
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This Guesthouse has only a few rooms but are maintained in their original Haveli style and decorated beautifully. The roof-top restaurant I have reported on previously, but this year I decided to take a Desert Haveli Camel Safari. I have spent a lot of time in the roof top restaurant of the Guesthouse, and consequently have met and spoken with a number of guests who had already experienced a Desert Haveli Camel Safari, so going on their positive feedback over many years, I decided to take the plunge and arranged with Munna to go on a 2 day ‘non-touristic’ Camel Safari with 5 other hotel guests (an English couple, and three Canadian girls).

Munna patiently explained the whole trip in detail and even agreed to make arrangements for my specific dietary requirements without fuss, and at no extra cost. On the morning of the day we were to take off, one of the Canadian girls fell ill and despite the protestation of her friends, insisted on coming along, even though Munna said he would refund her in full if she pulled out (even at the last minute).

For the first day (afternoon) the girl seemed to come good but had deteriorated sufficiently by next morning to be of some concern. By this time we were some distance from Jaisalmer and in the middle of nowhere (the non-touristic route), but when the Canadian girls became distressed for their friend, Munna made a call on his mobile and as if by magic a jeep appeared across the dunes within minutes.

This guy, who has been operating the Desert Haveli Camel Safaris for years, had both the experience and foresight to have his jeep shadow the safari at a discreet distance for just such an eventuality. The young girl was in Jaisalmer Private Hospital and recovering within the hour, and was able to rejoin her travelling companions at the Guesthouse the following day. Munna also insisted she take a full refund for the trip she couldn’t complete.

I had worked in remote desert areas of Australia for 10 years and have some experience with travelling under these conditions, so I was interested to see how Munna and his crew operated with regard to Health and Safety aspects of their business. And I wasn’t disappointed, the health, safety and comfort of their guests was a high priority. But on top of that, the pace of the safari was good, the places visited interesting, the food was fresh and well cooked, the beer was cold and the cameleers sang beautifully around a well stoked fire (well after I’d had couple of Kingfishers, even the camels probably would have sounded good).

This is only the second Camel Safari I’ve embarked on it 10 years of visiting Jaisalmer, but it was a wonderful experience, and competitively priced in a crowded market. I’d highly recommend Munna and his crew for anyone contemplating one of Jaisalmers’ must do activities.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianP660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finse
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2012

So the rooms are alright even there's no water sometimes but the manager's is the pick of cowdung in India!!
They where nice in the beginning and all acting normal more or less, they promise this and promise that and there's nothing becoming true except they want you to pay for it!!
Useless in all ways!!
There's really nothing good to say so just stay somewhere else!!

Room Tip: one of the other hotels!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omshivyogi, Manager at Desert Haveli Guest House, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
respected sir, thank you for your kind guidance , I have learnt many points from your feed back, I have improved them and by the grace of God I have the results,,thanks a lot
with regards
and good wishes
dushyant
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

When we went there, we liked the rooms and the view. The manager talked politely and we even booked a desert safari with them. But later our problems just went on increasing. We went in january & there was no water at first leave alone hot water. Hot water was provided to us in buckets, but we had to wait ages for it and ended up wasting a lot of time in the morning just to take a bath. Later we found that he had charged us double the amount for the safari than what he had offered other guests in the same hotel. When we confronted him about this, he was very rude to us. We cancelled our safari and checked out. Stayed at Sidhartha Hotel the next day and found it much better. Never would i recommend anybody to go here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omshivyogi, Owner at Desert Haveli Guest House, responded to this review, 29 November 2015
our respected guest shri aman could not be satisfied with my services provided by my staff ,, I notted the problems and points raised by respected guest and I continuesly in the path of improving ,,, result is good so that good reviews are being published now ,,, I am thankful for my welwisher guests who put me to improve ment side ,,
with thanks, regards, good wishes and unconditional love
owner with support of staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had been to this place for almost 3 days in Jan 2012. Munna the manager was very polite and convincing at start. And promises a lot of thing but doesn't fulfill even one. Since its winter the water was very very cold in the whole stay we didn't get hot water at all as Munna promised. Also Its the cleanliness is below average. The flush didn't work; wash basin choked up all the time and the toilets were dirty. The food is also average and they take lot of time to serve sometimes almost a hour.
Plus Munna kept pushing us for desert safari package. A jeep was booked for 5 of us and he forcefully got 2 other people in it which was very very inconvenient. He promised us luxury tents and took us to some terrible place and when we refused to stay in he managed to book some other tents where the food and service was below average. Plus he took some extra money from us saying that it was expensive and later in our stay he became so hostile that we literally decided to move out of his hotel.
It was a aweful experience and I strongly recommend not to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shitole_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omshivyogi, Owner at Desert Haveli Guest House, responded to this review, 10 December 2015
respected madam, sorry very sorry for inconvenience felt by you in my guest house,but I am very lucky that I got your feed back correspondingly I got opportunity to check the short falls in my guest house,,,Now I have changed all the things and results are there ,, thank you very much again.
with regards and good wishes
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
Hotel Lalgarh Fort & Palace
#36 of 104 in Jaisalmer
217 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 104 in Jaisalmer
768 reviews
0.5 km away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 104 in Jaisalmer
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Golden House
The Golden House
#22 of 104 in Jaisalmer
139 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 104 in Jaisalmer
1,050 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
Hotel Garh Jaisal Haveli
#8 of 104 in Jaisalmer
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Haveli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Haveli Guest House

Property: Desert Haveli Guest House
Address: | In the national monument, The Golden Fort of Jaisalmer, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Jaisalmer
Price range (per night): ₹ 839 - ₹ 1,420
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Haveli Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All time amazing opportunity to stay in the national monument/museum that is golden fort of Jaisalmer(main attraction of the Jaisalmer) ,specially for history-art loving tourists. This Fairy land building situated on south side of the rampart of the fort claimed to be more than 450 years old. It belongs to a divisional magistrate of state time from there and the current owner himself is the successor . The guest house has fabulous rooms and the building has been kept intact with original golden stone walls and full of characters acclaimed design. Its unique atmosphere makes it a great place to stay. The staff are all friendly and the roof-top restaurant provides not only good food but also acclaimed sweeping views of Jaisalmer's main attractions. The guest house provides access to other services including booking of bus and rail tickets. They have a long experience of desert(CAMEL) safaris and can do memorable-adventurous tours from one day to a week and beyond. many guide books and web sites have recommended very much highly for wonderful experiences - they have their own camel drivers who are experienced with tourists. Staying in the Desert Haveli is a relaxing experience for all age groups and offers a quiet heaven. This description is based on information provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Desert Haveli Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaisalmer Desert Haveli Guest House Hotel Jaisalmer
Desert Haveli Guest House Jaisalmer, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing