We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thats a joke”
Review of Samrat Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jaisalmer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Samrat Hotel
Ranked #100 of 107 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Thats a joke”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I got picked up in the bus when traveling to Jaisalmer.
He, the Boss, showed me a flyer with the rooms and the cheap prices. 50-150 Rupees. The flyer speaks about WiFi too which you wont find.
The rooms are dirty, smelly and cockroaches are singing at night out of the bathroom. The Hotel is based on 'fishing' for travelers who come without any hotel reservation and forcing them to buy activities like the camel safari. That's when the hotel starts making lots of money, because they sell it for 3000 Rupees (1 night in desert) while other hotels would sell it for around 1000. Its a family run hotel and the Boss, i think his name was Sarim, was just ridiculous. I have never seen anyone showing a bad conscience by his facial expression just while saying 'Welcome to the hotel'. I saw him having arguments with many hotel guests and also me, most of the times it was about money and camel safari. He is a cheater. The restaurant, I have never seen anyone eating in it, is run by a young boy, actually all of the employees are small boys, or better small slaves of Sarim. You wont be able to sleep longer than 6AM because you hear the staff clearing their mouth of flem as soon as they are up. They are only friendly when they see a chance to get your money, if not they are rude. Definitely avoid! These people don't deserve any business success. No one would go there twice.
But the saddest of all is that they will change their name and continue the same way as before but without any bad online rating :(

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelManu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    0
    0
    27
See reviews for
3
3
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Traunstein
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We came very tired from our train trip from Delhi to Jaisalmer.
And we made the mistake, like so many other people, that we made the contract for the Camelsafari the first day, when we arrived.
The ohter bad thing was that we had to wait for other traverlers to get the Safari.
And alone, only with the Camelguys is a little boring.
The Safari was really good, but we paid three times more a day.
If we had known that before we would have made the tour by mister Dessert. Him you can trust. I heard from many other traverlers.
Be careful the look for custermers in the train and at the busstation.
Wolfgang and Waltraud Jan 2010.
We had amazing three month in india
And the best was the very high Euro, we got 67 in the bginning.

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
Thank indienfan081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaisalmer hotels

Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2009

When arriving in Jaisalmer a tout for this hotel gets on the bus and tries to steal other hotels guests. We managed to escape his clutches but only after seeing the vile dirty rooms and had a long lecture on his bog standard, no compromise and overpriced camel safaris. We escaped and managed to get to our preferred option of the lovely Desert Moon hotel recommended by the lonely planet. It is lovely there. We had a specialised overnight camel safari, reasonably priced, but who should crop up but said manager. He somehow thought we owed him a safari and started calling us terrible names in full view of the entire camp. Funnily his three guests told us what a terrible safari they had had and we were satisfied we had not given them any of our money. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Do not stay at this hotel. It's dirty, the staff are unfriendly, the food is overpriced and borderline inedible, and the pressure to take a camel safari is ridiculous.

I was actually kicked out(!) when I refused point-blank to take a safari. This is an atrocious way to treat customers and I strongly urge you not to give them a single paise.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Being ejected for not taking a camel safari!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elcapitan510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
13.5 km away
Suryagarh
Suryagarh
#7 of 107 in Jaisalmer
1,184 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 107 in Jaisalmer
774 reviews
0.4 km away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 107 in Jaisalmer
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#2 of 107 in Jaisalmer
529 reviews
0.1 km away
1st Gate Home- Fusion
1st Gate Home- Fusion
#4 of 107 in Jaisalmer
401 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#14 of 107 in Jaisalmer
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samrat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samrat Hotel

Property: Samrat Hotel
Address: Old City, Center Market, Jaisalmer, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 107 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,176 - ₹ 5,204
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Samrat Hotel Jaisalmer, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing