We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, good rooftop restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royale Jaisalmer
Ranked #19 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, good rooftop restaurant”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The rooms are quite large and there is hot water (although you have to turn on the switch about 5 minutes before you want the water) in the shower. Outside there's a nice pool and upstairs there is a rooftop restaurant which serves good food (not bland like many other hotels catering for tourists) at a fairly reasonable price.

The hotel is outside the fort but very close, an easy walk and they give you a local map. I went on the hotel's camel trek for one night and really enjoyed it, I met some great people also taking part and the trek itself was in a part of the desert which was not crowded. You really felt like it was peaceful. You had the option to sleep out in the desert or in a 'hut' near toilets etc, I chose the former and although basic it was great to sleep under the stars. You also got water, dinner, breakfast and lots of blankets. Coming back to the hotel after the trek we were given a room to shower/refresh in for a couple of hours before getting a train at no extra cost.

One negative the wifi is not free (100 rupees for 24 hours) and a bit inconsistent.

Room Tip: I think maybe the downstairs rooms are a little noisier with people coming and going in the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ask000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    163
    66
    34
    13
See reviews for
84
192
88
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

rooms are painted in bright strong colours, decorations are beautiful, small details made us feel like at home. cosy bed, quiet place, very nice staff. even from outside it is lovely. any walk towards the fort can start here and is realy near. the top terrace restaurant is not only moderately priced, but food is realy good and is is lovely to sit on concrete benches-beds with pillows...and eat...and watch the fort and all that sand coloured suroundings.....and above all is the owner Harish, a warm and sincere man, who sure loves what he does and that shows on every step. we even got a birthday cake from his shop as a present...never happened to us before...well, not in India....thanks for lovely experience, sure regret we could not stay longer...if again in Jaisalmer, for sure in Royale <3

Room Tip: from what I saw I actualy liked all rooms...all seem to be similarly decoarted and a hotel is in a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mojca555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The hotel is a nice place to spend an evening.. the food is good offer great variety... rooms are clean and service provided is also good. The best part of the hotel is the area near the pool side and the roof top restaurant.. Over all a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shruti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I loved Jaisalmer, and I liked this hotel. I had a decent size room, with 2 beds in it, and the bathroom was ok too. Our room had a lovely window, and looked out over the pool.

The rooftop terrace is beautiful, and they have lovely food.

The swimming pool is also very nice. There are some desert cottages right by the poolside, very cute.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This could be a very good hotel if the management could get organized. The room was comfortable but nondescript. When I needed something specific the service was very good. (They had their tailor fix my torn pack at no charge, they got us a ride to the bus station, etc.) The restaurant is just adequate. Wifi was not working when we visited. Overall not good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N0dell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Shahi Palace
Hotel Shahi Palace
#13 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.4 km away
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
Mystic Jaisalmer Hotel
#11 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.7 km away
The Gulaal
The Gulaal
#1 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hotel Rang Mahal
Hotel Rang Mahal
#22 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Golden Haveli
Hotel Golden Haveli
#87 of 105 in Jaisalmer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 105 in Jaisalmer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royale Jaisalmer? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Jaisalmer

Property: The Royale Jaisalmer
Address: Dhibba Para | opposite Gorakh Haveli Hotel, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 105 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price range (per night): ₹ 843 - ₹ 5,125
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royale Jaisalmer 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royale Jaisalmer is run by a family - Mr. Harish Sharma and his wife, Arrti Sharma. We make our guests feel that they are staying at their home and not a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royale Jaisalmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Jaisalmer Hotel Jaisalmer
The Royale Hotel Jaisalmer
The Royale Jaisalmer Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing