We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fabulous hidden gem!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vinayak Guest House
Ranked #2 of 50 Bikaner B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What a fabulous hidden gem!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

What a fabulous stay! If you are after an insight into family life with no frills and are happy with clean rooms, quirky plumbing and good home cooking this is the place for you. We were greeted so warmly by the family who invited us into their home for tea and snacks. After a tiring and stressful journey this was a welcomed surprise.

After hanging out with other travellers in the guesthouse we decided to take one of their camel safaris as Jitsu is a zoologist and offered more than just a camel ride. He took just the two of us out and showed us the nature and wildlife in the area and we really had the feeling we were off the beaten track. What made the trip more special was that Jitsu supports the local villages who provide the camels and the tours, so we know our money was also being reinvested back into a village.

The camel tour guide took care of us from start to finish, two women in the desert with a guide sounds daunting but we felt safe and the element of adventure was magical.

Jitsu, his family and the camel safari team really added to our incredible experience of India. If you do not expect hair dryers, room service etc this place is for you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    37
    8
    8
    8
See reviews for
17
71
48
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The guest house/safari scene in Bikaner is a competitive one, but we feel we made the right choice! We stayed in the Vinayak guest house with our family (3 teenage boys) in August 2011. We were only looking for a stopover between Amritsar and Udaipur, but we ended up staying three nights and it turned into one of the highlights of our six-week holiday! Jitu is a perfect host, a thoroughly decent and very humble person, and first class company. We went with him to the rat temple, camel farm and a half-day car safari (all very inexpensive and no pressure at all), where his knowledge and expertise gave fascinating insights into the village life, flora, fauna and birdlife of the region - an absolute must if you are travelling with children. Jitu is an excellent organiser who sorted us out in-between trips with him with rickshaw tours of Bikaner (including the house of the man in the Guinness Book of Records for the world's longest moustache - great photo opportunity and another children's must!) and with our onward journey. Another real plus is that you do feel you are in a family home - Jitu's parents, wife and children are all great fun, and very open and informative as well. They are an academic family, so conversations are intelligent. They are happy to answer all manner of questions, which helps you get under the skin of India and again was educational for our children. It must not go unmentioned that they were all very attentive to our needs and Jitu's mother's cooking was another highlight of the stay! It is true that the rooms are basic but certainly comfortable enough, we and our boys were very happy with our two rooms which are, after all, inexpensive anyway. The garden is a pleasant place to sit and, all in all, the Vinayak itself is a small, simple but decent place to relax, given all the activities it has to offer. After six weeks in India this was one place that we still talk about the most, so if travel gives you memories, the Vinayak has certainly done that and we are very grateful to Jitu and his family for a genuinely memorable time. We would recommend him wholeheartedly and unreservedly to anyone - couples and singles (including a female student there for some time) there with us were equally praising. We would urge an intelligent awareness as to where the strangely negative reviews may have come from!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adrian540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and were most impressed by the warm welcome. We were invited to share in a festival breakfast with the family (cute kids). The host Jitu is full of information and helpful advice. The camel safari was good, well organised and the visit to the traditional village a highlight.
Only negatives - mattresses in one of the rooms we stayed in was too hard to sleep properly. Communicating with the staff and rest of family (except Jitu) was sometimes difficult and lead to some misunderstandings. All showers unheated water which was ok when we were there in October.

Room Tip: Test mattresses first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Jitu and his familly are very nice people who will host you with a lovely smile! Jitu (the owner) will show you what to do around (rats temple, camel safari etc.). He is a very good zoologist so if you want to know more about birds of Rajasthan, he is your guide!
Very good place to stay and discover Indian hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sylvain c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Basic, but comfortable hostel with a nice communal garden where you will have an opportunity to catch up with fellow travellers and exchange ideas. The owner, Jitu, is a knowledgeable zoologist who likes to share his expertise with anyone who shows an interest. When we visited a nearby bird sanctuary and nature reserve, his knowledge and experience really helped to make the most of that trip. We just saw and understood more because of Jitu's explanations.

We also went out on a camel trip for a day and a night. Though very basic -and actually quite monotonous-, the trip was well organised and took us to smaller villages. The claim that it would be a place 'untouched by tourism' did not quite hold up, but guess with the barrage of visitors flooding Rajasthan, that is almost unavoidable.

All in all, a decent enough place to explore the Bikaner area from with Jitu as a good guide.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VeraTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bikaner hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
#4 of 36 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
2.2 km away
Shri Ram Heritage
Shri Ram Heritage
#7 of 36 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.9 km away
The Laxmi Niwas Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
Hotel Bhairon Vilas
#10 of 36 in Bikaner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.5 km away
Tanisha Heritage Haweli
Tanisha Heritage Haweli
#1 of 50 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.8 km away
Vino Guest House
Vino Guest House
#4 of 50 in Bikaner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinayak Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinayak Guest House

Property: Vinayak Guest House
Address: near Junagarh Fort, Bikaner 334001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bikaner
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Bikaner
Price range (per night): ₹ 840 - ₹ 1,099
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vinayak guest house is a peaceful guest house in Bikaner. It is located near Junargarh Fort in a quiet street. It provides rooms for all kind of travelers. There is a restaurant serving Indian and continental food. The management also organizes several tours in the Thar desert (ranging from jeep/camel safaris to village tours). Pick up from the bus station or train station can easily be arranged. Come and visit us and relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Vinayak Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vinayak Guest House Hotel Bikaner
Vinayak Guest House Bikaner, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing