We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A mansion to ourselves.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karni Bhawan Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Karni Bhawan Palace
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Bikaner
london
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A mansion to ourselves.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here for one night. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told that we had been upgraded to a suite room. The suite room consisted of a huge bedroom, a dressing room which then lead onto a separate bathroom.

We decided to have dinner here and on walking around the deserted mansion found out that we were the only ones staying there, for this reason we had amazing service by the staff who were very attentive to our needs.

Having dinner and breakfast there on our own made me get a glimpse of what it must have been like to be the maharajah and maharani of a palace. I could defintately get used to that kind of living. The hotel is slightly out of the way and in that sense, you can hear absolutely nothing around you. One of the stand out features is the building and the furniture are of the art deco era and have not been updated but this is part of its charm.

The dinner was very good. We realised later that this was first of 3 hotels of the same chain that we stayed in but by far the food at this hotel was the best.

The staff were lovely and gave us a nice send off!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fatface99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Karni Bhawan Palace, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear fatface99,

Greetings from the Karni Bhawan Palace, Bikaner.

We are happy to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and liked our courteous and professional staff.

Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback.
We do look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable historical journey at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
23
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Staff were very helpful and proved good service. They kindly upgraded us to a suite which was a nice surprise. The room was very spacious with a large dressing room and ensuite.

Unfortunately the hotel is not up to the standard the website suggests. the ground are not well cared for and it needs refurbishment. Ok for the night but not a luxury palace by any means.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnafurst18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Karni Bhawan Palace, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Donnafurst18,

Greetings from the Karni Bhawan Palace, Bikaner.

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We thank you for the time you took to share your experience with us and thank you for appreciating our services and staff, we have noted your comment regarding refurbishment in the hotel and we are in process of attending to the same.

We do look forward to welcoming you back and creating a memorable historical journey at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Team HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very art deco with old styled furnishings.
We only stayed one night with a group and only had breakfast here which was very good.
We stayed in the outside rooms. I believe the rooms in the hotel were huge but didn't get a chance to view any. Our rooms were small but we had two separate bedrooms.
The hotel was clean and staff were very professional.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Karni Bhawan Palace, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Holidaytime40,

Greetings from the Karni Bhawan Palace, Bikaner.

We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and liked our courteous and professional staff.

Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback.
We do look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable historical journey at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed here for just one night as part of a group tour. The architecture and interiors are wonderfully retro, like you stepped back into the 1930´s. Personally I loved the character of the place, most rooms were HUGE and had art deco style furnishings, comfortable beds with starched sheets. Bathroom was also a touch on the retro side but had lovely ayurvedic toiletries and hot water and clean white towels. Food and service were excellent, staff and management couldn´t do enough for us. We ordered room service for some chai and it came beautifully served on a tea tray with little biscuits. We felt like we were in "Upstairs Downstairs". If you´re looking for something close to the thick of things, with power showers and modern interiors this isn´t for you. But if you´re looking for something different, you want peace, a good nights rest, and you appreciate character, class and a whiff of the Raj, I recommend Karni Bhawan.

Room Tip: All rooms are different, as this used to be the Governors private residence, if possible ask to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adieuwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Karni Bhawan Palace, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Adieuwa,

Greetings from the Karni Bhawan Palace, Bikaner.

We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed your time at our historic Palace. Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback. With our aim to protect, promote and restore our rich historic cultural heritage, this goes a long way in ensuring us that we are on the right path.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable historical journey at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Lets be honest, this is not a five star resort and the facilities aren't state of the art. But that doesn't change the fact that the property is pleasing to the eye, the rooms spacious, pretty and clean and, most of all, the staff members always aim to please and make you feel special.

Anything you might ask for is conjured up for you. Eg. I just enquired if the hotel provides slippers in the room. They don't but just because I asked, they arranged for two slippers, washed them thoroughly and literally placed them at our feet even as we kept protesting that it wasn't important. This happened with whatever we may enquire about.

The manager was so helpful that even after we checked out of this hotel, he didn't stop helping us. When we reached, our next destination, Jaisalmer, only to realise we'd been fooled and the hotel we'd booked was not up to the mark, something about the Managers attitude at Karni Bhawan made me call him up to ask for recommendations for Hotels at Jaisalmer. "Bingo" he actually arranged a booking for us using his contacts(one day before New Years eve!!) at a very nice place (with a discount!!)

Lovely experience :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachShweta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Karni Bhawan Palace, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear CoachShweta,

Greetings from the Karni Bhawan Palace, Bikaner.

We are indeed very pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed your time at our historic Palace. Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback. With our aim to protect, promote and restore our rich historic cultural heritage, this goes a long way in ensuring us that we are on the right path.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable historical journey at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bikaner
8.4 km away
Vesta Bikaner Palace
Vesta Bikaner Palace
#1 of 36 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.7 km away
The Laxmi Niwas Palace
The Laxmi Niwas Palace
#2 of 36 in Bikaner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.4 km away
Narendra Bhawan
Narendra Bhawan
#4 of 36 in Bikaner
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Lallgarh Palace
Lallgarh Palace
#7 of 36 in Bikaner
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
#3 of 36 in Bikaner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
30.1 km away
Gajner Palace Hotel
Gajner Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gajner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karni Bhawan Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karni Bhawan Palace

Property: Karni Bhawan Palace
Address: Gandhi Colony, Bikaner 343001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bikaner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Bikaner
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,436 - ₹ 6,923
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karni Bhawan Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Karni Bhawan Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karni Bhawan Palace Bikaner, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing