We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best joint we stayed at in Rajesthan”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bikaner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Vijay Guest House & Vista Rooms
Ranked #6 of 51 Bikaner B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed on Jan 11

This is a late one...The room was ground floor, garden side with hot water shower and outside sitting area. Vijay organized a pick-up from the train at 0600 for us, and also got us sorted with a trip to the rat temple at Deshnok and the camel farm. Try some of the camel milk, it's great, and there's a little samosa stand at the temple with decent sized and very tasty samosas for around 5rp. We also went on the 2 night trip to the village with Vijay and then out to his farm. Magic, and one of the highlights of the year we spent travelling. If you're reading this and you're debating whether to go, go. One night Vijay got some bhopas to play for us and about 2 weeks later they were playing to an audience of several thousand at the camel festival.

Vijay's Guest house is well priced for digs, though meals aren't included, and those on a tight budget may be surprised, though the food is tasty and abundant.

The only negative would be his wife. My partner and I, after staying for 5 nights, (including the farm trip), booked the same room for the up-coming camel festival. When we arrived we were shown a tent in the back garden which his wife tried to charge us the same price for as the room. I remonstrated quite forcefully with her, and wound up staying in one of the family rooms with a sympathetic American guy. She showed no shame nor care, and I found her to be galling and rude.

However, when Vijay found out, he didn't charge us for the room that night, and the next day we were sorted out with a proper room.

I can't speak highly enough of the guy, and if you're travelling in India, he's the most honourable man you'll meet.

Stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeMacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Vijay's and can really recommend it. The room was amazing value for money, and very spacious. Our room had enough room for a settee as well - it felt like a suite! The garden was a calm place to relax in after sightseeing. Don't miss the fort and the camel farm, and - if you can face it - the rat temple. Vijay organised a full day and a night in the desert, in tents, and it was the highlight of our trip. Supper under the stars, with a camp fire and the sunset - magic!

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room that is near to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abueladefrancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We arrived here in the middle of the night, about 1am, but Vijay very kindly organised a free pick-up for us from the train station. When we arrived, we were greeted by Vijay's son and were given, choice of 2 rooms that were left out of the 10. Both rooms were very spacious with areas and tables to spread out our luggage. At first impressions of this guest-house, I was a little bit unsure of it. The room looked shabby, with chipped furniture and stained carpet. The bedsheets also didn't seem totally clean but this was easily covered up with a few of our own blankets. I was also unsure of the food at first. The cutlery and plates were not all clean and there were toast crumbs in the butter and jam, and I started to worry about my stomach! After this experience at breakfast, I was apprehensive about having dinner here, but it was actually delicious. All the food is home-cooked and, for the best part, healthy. Most importantly, it tasted wonderful! None of the food is included in the price, and it was unclear how much we would be paying for it, as there were no price lists clearly displayed anywhere. Despite it's downfalls, there was generally a lovely atmosphere in the guest house. It's a great place to meet other travellers as they were mostly all there for the same purpose - the camel safari! Vijay and his wife and son also created a good atmosphere as they all seemed to really enjoy running the guesthouse and interacting with the guests.

The camel safari was fantastic. We had an entertaining guide that spoke pretty good english. They brough along plenty of water for everyone for a day and night in the desert - 3 litres are included in the price. The tents were clean and extra blankets could be given if needed. Another delicious dinner was provided, and a campfire and musicians made it a night to remember. Overall, very well organised and was a great experience. We have some very happy memories

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy_lou0201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We went to the Guest House because we were going on a camel safari with the Camel man. The Guest House is nothing special and the service even less. We were thirsty and asked for a cup of tea but were refused as the hostess was cooking but the meal would not be served until two hours later at 8.30 pm. There is no choice here and what you get is average. We did not know that breakfast was also at a set time until another guest arrived and got told off for being late and only got food served after a bit of complaining. This is no way to treat guests at all. The reason why we came was the Camel Safari. Now we understand that this is not really a desert that you go into but we walked two hours on the camels through local villages which is the most interesting part. They cooked lunch for us which was very nice and then we walked two hours more. That was the entire Camel walking that we had. I also did not expect full dressed up camels and guides but the guides were just dressed in normal trousers and shirts and spent more time on their mobiles. This is not the sort of atmosphere we expected. Not worth the money and disappointed after reading other revise on this.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Outside of Bikaner, rickshaw generally cost 50 rupees.

Was just like staying with a family rather than in a hotel which was good when there were lots of guests but when it was just us two it felt a bit weird.

Our first room was a good size but very basic and the shower wasn't very good....it cost 800 rupees. Second room was small with the thinnest mattress so we didn't sleep very well. The floor was filthy and covered in dust/dirt. No TV and the worst shower....but for 300 rupees what do you expect.

Breakfast was good if you had the omelette! 1st evening meal was a bit bland but the 2nd evening it was excellent.

Nice big garden.

The camel safari was excellant though.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bikaner hotels
4.1 km away
Hotel Harasar Haveli
Hotel Harasar Haveli
#7 of 36 in Bikaner
541 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
Hotel Jaswant Bhawan
#4 of 36 in Bikaner
281 reviews
3.0 km away
Shri Ram Heritage
Shri Ram Heritage
#6 of 36 in Bikaner
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Vesta Bikaner Palace
Vesta Bikaner Palace
#2 of 36 in Bikaner
405 reviews
6.6 km away
Vino Guest House
Vino Guest House
#4 of 51 in Bikaner
135 reviews
6.3 km away
Tanisha Heritage Haweli
Tanisha Heritage Haweli
#1 of 51 in Bikaner
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vijay Guest House & Vista Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vijay Guest House & Vista Rooms

Address: Jaipur Road | Opposite Sophia School, Bikaner 334005, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bikaner District > Bikaner
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bikaner
Price Range: ₹ 777 - ₹ 906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Vijay Guest House & Vista Rooms Bikaner, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing