We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Home Stay That is More Like A "Home".”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
116 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bhubaneswar, Khurda District, Odisha

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 116 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

BeerBaba
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Home Stay That is More Like A "Home".”
Reviewed 15 November 2021 for a stay in November 2021
1
person found this review helpful

Just came back from an intoxicating visit to Kila Dalijoda. This is a palace that belongs to my school senior by the name of Debjit Singh Deo.

He went on to convert his amazing Palace at the famous Dalijoda Hill Range at Odhisa, into one of the most beautiful home stays one can come across anywhere.

Since he himself is an artist, he has painstakingly redesigned the palace into one of the most comfortable and aptly designed homestays.

This place is just 1.2 hrs ride from the Bhubaneswar Airport and has now become one of the more famous properties in the Lonely Planet.

The best part is how the Singh Deo family ensures that you are cared for just as you would be at home.
From home grown fruits, vegetables, paddy straw mushrooms (they are to die for) to Milk and butter, all made at home.

The surroundings are the most serene that I have ever been to.

This place also falls on the million year old elephant migration route and you will see these majestic (a bit smaller than their counterpart in UP and UK) herds around late Dec, Jan and Feb months.

Nature trails, Tribal village tours, canoe boat sails in the nearby marshland for birding (this area has over 200 species of birds and Debjit Singh Deo knows them by their sound), angling, fishing, walkways for just loitering around without any fear or vehicular traffic, and absolutely mind blowing food, this place has it all.
Even the mighty hills are there for your explorations if you are into climbing.

This was the first time I had stayed there and while coming back I wanted to throw tantrums like a baby “I don’t want to go anywhere …. “. 

This place has history, stories, caring, serenity, nature and above all the warmth of a home and family members.

Next time I am going to stay a lot longer and come along with my trekking boots and my camera.

Date of stay: November 2021
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Nov 2021
Thank a ton Maneesh for such a detailed analysis of our homestay. It's much more than we expected. Hope to see you again with your better half in Jan.
Best wishes
Debjit n Namrata
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide0935...
Bhubaneswar, India
1 review
“Nature Cruise”
Reviewed 5 October 2021 for a stay in October 2021

Amazing place, green and serene, away form the hustle and bustle of a busy city life. Excellent hospitality and great food. Lots of activities- birding, angling, jungle trek and swimming.
Refreshing and rejuvenating experience
Must visit site for offbeat travelers

Date of stay: October 2021
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W1207AXha...
2 reviews
“A unique place off the beaten track.”
Reviewed 14 September 2021 for a stay in August 2021

I have spent almost five years travelling in India and yet had never been to Odisha - something I was happy to correct in August 2021.

Very happy that I did so. It's a fascinating place, distinct from any where else I have been and a chance to explore further.

Debjit's hospitality was key to that. He helped organise the day trip to puri and konark as well as local trips near KD - to tribes and backwaters - that I'd never have been able to see otherwise.

And of course the home is a fantastic, atmospheric place, affordable and comfortable with delicious food too.

I would very much recommend a stay here if you are looking for something interesting, special and different.

Thanks again Debjit!

Date of stay: August 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Sep 2021
Thanks a lot Harry for your words. It means a lot for a small homestay like us. It was a pleasure meeting and hosting you. Hope to meet you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
930sanjee...
Bhubaneswar, India
2 reviews
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 30 August 2021 for a stay in August 2021

Dalijoda Palace was a wonderful Experience. Such warmth and care shown by the host Debjit, Mrs Singhdeo and their daughter Sribidya is very very rare. We felt like a part of the family. The food was excellent homely and cooked under the personal supervision of Mrs Singhdeo. Treckking to a small Sabar hamlet with Debjit in the midst of a dense forest was too good. My 7 year daughter cried when we left the wonderful place. A nice experience of staying in a hunting Palace with this wonderful family.

Sanjeev Mahapatra

Date of stay: August 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Sep 2021
Thanks so much for your reviews. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family.
Hope to continue our new found friendship. Best wishes. Debjit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyer5704...
1 review
“Lovely hosts and amazing food”
Reviewed 27 August 2021 for a stay in August 2021

Due to the pandemic I was looking for a place that in itself is an attraction. Kila Dalijoda in every regard lived up to it. The warm host family is always there with advise or with a story - of which they got many. The history of the family is as unique as the history of the place. In the airy and huge guest rooms you feel like traveling back in time. The experience is topped off with daily varying freshly cooked Odia food with ingredients from their own farm.

Date of stay: August 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Aug 2021
Thank you Frank for your good words. Hope we meet again. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing