We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Good South Indian”

Vaishali Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 6,776 Restaurants in Pune
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap Good South Indian”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was an awesome find. We love South Indian, and while not an expert, I have had my share of Dosa's and uttapams in America, Nepal and India. We ate here a few times during our stay in Pune. Don't be scared by the lines. The 3 times we went to eat, we always were seated within 5-10minutes (or less). Limited menu, but good quality and FAST. You do NOT feel rushed eating. We were the only Caucasians at the restaurant all 3 times, a few people gave us curious looks, but all friendly.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    806
    756
    252
    45
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Cool place to hand out”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Lovely south indian snacks - idli dosa is amazing! you can try the filter coffee too, it is authentic - their sev puri dahi puri is famous too but I have eaten better versions of it elsewhere. The place is usually crowded so factor in waiting time. We love to visit this place for the lovely south indian dishes!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JPreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Central Place to Hang Out”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Situated in a crowdy place FC road. The south Indian menu is mouth watering especially the Sambar that they serve. They have small garden also towards their backyard. Garden is little bit crowdy but good place in off pick hours.

Helpful?
Thank AbhayRege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“All time favorite for south indian cuisine”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Vaishali Restaurant is a landmark in Pune. I have been going to this place for over couple of decades now. Food quality hasn't changed a bit in so many years. Polite and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank KshitijS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly thr BEST”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Vaishali is the best place to have south Indian food.. The mysore masala dosa in vaishali cannot be compared to any other place's . All the south Indian dishes served here are very nice and tasty, the accompanying filter coffee adds more to it .. the simple yet enchanting ambience, good anf fassst servvice, happening location, yummy food make vaishali the most lovable place in PUNE. .

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DevaleRicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vaishali Restaurant also viewed

Pune, Pune District
Pune, Pune District
 
Pune, Pune District
 
Pune, Pune District
Pune, Pune District
 

Been to Vaishali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing