We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of body experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fish Curry Rice

Fish Curry Rice
Ranked #285 of 6,730 Restaurants in Pune
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Pune, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Out of body experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Fish Curry Rice in Narayan Peth Pune - is an unlikely place for people to visit. if you are from Pune, then you would never look forward to visiting Narayan Peth as an option for good food. But this restaurant has changed that map. It has one of the most amazing fish I have ever had. The host Sandesh is absolutely charming and helpful in selecting the days best dishes. He even threw in a tonne of samples from other dishes - to ensure that we came back for them. And we did, and still do!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitabhKhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    59
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“small but warm ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

A great place to dine if you love fish we as a family were there for lunch and soon there after a week later for dinner.
food was outstandingly different from regular restaurants as it was pure local reciepies.
worth a visit as often as you want to eat fish Reasonably priced.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cyrusshroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

After reading reviews about “Fish Curry and Rice” on tripadvisor we were waiting for a chance to visit this restaurant.

So finally the day came, as we were in that area we decided to visit FCR(Fish Curry and Rice) for lunch.
With help of Google maps we thought it will be easy to locate FCR, but we were wrong. Thanks to some fool who marked FCR at completely wrong location we lost hope to find this place. Finally we called FCR and asked for directions. The person on other side of phone was very helpful and guided us to the real location. We were lucky to get a table when we walked in.

We opted for their fish Thali which has Fried Fish , fish curry, prawn curry, unlimited Bhakri or Chapati and Rice. What a wonderful treat. Fish was fresh and nicely fried. Curries were delicious so were the rice bhakris.

One of us decided not to opt for a thali and decided to share some fish from one of the thali. And the staff was very helpful. They didn’t make any fuss about it.

This was overall wonderful meal at reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MANOJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tops in quality, taste, freshenss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

If you like steamed fish, head to Fish Curry Rice in the heart of the city....in Narayan Peth. Must -haves, that top the list are...Murdussa batter fry, bombil (bombay duck) masala, rawas fry, steamed pomfret with green chutney, steamed rice with malwani prawn curry, jeera vatee (it is a cumin-flavoured coconut milk digestive drink sauteed with curry leaves), solkadi (again a coconut milk based appetizer), spicy red coconut chutney, fresh cauliflower pickle.

Even the vegetarian thali and egg thali are excellent in taste.

The desserts too are good - custard apple basundi (pudding) with saffron and pistachio nuts is light and falvoury and so is the bottle gourd kheer (pudding).

The place is slightly small and can seem congested at times. I would have liked the seating area to be a little more spread out. But it is hygienic and service is fast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RekhaSKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic malwani place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I happened to come across this place through Times City food guide. Went there with not so great expectations. Place is small and typical thali place setting. Food is fabulous and seafood is quite fresh. Ample choice of fried fish and curries. Chicken and mutton also is on the menu. When I get a chance to sample seafood; I wouldn't look anywhere else :-) definitely would recommend for all seafood lovers. Prices are way below other restaurants like Nisarg/ Mahesh Lunch home etc.

Helpful?
Thank Anirudha_Ambekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Curry Rice also viewed

 
Pune, Maharashtra
Pune, Maharashtra
 
Pune, Maharashtra
Pune, Maharashtra
 

Been to Fish Curry Rice? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing