We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At the epicenter of activity but service still needs to get into shape!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Pune
Ranked #3 of 221 Hotels in Pune
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
196 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“At the epicenter of activity but service still needs to get into shape!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

I guess I was in the hotel on the wrong day - when the IPL Teams were staying there and that too the home team from the city. There was a bee hive of activity - but, the staff paid scant attention to the rest of the guests - specially the corporate clientele.

The rooms at the Club Level are spacious and so is the Club Lounge. Restaurants are equally spacious and well done. However, food is not yet upto the mark - average I would say. Service levels also need to get a lot of finesse.

Overall the hotel was noisy and still some way to go for being where it is positioned. Even Housekeeping needs to fall in shape. Attention to detail is what matters - and, which was lacking.

Room Tip: Try and get a high floor room - specially one on the club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneesh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    391
    63
    24
    24
See reviews for
205
155
42
969
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Had gone here with my wife the night after we got married, so was looking for a place which i could not go wrong with... The location is great abound with pubs and restaurants but thats not the only virtue. The service is impeccable and made us feel special. Being a platinum member I was offered a bottle of wine and some snacks at check in, which I took and dinner from the room service which i declined since we were full.
The suite itself was grand with tastefully done interiors, massive shower and bath area and all the other 5 star amenities. The view from our room on the 19th floor was stunning.
The bed and pillows were as comfy as it gets.
The complimentary wi-fi and breakfast were great too.

Room Tip: Look for higher floor rooms for a stunning view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globe7trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
263 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Having stayed in Hinjewadi and Koregaon Park anumber of times, I wanted to stay here to experience the hotel and the area. The hotel is located on Senapati Bapat Road ("BP Road"), near many of Pune's large universities. There doesn't appear to be much in the area, but explore on foot a bit and plenty can be found. Just north of the hotel - past the convention center construction - is a large Crosswards book store. A number of restaurants dot the mostly residential area surrounding the hotel, and a modertly large Central shopping mall is about a 20 minute walk away (has a large grocery store and liquor store on the top level).

The hotel is fairly new and ultra-modern. I stayed here for a week and service was consistently excellent. I was upgraded to a suite which ranked amongst the few very best rooms I've stayed in both in terms of space, facilities, and modern convenience.

The Indian Buffet restaurant at the lobby level (Spice Kitchen) is excellent in terms of variety, quality, and price. Paasha on the rooftop is elegant and has a remarkable ambience with cool colors, shapes, and textures. Thebfood was very good albeit a bit pricy. Saving the best for last, I had access to the Executive Lounge which was very large and comfotable. The service was amazing, the complimentary drinks good, and the snacks absolutely awesome. It has great views of the wooded hills in this area on Pune.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Rooms in the hotel are spacious are tastefully decorated. The rooms come with all amenities you'd expect: air-conditioning, TV, bar, and free WiFi for Marriott Reward members (free membership) and are very quiet. The rooms on the higher levels offer a nice view over the city. At the top of the hotel is a very nice lounge/bar/restaurant with good drinks, music and views. Breakfast is served close to the lobby offering a wide choice of Indian, English and continental breakfast items. Staff are professional and competent. Recommended for a business stay in Pune.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel opened in winter 2010, I had the fortune to be there in its first month of service. I have stayed there 4 times and the level of service is consistently excellent. My stays are of more than a week giving me time to utilize most of what the hotel has to offer. Key considerations are a pool for swimming laps, a place to workout, good breakfast options and concierge services for business. The hotel has all of this and adds in 4 restraunts, and a "Baking Company".

The Hotel greeting is comparable to greeting at JW Marriott in Mumbai, but even warmer, The Foyer is not as large as the JW but beautiful in its own rights, The big difference is that this hotel's foyer opens to the Convention Center which is always a bussle of activity. The front desk is conviencely just off to the left and you have immediate access to all restraunts and clubs ritght from there, Only the QUA Spa. pool and workout center require you to get on the elevator to access.

My room was a SoHo suite on the 10th floor, overlooking the pool. The suite itself was immaculate with an entrance way leading to a sitting room fitted with a table, in-wall large LCD TV and a sliding door to a private patio/veranda. Just before the sitting room is a mini-bar area and entrance to a dressing area, with drawers and closet and double sink. This area was a good 12 feet long, providing a transition from the entrance to the bathroom area.

The bathroom consisted of a gorgeous soaking tub, marble shower with seat, overhead as well as handheld showers. All enclosed in glass and separated from the toilet area by glass. The bathroom was separated from the bedroom by sliding opaque glass doors, and there was another such door at the entranceway. The single quirk that I found was insufficient light in the closet area, the wall behind the double sinks is mirror glass and on the wall is a magnifying mirror, but there is only 1 light in the place so it is hard to get a close up look at your face in the magnifying mirror,

The bedroom was quite cozy, a king-bed to remove all the aches of the day, night tables on either side and a long dresser with anothef large LCD TV on top. On one side there is the sliding door to the bathroom on the other a glass window to the patio/veranda but it did not open. There are drapes that can block out the moring sun which does not come in the window anyway, so you can get a late start if you like.

I will say that the patio is distinctive to this property, normally you are not going to get open access in a hotel like this. I have stayed on the higher floors in a room that is larger, but this patio is just the perferct thing I liked having. Pune has 2 temperatures for me, hot and hotter, but there was a great breeze that seemed to come across or back from the hills behind the hotel and it provided sufficient cooling that I took a nap out there in the 95 degree weather, but in the shade of my patio with a cool lilter of water

If you only go to one restraunt make it the Spices Kitchen,, It has an outstanding breakfast buffet and the staff is the best I have had. once you stay there they know what you like and work as a complete team to satisfy you as a guest, from where you would like to sit ( I prefer to sit near a TV to catch the news) to you preference of coffee or tea ( Marsala Chai for me), to a fresh squeezed juice of choice ( I have orange/pineapple mixed) and a freshly opened chilled coconut water. A made to order omlette, or waffle or french toast or whatever, they have it or wil make it. They also have another 25 stations of food choices from western potatoes to Indian breakfast, breads, fruits, salmon, and cheese.

The reason it is called the Spice Kitchen is that they have a buffet dinner and always have 8 differnet choices of foods including a fish, chicken, red meat, vegetarian and rice or noodles. What I liked the most is that each day I coudl count on either a red, green or yellow curry dish.
My hours of working had me returning no earlier that 10:30pm and I did not want to start out at that time to go to a restraunt, I could go to my room, drop my computer and come downstairs and have a good meal at the Spice Kitchen all night, be sure to ask for 'Benny" she is among the best staffers there,

The other specialty for me is the pool. I swim between 1600 and 2000 meters in the morning. the pool is 25 meters long and not heated, In the Pune sun, it feels great, for me in the morning before the sun hits it is invigorating. After the swim, go into the lockerroom and take a 15 min steam and you are ready for a hearty breakfast.

From the duty managers to the doorman all of the staff will work hard to assure you a memorable stay. When you do be sure to ask for 'YD', a duty manager who exemplifies the best of what Marriott stands for.

Room Tip: The higher floors provide a great view of Pune skyline. Soho suites on the 10th floor have a nice p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ugsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pune hotels
5.6 km away
Conrad Pune
Conrad Pune
#2 of 221 in Pune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
8.5 km away
Marriott Suites Pune
Marriott Suites Pune
#1 of 221 in Pune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
8.3 km away
Hyatt Pune
Hyatt Pune
#11 of 221 in Pune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The Westin Pune Koregaon Park
6.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Blue Diamond
9.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Pune
Hyatt Regency Pune
#8 of 221 in Pune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Pune? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Pune

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Pune
Address: Senapati Bapat Road, Pune 411053, India (Formerly Pune Marriott Hotel & Convention Centre)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pune
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pune
#2 Spa Hotel in Pune
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pune
#11 Family Hotel in Pune
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,434 - ₹ 13,510
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Pune 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near the Pune airport and Mumbai-Pune expressway, the JW Marriott Pune features outstanding amenities and flawlessly integrated eco-friendly enhancements awarded with LEED Gold certification. For guests traveling on business, our hotel's amenities include wireless connectivity, large desks with ergonomic chairs, in-room vaults for laptops & valuables and cooked-to-order breakfasts to help you start the day. With almost 40,000 sq ft of meeting space our hotel can accommodate up to 2,000 guests. The hotel also offers ideal access to many tourist attractions, including historic forts, museums, shopping districts and hill stations. Guests at our the hotel can also enjoy an array of delectable options just steps from their door including contemporary international fare, Italian cuisine, specialty vegetarian creations, and North Indian delicacies. Discover extraordinary style and service at JW Marriott Pune. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Pune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pune Marriott Hotel And Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing