We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Khajuraho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed for 1 night which was long enough.... It's not a destination hotel but you don't go to Khajuraho for the hotels. The rooms are modern and comfortable but don't expect any luxury touches... The Lalit feels like a good quality 3.5 star western business hotel. The restaurant is oddly positioned in the middle of the hotel - so no views or really windows to speak of as they are cut off by a corridoor, so you don't want to hang around after eating.

Lots of coach parties were staying when we were there.

Worth staying here if you are passing through like us, but would suggest you look elsewhere if staying longer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 308 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2011

I was originally looking for another hotel to stay in Khajuraho as the Lalit is pricier. However, the others were booked. How grateful I was for this once we showed up. The Lalit is a gorgeous property with a wonderful swimming pool and manicured gardens with mature trees. All looking out to the temples, less than a km away, so in full view. Even better, the view from our room was on the second floor - again, facing the temples. What bliss after a long day of sightseeing to swim in the pool in the afternoon or early evening, all alone, with a flutist playing his haunting, melancholy melodies discreetly in the garden, and a bit later hearing the bells of the private temple behind the pool chime for the evening puja. Being blessed before dinner by the temple priest. Food was excellent, the naan bread just as I like it - crisp and buttery. And the food not too unspicy for those who like to eat in true Indian style. Reception was friendly and helpful. The fact that we could take bikes from the hotel at a very reasonable price and ride to the temples was fantastic. One feels part of the little town of Khajuraho and conversations are struck right and left with the friendly inhabitants. And with a bike you are able to reach the outer temple complexes a bit further down from the main attractions. There you will find practically no tourists at all, except for a few from India, and you have the temples all for yourselves. Just make sure you have a good guide book with you so that you know exactly what to see and where it is. And most likely you too, like us, will find some friendly, unagressive locals who offer to accompany you and show the way. Of course for a tip but that is the whole point - to help with the trickle down effect and leave a little something in the community you are visiting. Lalit had a magic to it that will remain as a fond memory for long to come. This was definitely Incredible India at its best.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The Lalit Temple View is a reasonably comfortable and modern hotel located within walking distance of the Western group of temples. My room had a lovely view of some of the temples. The room service was prompt and friendly and the breakfast adequate and similar to most others I received in India. My major complaint is that I arrived on the overnight train from Agra at 7AM and was charged for a half day for early check in when the hotel was completely empty. I had just come from the Oberoi in Agra who gave me a six hour extension free of charge. I have traveled extensively in the world and this is the first time I have been charged for an early check in when the hotel is obviously empty--not five star service! Also the pool was empty and under repairs and the bar was not operational. Not a place to visit off season I guess.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singaporeconncection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Wonderful room with twin beds, wonderful swimming pool, wonderful view. We had a great time. We stayed during a low season period in june 2010. A must in Khajuraho. Surely the best choice. Good rate, too. Easy access to Temples. Ask for private guide: great value for money. If getting there by plane, book well in advance as there are less flights than before.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank ReviewsItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

OK. What you get here is an overpriced shell. While the rooms and the hotel are nice, there are some serious drawbacks with the hotel.
First, it’s WAAAY too expensive for Khajuraho. I expected more luxury for the price. And (more serious), the service is really bad. Not by design, just because the personnel clearly lacks ANY form of training. They are completely clueless. And to me this is a Management issue. Funny, a fellow traveler came to the same conclusion than me (lack of training). Him and his wife had visited another Lallit while in India, and according to them the experience was not comparable.
While checking in, we asked if there could be a possibility to get a room facing the temples. The reception person apparently couldn’t. We were less than 10 people in the hotel. So that was a bit disappointing, but something I can understand. Instead we got a room facing the entrance parking. Not what you expect when you pay around $250 in a small town in India. Then came the restaurant. The food was really not impressive (I am being VERY nice). Very expensive. And it was really cold! The few people who were there were asking for heating. And the only thing they could do was to provide one single (gas?) heater for the whole Restaurant.
We also had issues with Fog and flights, and the hotel staff was clueless to help.
Really disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Just don't go here.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spartac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLTVK, Manager at The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Guest,

At the outset I would like to thank you for your feedback on your stay at our hotel.

It is with great concern I have made a note of your comments regarding the problems you have faced. Customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve, understanding and catering to the needs of the esteemed guests. We do take great care that our guests don't face any inconvenience, we regret that on this occasion we have not meet the expectation.

We will endeavour to provide you with the fine level of service, which you expect and deserve. I sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from visiting us again and you will give us an opportunity to welcoming you back.

Thank you for your valuable time and consideration. Should you require any assistance, please feel free to contact me at your convenience at khajuraho@thelalit.com

Warm regards

Jijo Jhon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khajuraho hotels
1.6 km away
Radisson Jass Hotel Khajuraho
2.2 km away
Ramada Khajuraho
Ramada Khajuraho
#5 of 24 in Khajuraho
733 reviews
2.9 km away
Clarks Khajuraho
Clarks Khajuraho
#8 of 24 in Khajuraho
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Syna Heritage Hotel - Khajuraho
2.2 km away
Hotel Isabel Palace
Hotel Isabel Palace
#2 of 24 in Khajuraho
536 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Chandela
Hotel Chandela
#3 of 24 in Khajuraho
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho

Address: Opposite Circuit House, Khajuraho 471606, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Chhatarpur District > Khajuraho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Khajuraho
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khajuraho
#6 Family Hotel in Khajuraho
Price Range: ₹ 7,971 - ₹ 14,657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khajuraho "The City of Exotic-Temples", a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Built between 950 AD & 1050AD, these exquisitely sculpted magnificent temples, are grouped into three divisions - the western, eastern & southern. Located 200 meters from the famous Western Group of Temples offering excellent views, The Grand Temple View Khajuraho is architecturally built along contemporary lines embellished with inspirations from this rich and exotic locale. After total renovation, the hotel has been recommissioned as high quality boutique living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelGuru, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lalit Temple View Khajuraho Hotel Khajuraho
Holiday Inn Khajuraho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing