We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nothing bad to say about this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Green House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Green House
Ranked #10 of 25 Khajuraho B&B and Inns
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing bad to say about this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We came here from Varanasi, and were relieved to find a much more tranquil setting, both with the town itself and the guest house. Despite our early AM arrival into Khajuraho, we were greeted at the train station by a representative of Hotel Green House, who drove us directly to the guest house as part of the promised complimentary pickup. This was convenient, as their are a lot of rickshaw drivers and touts waiting for the very infrequent trains that arrive into the town.

We were immediately impressed with the cleanliness of the room. The bed was large and fairly comfortable. There was a flat-screen TV with English movie channels, which was nice because there's not a great deal of excitement in the town. The staff was friendly, and we were even able to have food brought up to our room (a rarity). There's a rooftop that overlooks the countryside where we were able to watch a lunar eclipse. Also, there's a farmer's market-type deal once a week right outside the premises (I believe it's on Thursdays, but you'd have to check with the guest house). They had wi-fi, but only in the lobby and they made you pay for it (so I guess there's one negative). In general though, Hotel Green House offered a welcome respite from some of the typical chaos of India, and being just a short 5-10 minute walk to the major temples, as well as only about 250-300 rupees a night for a double room, we found it to be just what we were looking for.

A-

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PostcardPress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
3
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bucharest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

During the March month I spent 1 night in this nice place.
The peoples are very nice, good services, excellent food, good position,
excellent terrace, very good report price-quality.
I recommend this place.
Thank you Green House for your kindness hospitality.
Sorin

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank macsory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Large rooms and bathrooms although furniture and fittings are dated and need replacing. Location is great for booking train tickets at office beside the bus stand, which is across the road. Staff were friendly and helpful. Better to eat in town as food isn't great although the Chef, (Gokul??), is a great Guy with a nice organic garden behind hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front of the hotel get more of the Sun and those directly above reception may get b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIguelitoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel grounds are nice - great garden, convenient location (a short walk from all the temples). The room was large and bright but (have to be honest) didn't feel particularly clean - there were stains on the walls and I preferred to sleep in my liner but that was the only negative thing about the hotel and the cost of the room more than compensates for that.

The staff made this place above average - they were always friendly & chatty, would answer any questions you had, help out in any way they could and run errands for a very small fee.

Gautam - I know you read these reviews so thankyou for all your help, and for making our stay in Khajuraho such a pleasant one.

Just a final word of warning for future guests: Watch out for Jackie Chan the Jack Russell who likes to bite (...playfully!)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Good location next to bus station and very friendly owner, plus free wifi. However, the room requires some tlc and new mattresses/pillows are required. The shower did not work. We spoke to the owner who is planning to renovate the place over the summer so if you are intending to travel in late 2012 then it will probably be a good option. If you are looking for basic budget accommodation it is fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahkg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khajuraho hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#6 of 24 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Isabel Palace
Hotel Isabel Palace
#2 of 24 in Khajuraho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.8 km away
Zen Hotel
Zen Hotel
#7 of 24 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Casa di William
Hotel Casa di William
#12 of 24 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Surya Khajuraho
Hotel Surya Khajuraho
#11 of 24 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Jass Hotel Khajuraho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Green House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Green House

Property: Hotel Green House
Address: In front of Khajuraho Bus Stand, Khajuraho 471606, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Khajuraho
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Khajuraho
Price range (per night): ₹ 749 - ₹ 1,07,819
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Green House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are located in the center of the town and also very close to postoffice,busstand,hospital etc.we are having huge garden with free parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayzilla and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing