We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A reasonable budget inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Green House
Ranked #11 of 24 Khajuraho B&B and Inns
Beijing
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A reasonable budget inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I don't agree with previous reviewer, I think the location of this inn is perfect. I deadly hate staying "next to" the place of interest, which is always quite noisy till late night, and then early morning. The inn is JUST next to the Khajuraho bus stand and railway booking office, at most 5 minutes walk to West Temples, 15 minutes walk to East Temples, so as far as location is concerned, this inn is the best in Khajuraho.
Then, let's talk about the room. The room is pretty simple and clean. Although the bath hot water becomes a naughty boy in the evening (sometimes big sometimes small sometimes no), I managed to have the most comfortable shower during my 2 weeks stay in India, with the help of a bucket.
The major problem of the room, only in cold season, is there's only one thin blanket in bed, nothing more. Although it looks clean, I don't know whether it's washed for every guest. And in the evening, I feel quite cold.
The staff are smart & funny, they always tried to make new deals with me, renting bikes, offering guides, selling food, etc. But they won't push me after I refused, so generally speaking it's good. After all they're all very friendly and helpful.
Conclusion: this is a good budget inn with reasonable price and good location, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplexsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    28
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
3
27
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The guesthouse was not as close to the temples as some other options. There is no Wi-Fi, just one computer in the lobby to use the internet. The room was freezing cold in December. There was a strange smell like fungus or rotten milk coming from our bed or mattress. We were never able to figure out what it was. The staff was kind of pushy. One night the staff were drinking together in the lobby and making a bunch of noise.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RfromYoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

This hotel staff was friendly, helpful and personable. The location is perfect, and the price is delightfully cheap! This is still an undiscovered gem, and since it is not yet in the Lonely Planet book, hopefully it will remain honest and affordable (and clean!) as it is today.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Austinrichards92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Nice budget hotel with very friendly staff. Rooms and bathrooms are big, but the best thing is the big garden, where you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AniaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

After a month in India, nice to find a room for 200 Rs (or less if you stay a few days) wich is clean, with TV and hot water. We went around other guest houses and this one is defenitely the best choice around. Very close to the western temples, convenient. A place to recommend.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have better matress than the others! Check first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Khajuraho hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Isabel Palace
Hotel Isabel Palace
#2 of 23 in Khajuraho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.8 km away
Zen Hotel
Zen Hotel
#8 of 23 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#6 of 23 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Casa di William
Hotel Casa di William
#14 of 23 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Surya Khajuraho
Hotel Surya Khajuraho
#12 of 23 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.7 km away
EuroStar Inn
EuroStar Inn
#11 of 23 in Khajuraho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Green House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Green House

Property: Hotel Green House
Address: In front of Khajuraho Bus Stand, Khajuraho 471606, India
Region: India > Madhya Pradesh > Khajuraho
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Khajuraho
Price range (per night): ₹ 749 - ₹ 1,566
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Green House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are located in the center of the town and also very close to postoffice,busstand,hospital etc.we are having huge garden with free parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayzilla and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing