We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and cold beer.”
Review of Raja's Cafe

Raja's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Khajuraho
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and cold beer.”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Opposite the Western Temples. Nice atmosphere, good variety of food and cold beer. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorneVn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    210
    96
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just a good location”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The staff is over-worked and rude, the food below average and they serve the standard watery coffee like in all of Khajuraho. It is just that Raja Cafe is strategically located at a shady corner just in front of the Western Group of Temples

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best View in Town - Food - Average !”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I will start off by saying this restaurant has the best view of the temples in Khajuraho.Raja Cafe has a fantastic roof terrace as well as patio tables & an Air-Conditioned inner part.However it is overpriced and although it is definately one of the best restaurants in town its food doesn't live up to its image.I ordered locally spiced chicken with mash potato & it was the worst thing ive seen & eaten in many years, infact I only ate 20% it was that bad.It had clearly been made weeks in advance & then frozen & re-heated.The chicken was slimey & disgusting and the mash was inedible.It was completely flat where it had had cling film on it for weeks prior and they brought it out in like 10 mins which goes to show it wasn't freshly made.I would recommend this restaurant for drinks & breakfast & ice-cream (the ice-cream is expensive but delicous).But if your looking for a good lunch & dinner I would say restaurant Mediterraneo is your best bet, however this to is expensive but the food is freshly made by a proffesional chef & the owner is Dutch.Hope this helped. :D

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JONO5K1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is just opposite the Western Group of temples, and we visited it on a whim. It was just as well as we were pleasantly delighted with the food both Indian and Continental. My sister wanted to eat continental food and it was quite reasonable considering it was Khajuraho and not a metro city. What was even good was the staff were very reasonable and did not charge for the chocolate brownie when we found that the cake had gone off. The toilets were also provided and were reasonably clean. I forgot to mention that I had really nice esspresso coffee, even better than some places in Delhi. So if for nothing else please do visit this lovely place, ideally in the evening for the lovely views, lovely coffee and good service. Maybe I am going over the top but then I was bowled over... lol...!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NavinNorwich4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great value good location( opp western temples)”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Very well priced food. Rotis were very lift and tasty. Fairly good western toilet which is important to me! Good service and neat roof top dining with view of the western temples.

Overall tasty cheap food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donnafurst18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raja's Cafe also viewed

Khajuraho, Chhatarpur District
Khajuraho, Chhatarpur District
 
Khajuraho, Chhatarpur District
Khajuraho, Chhatarpur District
 

Been to Raja's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing