We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well i looked on tripadvisor ,and found this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karthika Plaza Resort
Ranked #10 of 98 Varkala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“well i looked on tripadvisor ,and found this hotel”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

what can i say ,why did everyone mark it as 5 star, why because it is . the place is brill,the staff are better ,(sorry rajesh calling you staff)you are more than that , if you travel the world you will not find a better hotel and anyone who could do more for you , to make your stay nicer,10 star is a better rating ,effort ,10 help 10 ,staff 10 , 10 ,10,10, rajesh will take you everywhere you want and if i have any fault it is i felt guilty because they did so much for us ,thanks again mate and all the best for the future,and we will come back ,xxx

Room Tip: a little quiet,but spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulln0tts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
68
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We had initially booked to stay at Karthika Plaza for one week only. But this comfortable, clean, cool and beautiful mini hotel was so good we doubled our time there and stayed for two weeks. All the positive things written in other reviews are true: Rajesh is the perfect host, always on hand with advice about what to do, where to go, pick-ups and drop-offs, onward travel arrangements and nothing is too much trouble. OK, it is not within comfortable walking distance of the beach, especially in hot weather, but it is away from possible noise from other bars and restaurants and the 5 min trips in the car are free of charge. The only thing missing is a swimming pool – and Rajesh is working on that idea for the future.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a ground floor 'fan' room with lovely terrace looking out on the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elemsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We loved every minute of our stay at Karthika. The rooms are clean, comfortable and cool and the gardens beautiful...but what really makes this place special is it's dedicated host. Rajesh knows how to make his guests at home. Breakfast on the balcony was always a lovely way to start the day and as all the other reviews say he'll drive you anywhere in Varkala, any time for no charge. Its a little bit away from the main strip of hotels and hostels on the cliff, but I'd say this is was actually a good thing, feeling quieter and more relaxed. Rajesh will have you down the beach in a jiffy anyway so it was never an issue for us.
We left Varkala for a few days to explore Kerala, and on our return to Karthika felt a little bit like coming home. I would HIGHLY recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Karthika Plaza was the highlight of our stay in Kerala. The well appointed room was by far the cleanest we had encountered in India. Rajesh, the host would run you anywhere in the surrounding area - and pick you up again -at no charge!!! The breakfasts were exceptional and if you were, say, reading on the balcony - a freshly brewed cup of chai or fruit juice would appear! The gardens were perfectly maintained which added to the "chilled out" experience.
I cannot rate this hotel any higher and would recommend it to anyone who likes peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkFrank123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahus, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

A stay at Karthika Plaza in Varkala is a winning ticket.You are in all respects looked after by the hosts in a fantastic way.Before you even know yourself, what you want to do, what you want to see,what you would like to eat for breakfast...it is fulfilled for you. In 3 years the owner Rajesh have built this secluded retreat in Varkala, a place with nice, clean and practical rooms, new bedding and new towels every other day,delightful breakfastes at your own room terrace, surrounded by a lovely garden with lots of birds... You cannot but be filled by a huge comfort.Here the guests are in focus,day and night. Rajesh and his team are always there for you. Do you want to be picked up on the beach? Do you want to be left on/ tipped about a restaurant? Going away and take a train? Whatever you want- you will get all the help you need.

We will return. And that means the very best grade for Karthika Plaza.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
1.0 km away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#4 of 50 in Varkala
231 reviews
0.7 km away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 50 in Varkala
377 reviews
0.4 km away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Hindustan Beach Retreat
#7 of 50 in Varkala
272 reviews
2.1 km away
Magnolia Guesthouse
Magnolia Guesthouse
#25 of 50 in Varkala
88 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Eva Luna
Casa Eva Luna
#1 of 98 in Varkala
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karthika Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karthika Plaza Resort

Property: Karthika Plaza Resort
Address: Punnamoodu Papanasam Road | Wacher Mukku, Kairali Nagar, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Varkala
Price range (per night): ₹ 776 - ₹ 1,745
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VISIT KERALA IN MANSOON and enjoy dust free cool weather, verdant greenery. Best time for AYURVEDA TREATMENT.[june- mid oct and nov] Accommodation is very important to any Tourist. We provide you the service of top notch accommodation based on your budget and preference. Comfortable stay and safe accommodation facilities play a vital role when you are away from home and looks for maximum comfort at reasonable rates. You are assured of the best and most professional services and value for money at Karthika Plaza Resort. WE CARE SENIORS. Located near Varkala Papanasm Beach Secure Complex FREE HIGH SPEED WiFi INSIDE ROOM AND GARDEN. Excellence Award Winner (twice). Beautiful Garden- Rich Greenery Long Veranda Connected Family Rooms. AC Non AC Rooms with Attached Bath and Garden View. Complementary breakfast, Meals On Request. We promote Organic Food. Flexible Check In/Out Sightseeing Tour- Car Sharing Possible. Ayurveda and Dental Treatment Preventive Health Care Check Up. 24 hr Care And support. Air Port Transfer(charge) House Boat Booking Yoga class etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Karthika Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karthika Plaza Tourist Hotel Varkala
Karthika Plaza Resort Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing