We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$ 22
View deal
Booking.com
US$ 20
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
US$ 20
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
TripadvisorUS$ 20
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
343
96
18
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
343
96
18
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner the cliff rooms were cleaned daily outdoor shower seafood ayurvedic massage sound of the waves palm trees perfect place veranda beach kerala varkala sunset indian nets yoga
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2019

Our room was a great size, nicely furnished clean and traditional. We particularly loved being able to sea and hear the sea from our balcony, dry relaxing! We also loved our outdoor shower - lovely to have a wash under palm trees.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeralaBabu, General Manager at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Dear Jess!

Many greetings from VARKALA MARINE PALACE, Kerala, India.
Thank you very much for your very beautiful review. We promise to keep up the standards for your up comming holidays as well.

Wish you all the best,

THANK YOU!!
For VARKALA MARINE PALACE team,
Bhasker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2019

Bhasker was very nice on first encounter, offering a so called "last minute" price as my friend and I came around 6:30pm to his place. He was very helpful on that day.

As our budget was very tight, we went to find other rooms in the area the next day and when we got back. He started getting aggressive and rude because we were moving out. He was very forceful and we left and carried our luggage on our own. He tried pressuring us to stay several nights though we could not afford it.

The place is nice but has so much renovation going on around the yoga place and no restaurant available. The hotel is in the front of the beach but you have no beach view. In the end I would not recommend staying there.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeralaBabu, General Manager at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2019

Dear Anya,

Thank you for your review.

We understand that you were not happy with your experience and we apologize if you felt pressured to stay with us. We agree that our restaurant was undergoing some annual maintenance which was a let down. Somehow it was off season and also it was unavoidable and we apologize for the same.

Personally I do not think that I was rude in anyway and contrary to your statement, honestly I would say that we were professional in our approach while you were checking out . Our last minute offer was our best price for a few nights together and I would say that the breach of that understanding was more hurting to us. Anyhow we do not have any negative feelings and we accept your constrains and choice.

Thank you
For Marine Palace Team, Bhasker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

What you see is NOT what you get! Especially if booking through booking.com where all of the photos show immaculate and artistic villas. We booked with the understanding we would stay in one of the lovely villas and when we arrived were told we needed to pay over 3x our booking price! Very appalling and when we explained our dissapointment with the false advertising they crudely told us to find somewhere else if we weren't happy. We were exhausted from our flight this being our introduction to India so we caved and stayed in a very basic, backroom on the property where the staff stay at the same cost that we booked with thinking it would be an amazing villa.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Louiselee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeralaBabu, Owner at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2019

This is purely a malicious review fabricated to tarnish our reputation possibly by an adversary. Therefore we disown entirely the contents and therefore owe no explanation. We hope we will not have more such reviews in future.

Behalf of Varkala Marine Palace
Bhasker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

I stayed at the Varkala Marine Palace at the end of February and could not rate it highly enough. The hotel is right on the beach, with beautiful dark wood bedrooms. Our bedroom had a huge traditionally carved balcony looking out to see, and a spotless outdoor shower. In front of the balcony cascaded a mass of orchids which were growing in the trees there. The rooms are kept immaculately clean and the mattresses are think and comfortable. The sheets crisp and bright white. The owner, Bhasker, is always about and always smiling. He runs the place brilliantly, with the aid of his excellent and friendly staff. Jai in the office, Vishnu and John in the pretty (and delicious) beachside restaurant, and wonderful JoyPaul who teaches Yoga, and does Ayurvedic treatments. We did Yoga every
morning accompanied by the sound of the multitude of birds singing in the pretty garden that the hotel is situated in. And fabulous massages every day.
There is literally nothing I would change about this place. It felt like a home from home. Lovely Bhasker felt like family and I can’t wait to go back.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lucyfenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeralaBabu, Owner at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Dear Lucyfenwick!

Many greetings from VARKALA MARINE PALACE, Kerala, India.
Thank you very much for your very beautiful review. We promise to keep up the standards for your up comming holidays as well.

Lots of Love,

THANK YOU!!
For VARKALA MARINE PALACE team,
Bhasker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2019 via mobile

I stay for 3 nights in march whith my friends but you need more time in warkala if you want to do anything else than stay on the beach.Very nice clean room ,restaurant small whit very good food by the beach,staff very nice .

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 823berglinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeralaBabu, Owner at Varkala Marine Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2019

Dear Berglind!

Many greetings from VARKALA MARINE PALACE, Kerala, India.
Thank you very much for your very beautiful review.

We Wish you all the best,

THANK YOU!!
For VARKALA MARINE PALACE team,
Bhasker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews