We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean & Comfortable with Million Dollar Views"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Pearl Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varkala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Pearl Chalets
Forest Knolls, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable with Million Dollar Views"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

Varkala Beach is one of the most awesome beaches anywhere in the world, especially between December and May. Warm water, blond sand, palm fringed, red sculptured cliffs and a natural spring gushing out of the cliffs onto the beach for drinking (yes, it's that pure) and showering. I've been there fifteen or so times and my favorite place to stay is the Sea Pearl Chalets. On the quieter South Cliff, only 2 minutes from the beach and just a 15 minute walk from all the action and commerce of the North Cliff, Sea Pearl has an awe-inspiring view of the sea, beach and coastline, the best view among scores of guest houses in Varkala. Bungalow rooms are smallish but clean and comfortable with overhead fan, mosquito net and attached bath. The view itself may hold you there beyond your planned departure date. I've seen it happen often. See attached pictures.

Room Tip: Ask for bungalows nearest to edge of cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank findpetero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    11
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
2
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

just returned from a short stay at the sea pearls – they had been recommended by a work colleague as a ‘must stay’ so i was looking forward to my stay – i was greeted with the hard sell for trips and massage while still trying to register – the chalets are more ornament than use with limited space for bags and a one hanger wardrobe – i was greeted with new sheets on the bed covering stained bottom sheets – the towel were threadbare there were used cotton buds on the bathroom mirror a soap impacted soap dish and an un-flushed toilet – so much for the cleaning – they also have their share of ants – my advice pretty to look at with a good view but don’t waste your money

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Varkala hotels

nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

Sea Pearl was a wonderful peaceful place with a view of the sea and Varkala beach below. There was a constant refreshing breeze blowing about the chalets perched on the cliff top - so we hardly had any mosquitoes. Anyway, mosquito nets were provided. It was five minutes away from the temple area and other areas of the beach. Perfect! The owner, Shiv, was more than helpful when we wanted train tickets, places to go, etc.

I would definitely go back to Sea Pearl again, and again......

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank velsao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

lovely independant place. good place if you want privacy. a place for the independant sort. if people can like ginger group of hotels they should like this place too. similar principles. getting a ride from the gate is only a problem, but people can take a good walk down. its great. cant imagine couped up in one place and eating there and lying there the whole day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! here you get your bit of exercise!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drlipee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

Having already stayed at sea pearl and had a pleasant experience, despite it being mildly overpriced and far from the main strip in Varkhala our second trip was a disaster. We booked one week in advance, only to be told that we had never booked, a German couple before us had exactly the same experience and another couple arrived afterwards to the same result. THE RESERVATIONS ARE NEVER TAKEN, do not book and do not stay here especially over busy periods. The Manager hung up on my girlfriend and was rude while she was extremely polite. I reemphasise, do not reserve and do not stay, they have no reservation system and no Enslish speaker at the front desk. You may be left sleeping on the beach!

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fairview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.0 km away
InDa Hotel
InDa Hotel
#3 of 49 in Varkala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.0 km away
WoodHouse Beach Resort
WoodHouse Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 km away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kerala Bamboo House
Kerala Bamboo House
#35 of 49 in Varkala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 km away
Jickys Nest
Jickys Nest
#16 of 96 in Varkala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 km away
Blue Water Beach Resort
Blue Water Beach Resort
#11 of 49 in Varkala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Pearl Chalets? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Pearl Chalets

Property: Sea Pearl Chalets
Address: End Of Beach Road, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,000 - ₹ 2,000
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Sea Pearl Chalets Hotel Varkala
Sea Pearl Chalets Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing