We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveller rating
181
165
45
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
165
45
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool view cottage the cliff swimming pool lovely pool yoga classes walkable distance deluxe room beach resort ceiling fan sunbeds kerala raja massage pros wardrobe rs peace
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 418 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Located about 5 mins behind the North Cliff we found this a great location, nice to come away from the cliff at night to total peace and quiet.
The pool is also a big plus, one of the biggest and cleanest in the area and perfect place to end lazy beach days! Hotel grounds are beautifully kept and very clean.
We only had one breakfast at the hotel and it wasn't great, would recommend eating outside to be honest. At night the restaurant /bar closed early, which is fine but even though people were there skyping and using laptops (wi fi was patchy around the resort) the lights and fans were turned off...
We had a garden cottage and seemed to have a damp problem, rooms were cleaned if asked but this only extended to clean towels and sheets, no actual cleaning..
Staff were ok, we were given wrong information by reception re buses onwards so check out bus/train times elsewhere.
Also there was no yoga while we were there, their yogi was ill and no replacement, but there are so many other places to choose from it's not a problem just needed to be made aware...
Having said all of the above this is a good location the pool is fabulous and rooms are big, think there is just some way to go on the service level.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

A lovely place with a nice pool and friendly staff...a perfect choice for accomodation in the area.
I truly hope the renovation is done and have a great new look, all set for the season.
The Ayurvedic Massage centre is awesome with a talented doctor.
Good Luck & Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ignatius12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked to stay 3 nights in this hotel and enjoyed it so much we ended staying 5. We booked into the pool view cottage rooms which were very large and with a good size balcony. The rooms were very clean and well presented with good choice of cable TV and wi fi . The pool was clean and pool towels were plentiful. The hotel is set in well maintained grounds. The beach is a 5 min walk Altogether the staff were very professional and friendly and would recommend any one staying in Varkala to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at about 3000 rs per night. Stayed in one of the pool view cottage rooms which was really very nice and had great air con and fan and lovely beds and decor. Handy to have pool and ayurvedic centre on site and found this reasonable. About 5 mins close stroll to the beach. Only con was that there was a bit of noise at night from bars nearby and chanting but this was nothing to do with hotel. No problem recommending this and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeeMo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

we as a family, visited Varkala for the fifth time. Akhil Beach Resort, was the best hotel we have stayed in.We have stayed in four other hotels. Akhil beach resort was not the most expensive,however it was the best. friendly and attentive staff,clean and comfortable rooms,lovely big pool,nice and clean for children,beautiful gardens and nicely laid out.It was value for money and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The hotel was recommended to me by friends and i would not hesitate in recommending it to others. In fact we are returning there in 12 days time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews