We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
US$ 84
US$ 38
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/21
Expedia.comUS$ 84
Booking.com
TravelocityUS$ 84
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
142
159
56
17
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
159
56
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews religious ceremonies swimming pool excellent location dosa north cliff balcony varkala waves shore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020

An amazing experience and a wonderful look from the hill top and sea shore. The place is also known for annual rituals ( called as PAPANASAM). You can get good local & international food from the surrounding restaurants.
Can reach by by road/ train. Nearest railway station VARKALA SHIVAGIRI. This place is known to the the Saint SRI NARAYANA GURU and his ashramam.

Date of stay: January 2020
2  Thank JijuDAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2020 via mobile

Great location beside south cliffs. Wonderful staff, incredibly helpful - Qatar airlines lost my suitcase so endless telephone calls. Lovely room with balcony with fairly good wifi. Good beach for swimming and good hotel pool. Breakfast with eggs to order with tables outside overlooking sea. Sunrise witnessed Hindu devotees and priests performing religious ceremonies very picturesque. Some excellent fish restaurants on beach.

There is a different vibe here compared to north cliff which is quintessentially International posh hippie terrain.

We preferred south cliff and Papanasam beach.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank purrfect2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019 via mobile

We had the misfortune of staying 2 nights at this hotel. The whole place needs refurbished. It is dirty, mouldy and furniture is badly stained.

Dirt on the walls, damp patches on the ceiling, mould in the bathroom and a hole in the ceiling that was patched when our travel agent got involved. A previous review noted this hole in the roof in September!

The fire exit was blocked with rubbish for the 2 days we were there. Dangerous apart from unhygienic.

The bed was rock hard, lumpy and terrible. Not for someone with back problems, it made the backache worse.

The food in the restaurant was also poor. So glad we found restaurants on the beach that were lovely.

The wifi was also patchy.

There was a problem with pigeons and there was pigeon droppings all over the window sills.

We were offered another room when we complained, following our travel agent calling the hotel but it was as bad as the room we were in.

I would not recommend that anyone stays in this hotel. It definitely is not even a 3 star hotel and should not be charging as one.

The photos were from our stay on the 29th and 30th December 2019.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mcgahano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

Amazung hotel, staff are very friendly. Amazing views from all floors. Cocktaip bar on the roof. 1 minute walk to the beach. Loads if amazing seadood restaurants all around. 2 swimming pools one very big one tiny, very nice.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank reggiefellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2019

I concur with other reviewers that this hotel has good location, right in front of Varkala Beach however; please note that this is a public beach on which the hotel has no facilities like sun beds or parasols.

After being on road for over 3 hours, our welcome at the hotel was pretty much a non event. All rooms have a sea view but we upgraded to an executive room on the 4th floor, which had a balcony. The room was fairly roomy, clean and adequate but don’t expect luxury.

Our biggest disappointment was the quality of food served in restaurant. At dinner, I opted for alternatives to Indian meal by ordering Penne al'arrabiata but what got was fusilli in tomato sauce. My wife ordered chicken noodles but the chef forgot the chicken. Both these dishes were just about eatable. Breakfast is predominately Indian buffet, which appeared to be enjoyed by Indian guests.

The hotel has a swimming pool, which was much appreciated, especially on hot days. Whilst the sandy beach is close by, the waves during our stay in my opinion were strong, which would suit suffers rather than swimmers

Room tip: Rooms on top floor over better views and less noise.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank spluff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews