We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
130
150
50
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
150
50
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantexecutive roomholy menthe cliffreception staff areswimming pool is smalllive counterbreakfast spreadroom amenitieshotel is locatedsea viewcomplimentary breakfastpool manexcellent hoteldosain house restaurantair conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel , beach view location , with exclusive service and good food . Rooftop restaurent and delicious food. Fast room service and nice persons at front desk . No language problem as staff know english , hindi , regional language . Best experience at hotel .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pushpendra v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindretreat, Manager at Hindustan Beach Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hindustan Beach Retreat, Varkala

Thank you for your review and interest shown to Hindustan Beach Retreat.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

Thanking you and assuring you of our best of attention and services at all times

Thanks and Regards,
Anup S Nair
Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We, a group of 7 arrived in Varkala over the long weekend. The place is quaint and offers seclusion. Hindustan Beach retreat is on Paapnasham beach which is adjacent to the more famous Varkala Beach, walkable distance. The complimentary breakfast offered was average and apart from the live counter where a few varieties of dosas and omelette was being served things were mediocre. The rooms are clean and have a beach view. The staff is friendly and warm. The in house restaurant offers a decent numbers of options to try out from. Fish with cucumber was one of the dish that we loved apart from the the prawns preparation in kerala spices. Varkala beach cliff has quite a few shacks. Cafe Del Mar and Little Tibet stand out amongst them though.

Room Tip: choose the room on 3rd or 4th floor for a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gyan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindretreat, Manager at Hindustan Beach Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hindustan Beach Retreat, Varkala

At the onset we are most delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the services offered by our team during your stay.

We are glad to understand that our product and services exceeded your expectations. My team and I look forward to welcome you back for many more enriching moments.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Regards,

Anup S Nair
Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Amazing place and great value for money. The service is really warm. Facilities are in abundance. We enjoyed our stay without any hassles. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food there is top of the line...really loved the buffet spread

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Dj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindretreat, Manager at Hindustan Beach Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to bestow us with a fabulous review on Trip advisor.

We am delighted to know that you regard our hospitality as outstanding. Your experience is a reflection of the high focus we have consistently maintained in training our team on delivery of quality service. I am proud to be associated with the team at Hindustan Beach Retreat, Varkala which looked after you so well and pampered you with personalized and attentive service.

It is our pleasure to note that you enjoyed the food at the hotel and that the service was attentive and exceeded your expectations. I will convey your compliments to the Staff. They will be delighted to know that their contribution has been recognized and appreciated by you.
Many thanks once again for selecting Hindustan Beach Retreat, Varkala. We value your support and look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Anup S Nair
Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Everything was awesome including food, room, room service, staff. I would be staying in this hotel only whenever I'll be visiting varkala.Breakfast was delicious. Staff members were polite and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChandraShekharO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindretreat, Manager at Hindustan Beach Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hindustan Beach Retreat, Varkala

At the onset we are most delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the services offered by our team during your stay.

We are glad to understand that our product and services exceeded your expectations. My team and I look forward to welcome you back for many more enriching moments.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Regards,

Anup S Nair
Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I visited Varkala & stayed at Hindustan Beach retreat for three nights(Sep 6,7 & 8).Before getting into the review of Hindustan let me quickly outline Varkala for the benefit of the unacquainted,please visit Varkala only if:

1. You are looking for a relaxed,chilled out holiday(no hopping around from one place to another)
2. A holiday by the beach(& only beach) fascinates you
3. Like savoring the excellent views of the sunrise & sunsets by the beach.
4. You love terrific sea food.

If you did notice,I might have repeated beach more than once above & that's primarily what the place is about - beautiful beaches with wonderful views(from the cliff as well as from the hotel room & restaurant).

Now there is the cliff & there is Hindustan Beach retreat which is a five minutes jog down the cliff - I mention this separately because from what I had noticed this hotel seems to be the only one both closest to the beach as well as closest to the cliff.Am not sure how the resorts/hotels atop the cliff can call themselves beach resorts in the first place - now I could be slightly wrong here but a climb down the cliff to the beach takes only 5-10 mins max but the sea is rough down there(maybe that's just in Sep?,am not sure) and you can't even stand there let alone swim.

Pros of Hindustan Beach retreat:
1. Vantage location - A two minute walk to the beach(not a private beach though).
2. Excellent staff who are both courteous & helpful
3. Well maintained place
4. Excellent food with wonderful view of the sea from their roof top restaurant.
5. Rooms with a direct view of the sea(I stayed in the third floor but don't think it would be any different with other floors either).
6. Stone's throw away from Janardhana Swamy temple - an extremely beautiful temple(apparently 2000 years old) which one can visit.
7.Has a pool,a small one though but one which can engage kids - Now I really don't think its possible for any other resort in Varkala(at least those near the cliff) to have both a pool & a terrific sea view at the same time so this one is a plus especially if you travel with family(read kids).

Cons:
1. Food was slightly overpriced but I reckon given the location/excellent quality of food provided that is still kinda okay.

Room Tip: Do ensure you also visit Kapil beach - its about 10 kms away from this place.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jayaramp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindretreat, Manager at Hindustan Beach Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hindustan Beach Retreat, Varkala

At the onset we are most delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the services offered by our team during your stay.

We are glad to understand that our product and services exceeded your expectations. My team and I look forward to welcome you back for many more enriching moments.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Regards,

Anup S Nair
Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews