We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Varkala”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hindustan Beach Retreat
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Varkala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Hindustan offers really nice and spacious rooms with a great ocean view. The position is simply perfect: on the papanasam beach, with two nice swimming pools right in front of the sea, just 5 minutes away from the cliff. The structure is a bit old but still very efficient.

A perfect solution to relax and swim while enjoying the sound and view of the sea during the monsoon period (when the ocean is too rough, the beaches are half hidden and swimming is forbidden). Staff is really nice and available, we had a great time and an oasis of peace after our touring in India.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank giuliett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

The winding roads of Varkala lead you to this modest place, bang on the beach. If you want easy access to the beach, while staying in a decent hotel, this is a good pick.

You are greeted by very polite and considerate staff who try to make your stay there, pleasant and comfortable. The hotel is not spread in a large compound and the property is small, but it is decently maintained. The rooms are pretty decent sized and two people will feel comfortable to move around. The balconies of the rooms give you a good view of the mostly crowded beach.

The swimming pool is small and is open. The water was not great and was a bit soapy, if you want to call it so, but demarcated for a quick dip.

The amenities in the room are good, towels, toiletries kit, tables, wardrobes all good.

The food (I had breakfast) is decent although it the service can be improved. The live counter is understaffed and there is a wait time. The spread is good, both traditional and western / continental food and it tastes decent.

The big advantage is the proximity to the beach its just a hop and jump, 25 meters walk.

Room Tip: The rooms are with balconies that face west, so the sun will be in your face in the evening, but mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VBhargavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of our tour around Kerala. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. We were shown to our room promptly, followed by our luggage. Our room was very comfortable as was the bed and our room large, overlooking swimming pool, which in turn overlooked the beach. The pool was clean. The hotel itself is situated next to a temple. This made it interesting as both in the morning and evenings we observed the faithful practising their Hindu faith, which the hotel staff very kindly explained to us. There was a fridge in the room as well as tea and coffee making facilities, in addition there was complementary bottles of water. Please note though there was no hair dryer but an ironing board and iron. We ate on the resturant. The food was delicious and portions large. The hotel itself was very clean and well maintained. We enjoyed our stay and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We stayed at this hotel 2 days back. Here is my review.
Pros - Courteous staff, good location (near the beach), roof top restaurant with good view of the sea, food was good
Cons (my experience) -
1) The lift in the hotel was not working when we checked in and remained non-functional during our whole stay till check out (2 nights). I had initially planned to take a higher floor room, however, due to this had to settle for a 2nd floor room (it is a 5 storey building). We had to walk up and down to the restaurant on the top floor everytime for lunch or dinner
2) During our stay, there was a private function because of which the pool side restaurant was not accessible for the whole day. In the evening, there was a birthday party with blaring loud music and dancing (private function) on the lawns beside the pool just overlooking our room. This started at 6 PM and continued till 9.15 PM. Should the hotel not consider the comfort and leisure of other guests before leasing out a portion to a loud party? After all, tourists come from far away places to relax and enjoy nature!! The pool side restaurant remained inaccessible.
3) Lights in the room were non-functional. When brought to the notice of the hotel staff, they said they could not do anything about it.
4) The main door of the room was difficult to close and lock as the furniture of the door needed repair.
I had booked an Executive room (a higher category room) and so the expectation was that all facilities/amenities in the room should work.
Overall, I would not recommend this hotel at this price.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Samik77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindretreat, Manager at Hindustan Beach Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all i want to thank you for selecting Hindustan Beach Retreat for your stay at Varkala.

I have gone through the comment and do accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. The experiences you have described are not characteristics of the service Hindustan Beach Retreat strives to provide its patrons. Our lift had stopped functioning on the 12th Aug 2017 night because of some technical issues. We were able to rectify the complain on by the 15th of Aug because of the unavailability of the spare parts. The lift complain was totally technical and was out of our control. We had a dinner on the 13th of Aug from 06 to 09 pm which was supposed to be held on the top floor conference hall but was shifted to pool side restaurant because of the lift complain. Kindly be noted that we offer 1 Litre mineral water per day per room on complimentary basis. I once again apologize for the non functionality of door and lights and the delay in food and assure you that the complain will be taken seriously and immediate and appropriate actions will be taken.

Your feedback has been shared with the team and we will ensure that this matter is addressed and necessary actions have been taken to ensure such instances do not recur.

We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality.

My Team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again

Thanks & Regards,

Anup S Nair
Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I stayed here with my friend for 2 nights 10-12 august 2017.
It is a lovely hotel with turtle logo everywhere, including the pool, the gate, some stuffs in bathroom, the tissue, ... and the best location in Varkala beach.
I like the pool-beach-view from my room on the 4th floor.
I tried full massage here with good feeling. The special one is the book : Kerala tradition which I read it and because I did not finish the book so I'd like to buy that book after a long long discussion with the leader here (because this is the only book in hotel about kerala), he agreed with nice smile for me to keep it as the book price.
I really know you are also love this hotel as me when you been here.
It is an adorable hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hindretreat, Manager at Hindustan Beach Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hindustan Beach Retreat, Varkala

At the onset we are most delighted to note that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the services offered by our team during your stay.

We are glad to understand that our product and services exceeded your expectations. My team and I look forward to welcome you back for many more enriching moments.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Regards,

Anup S Nair
Manager - Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0.2 km away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0.8 km away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Varkala
399 reviews
0.8 km away
Deshadan Cliff & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Krishnatheeram Ayur Holy Beach Resort
0.6 km away
Sunview Beach Resort
Sunview Beach Resort
#9 of 52 in Varkala
49 reviews
0.1 km away
Varkala Marine Palace
Varkala Marine Palace
#5 of 52 in Varkala
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hindustan Beach Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hindustan Beach Retreat

Address: Papanasam Beach | Janardhanapuram PO, Varkala 695141, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Varkala
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varkala
Price Range: ₹ 4,040 - ₹ 10,230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hindustan Beach Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varkala. The new tourist destination in God's Own Country, Kerala. It is 55 km North of Thiruvananthapuram accessible by road NH-47 via Kallambalam. By train, Varkala is a station from where a short drive by taxi will get you to Hindustan Beach Retreat. Hindustan Beach Retreat is a venture of the reputed Hindustan Textiles Group based in Kannur since 1939. We have 27 well appointed rooms each one with a spectacular view of the Arabian Sea giving you the luxury of the solitude that you can enjoy with the sounds of nature. · Accommodation o Standard Room - 12 (6 king size + 6 twin bed) o Executive Room (Balcony) - 12 (10 king size + 2 twin bed) o Suite Room (Balcony + Living Room) - 03 (3 king size) · Food o Nothin' Doing - The Restaurant near the Pool Side o Wait'n Watch - Coffee Shop on the Roof Top o Slow motion - The Bar. O Room service - 24 Hrs.· Swimming Pool with Jacuzzi (costumes a must) · Kid's Pool · 100 Seater Conference Hall · Turtle - The Souvenir Shop · Travel Desk · Beautiful Lawn · Wi-fi Internet · Television/Cable · Mini-bar· Telephone · Library · Turtle Bay - The Spa · Coffee makers· Doctor on call. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Hindustan Beach Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hindustan Beach Retreat Varkala, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing